Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Little Triangles

38 Comments

Happy New Year dear friends!

IMG_4079

One day I took my scrap boxes and started to separate…

IMG_4068

Sadly the result was very poor. The box was full, but when sorted out, decent size scraps were so less. Most were crumbs and chips…but some of them started to speak to me…

IMG_4078

Little triangles screamed: We may be small but we can do it! Take your white scraps and you’ll see!

little scrap triangles

So I did, and started to make the puzzle.

triangles

I was happy to find an important project, because these last days I couldn’t start anything. I have so many ideas going on in my mind but when I thought to start, they seemed to be purposeless.

little triangles

These, ‘useless’ littlest chips pushed me to start and I hope they lead me to improvising new year. This time I trim with scissors.

I have made extra design board. It’s a small board which I covered with piece of fleece. It can be on my sewing table, lean against the wall or I may hang it on the wall. If you don’t have space for design wall you can still make small design board. Use any board, wood or even carton. Or tape a piece of fleece or wadding on the door. Try, it makes big difference to see your design on the wall/board and not on the table.

IMG_4072

Some of these little blocks are now on the board and some on the table…and there are still many little triangles waiting for white scraps.

triangle blocks

Jayne at ‘Twiggy and Opal’ inspired me finally to start something with the littlest.  I admire her beautiful, unique work and fun writing. Thank you Jayne! I have also an other project going on, where I used idea from Jayne’s blocks…those half retangle blocks.

scandic scene

‘Scandic Scene’ is again on the design wall and in my thoughts. I have some ideas how to continue and hope to finish soon this quilt top to start the quilting.

IMG_4082

Time to say Farewell 2015 and Welcome 2016! I think this is a good moment to move to a new address and to start a new chapter in ‘Nero’s Post and Patch: http://www.nerospostbox.wordpress.com. I was happy to see in the stats that many old posts are visited often again so I’m sure we shall meet now and then also here in my ‘old’ blog.

HAPPY NEW YEAR! 

TEJE, NERO, HANNA, NELLI

 

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

38 thoughts on “Little Triangles

  1. I love those little triangles and Scandic Scene’ is gorgeous! I hope 2016 is nothing but wonderful for you and yours xx

  2. Happy New Year! Those little triangles give me an idea for my scrap boxes! All the best for 2016!

  3. Teje, you are a marvel, for sure. Just look at those scraps and then. . . VOILA! I can’t wait to see what you do in 2016 !! Happy New Year to you, Nero, Hanna and Nelli!

  4. I like what you are doing with the triangles. And Scandic Scene is lovely. I’mbeginning to do some serious improv.

  5. Oooh I love the scrappy triangles project! Happy new year xxxx

  6. Lovely, Teje,

    Makes my heart sing to see the smallest scraps used too, and paired here white white they look amazing! And a designing board is such a great idea, you can always leave ideas there too and get back to them when you have time.

    I wish you the most wonderful New Year 2016, see you often in your new address 🙂

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! Fortunately I like even the smallest scraps. If the pattern is with big pieces, it’s too easy and not so fun to make. Small design board is very useful. Happy 1st of 1st! x Teje

  7. You made a miracle with your scraps! I try not to throw away small pieces of fabric, and in every corner of my room there are small bags full of those scraps. I am sure you are creating something interesting with you scraps so I will be looking forward to see how it continues. I wish you creative new year with full of colors and love and friendship! x Anneli

  8. I love your triangles! Happy 2016 with a lot of projects 🙂

  9. Tiny scraps are just the best! Love how it is looking so far. I follow you on your new site. Always fun to see your quilts

  10. Happy New Year! Look forward to seeing where your triangles take you:-)

  11. Jotain ihanaa tulossa! Tänään sataa lunta ja maa on vallkoinen Helsingissäkin. Nuo pienet väripilkut näyttää ihan siltä, että ovat hangella. Scandic Scene´n värit ovat kiehtovia. Hyvää viikonloppua!

    • Kiitos Marle! Taisit keksia nimen talle tyolle: Chips on the snow! Tavallisesti keksin nimen helposti mutta kun tama ei esita mitaan niin tulikin tenkka poo. Nauti kauniista lumesta! x Teje

  12. Hi Teje, i do like the Scandic Scene, looking forward to see more!

  13. Oh how lovely is Scandic Scene! Your talents know no bounds! Wishing you al the happiest of New Years!!! Ros and Oscarx

  14. I LOVE your idea. Coincidentally, I woke up this morning thinking about what i could do with the very small scraps in my bins … and then I read your blog. You’re brilliant!

  15. So many pretty scraps all put to great use. Careful or you will run out before you know it!

  16. Your little triangle blocks are wonderful! What a great idea! I love what all that white background does for the little pieces. Thanks for the great idea about a mini design board. I have also struggled to find a place in my sewing room for a design wall, and ended up with a flannel sheet hung over a book case! But a smaller, portable design board would be really helpful! Happy New Year to you, Teje!

  17. Those small triangles together will turn into a beautiful quilt. It is a great way to use all those little bits. Happy 2016! Hugs from Brazil.

  18. I love what you are doing with those little triangles. It is good to see you are inspired again. Thanks for sharing all these lovely projects with Oh Scrap!

  19. Happy New Year and happy new blog!! You never know, sometimes scraps may be inspiring. Have a good week (weekend) soon!!

    Anne D.T. xx
    PlumCreek22

  20. You have several great quilts in the works here. I especially like your triangles and Scandia blocks.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

