Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

{Florist} mini quilt

11 Comments

One of my favourite projects! So much fun to make raw edge applique flowers on the low volume quilt!

Nero's post III

Hello dear friends! This mini quilt started totally extempore and was one of the most enjoyable projects I have done!

Florist mini quilt by Teje

The base is made with low volumes and you can see that HERE.

Now the quilt is washed and I love all those wrinkles!

Florist mini quilt by Teje

On the low volume quilt I was supposed to create something applique. Those ideas changed few times and I ended up making these fun shape flowers. I was also happy to have a chance to use some of the bias strips I have from my mom’s stash. They are for poppana weaving and they are thinner and softer than the similar strips for rug weaving.

raw edge applique

For the flowers I chose colours to match with the low volumes and few more bright ones.

threads

I sew the pieces simply twice around with cotton thread in light blue. I didn’t use any fusible materials, just pinned the pieces…

View original post 360 more words

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

11 thoughts on “{Florist} mini quilt

  1. Lovely. The flowers have an ancient Egyptian look. A different style.

  2. Beautiful! I love projects like this that are so enjoyable and lead to new ideas along the way. Also, using up scraps is a bonus!

  3. Oikein ihana! Tykkään kovasti väreistä ja noista käsinompeluista!

  4. Really like this one! It’s perfect for summer 🙂

  5. Teje, I am slow in commenting about this beautiful project, but wanted you to know how much I love it! I’m so inspired by it that I want to make one that is similar. I worked on the low volume background last week, and will eventually do some colorful applique onto the background. Yours is just beautiful, and the perfect size for hanging up someplace special.

    • Thank you so much Diann! I’m very happy to hear this inspired you to make your quilt. This was really enjoyable and fun project! I’m looking for to see your quilt! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

