Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

{Fabric Forest} and my Birthday

28 Comments

Nero's post III

Hi dear friends! Today is my Birthday and I thought to celebrate by showing you my happy, hand sewing project. One word was my inspiration. It was a real ‘eureka’ (ευρηκα) moment! I saw in Finnish magazine word ‘kangasmetsa’ and I knew immidiately where I shall go.

applique tree

To the fabric forest! Can you believe that in Finland we have fabric forest?! Now you think it’s a fairy land or luna park or just my dream but no, it’s real!

fabric forest by Teje

Okey, I tell you the secret. Finnish language is very rich (and difficult). It’s fun when we are used to some words, we don’t really think what they mean. One day when I saw the word kangasmetsa, I realized the word Fabric! Wow, I never thought that I had grown in a fabric forest! Kangasmetsa means one type of forest. Metsa means forest and kangas means fabric! So it’s fabric forest

View original post 503 more words

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

28 thoughts on “{Fabric Forest} and my Birthday

  1. Happy birthday! Wishing you a wonderful day and a creative and happy year ahead.
    Thank you for your delightful inspiration🙂

  2. Happy Birthday Teje!! Hope you have a wonderful and creative year ahead of you🙂

    I recently found your blog and I always look forward to open your emails and see what you’re working on. I love your fabric forest and the story behind it – think I might want a fabric forest of my own😉

    • Thank you so much Eva! I do hope you make fabric forest! If you do, I would love to see what you ‘find’ from your forest! Thank you for your sweet comment! x Teje

  3. Oh Happy Happy birthday Teje!! (I love birthdays!!) I am very inspired by your forest. Quick question….so this is all h and sewn with perle cotton?? How will it wash up ???

    • Thank you Val! These are hand sewn but not with perle cotton. I used thread that are between perle and normal sewing thread. Still you can use any thread you like. For the bat and butterfly I used perle cotton. Look those photos and you see that washing doesn’t harm them. They get fluffy and I love that look. The wall quilt with butterflies is now washed many times and there are lots of threads but I like that. x Teje

  4. Happy Birthday, Teje!! I love your beautiful fabric forest.

  5. Happy Birthday, Teje, να τα εκατοστήσεις…..I have been following you for quite a while now and always admired the way your draw your inspiration from. Your fabric forest looks great, what are your plans for it?

    • Thank you Antigone! I’m so happy to hear you enjoy reading my blog! I think the fabric forest will be a wall quilt but time will show. I don’t know yet how long time I continue making those trees. x Teje

  6. Happy happy birthday, Teje, hope you have a wonderful day and may the year ahead be joyful.

  7. One day too late…Happy birthday and I like your forest🙂

  8. happy birthday! I love your little trees growing into a very pretty forest!

  9. Happy birthday! I hope you had the best day! …and I love your forest!🙂

  10. Onnittelut vielä tätäkin kautta! Kangasmetsäsi on kyllä ohan selvä kesämetsä, nyt täällä näyttää ihan toisenlaiselle. Tykkään työn valosta ja varjoista, ihan kuin oikeassa kangasmetsässäkin.

    • Kiitos kovasti! Hyva etta muistutit etta kangasmetsassa voi olla talvikin! Olen laittanut viela linkin postauksista vanhaan blogiin mutta saattaa sekottaa. Toivon kuitenkin etta nain helpotan siirtymista. Pitaa piakkoin tehda uusi ylakuva ja sitten on helpompi erottaa missa blogissa on. Siksi laitoin tuon nimenkin vain ‘Nero’s Post’ etta tiedan itsekin missa olen. Kommentit tulevat minulle ylariviin joten naen ne olin missa vaan. Hauskaa viikonloppua! x Teje

  11. Happy belated birthday.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

