Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Mugs – Quilty 365

19 Comments

Hi dear friends! Hoping that you’ll have lovely, relaxing holidays and time for sewing,  I’ll show you what I have started…

mugs

Mugs! Who wouldn’t love mugs! I collect them and feel that it’s high time to get new mugs. Would you like to get a new mug every day?! And to design it by yourself!

applique mug

There are several things that made me start this project. First, I didn’t have any hand sewing project going on. No quilt top for hand quilting and my hexies just don’t inspire me at all now.

hexagons

As the mugs had stuck to my head, I had to try if I like to make them or should I forget the whole thing. I gathered my things in a box with the little heart suitcase which is usually for my hexy project.

hand sewing

How I started? First I draw and cut some tamplates and even the frame to help me fussy cut the fabric. Later I saw that the templated is not necessary because the mug shape is very easy. I cut them with scissors and straight edges are easy to turn and press the seam allowance with your finger/nail. Then I just pin the mug on my background fabric and sew it around.

ribbons

I haven’t done much applique except the raw edge applique with the sewing machine (which I love), so these simple mugs are perfect for a start. But how to make the ears? Those I couldn’t imagine to applique. I tried ribbon and it works well. But I don’t want shiny ribbons and I picked all the mat clour ribbons from my stash. Or should I add some bling bling?

IMG_4023

Knowing that I like to continue this, I fixed a box to keep all I need. Even the little blue ‘tray’ fits on the box – it doesn’t close now but I’m not planning to travel anywhere. The little red suitcase doesn’t work because now I need threads in many colours. Finally I found perfect use for my two little tin boxes …

quilty 365

‘Pretty Thing’s will hold my threads and ‘Make a Wish’ will hide my pins and is also thread catcher. Hmmm, where I can put my pins and needle…I have to make a little pin cushion….

scraps

… unfortunately I haven’t finished the christmas cleaning so pin cushion has to wait a little bit.

INSPIRATION AND INFO:

  • When I saw Marle’s mugs, I was sold! She has made many things with mugs, for example place mats, using Marimekko fabrics and grey background. They look fantastic!
  • Maryse, who always inspires me with her gorgeus quilts, has started a project ‘Quilty 365’. She picked red background!
  • Audrey is the one who started the project ‘Quilty 365’. She is making one applique circle each day for one year! Her idea is to pick each day fabric that feels right at that moment. Audrey is hosting also a link up, where you can share your process. Look here what others have already done. Not everyone is making circles.

My thoughts: First I was ready to start to make the circles. Then thinking a little bit more, I stepped back. I know that I’m not able to make this every day. The circles need template and for ex. folio paper or basting to turn the seam allowance. Maryse shows well how she’s doing this.

I really liked Marle’s mugs and wanted to make some, so I thought to mix these two ideas. Marle has pieced her mugs and paper pieced the ears.

I started my mug-project 18.12.2015, but I let myself to have a free program. Sometimes I may sew several mugs per day and then perhaps none for a while. Even the idea of ‘Quilty 365’ is fantastic, I’m not going to make 365 mugs, that would be too much even for a mug lover…or perhaps shouldn’t say anything if I end up with 563 mugs!

rotary candle holder

Yesterday I took down the box with Christmas decorations and found my dear Moose rotary candle holder. They are so funny when running around!

quilty 365

Remember that soon I start to post in the new address: http://www.nerospostbox.wordpress.com.

I wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Thank you for your company this year and for writing the sweetest, friendly comments! I’m looking for to start the new sewing year with you sharing our ideas, inspiration and passion for creating!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

19 thoughts on “Mugs – Quilty 365

  1. Another colorful post! We love mugs too and collect them from our travels. Our mug from Greece came from a pottery shop on Sifnos. What a cute idea you have shared! Oh, I also like your candle holder. It reminds me of one from my youth that had angels. I had not thought of it for years and wish it was still around! Merry Christmas!

  2. The mugs are just darling Teje and I just love the moose!

  3. Oh I love your Idea Teje!! I don’t know if I can make a circle a day…and may just do one a week…we’ll see…but never the less…it will be fun! Merry Christmas to you and the pups as well.

    • Thank you Valerie! I know there will be times that I don’t make these for a long time and then again some days can’t stop to one. I’m happy if you join this! Merry Christmas! x Teje

  4. So lovely cups. I’d like to try one when I come home.

  5. Thank you, Teje, for another wonderful year of ideas, pets, gardens, quilts and all the other wonderful things you shared with us in 2015! Merry Christmas to all of you🙂 I will raise a mug of my own to toast you a Happy New Year!

    • Thank you Karen for your sweet words! Thank you also for your happy, friendly and supporting company! It’s always so nice to hear from you! Happy Holidays! x Teje

  6. This is a cute project you have started, Teje. And your ribbon handles are so clever! Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas!

    • Thank you Lorna! I think this is good side project. Still I’m already thinking many new quilt ideas… not sure if i start one in Christmas days or just try to relax. Happy Christmas! x Teje

  7. Hei Teje! Ajattelinkin, että olen nähnyt mukeja jossain, siis Marlen blogissa. Projektiboxi on hyvä idea, pysyy projekti hallinnassa. Täällä ei pakkanen pauku eikä hanki hohda, mutta joulumielellä olemme, etenkin kun perhe on koossa. Oikein ihanaa joulua . tv Leena

    • Kiitos Leena! Kuullostaa parhaalta tavalta viettaa joulua! Taalla yha aurinko paistaa mutta Uudeksi Vuodeksi on kai lunta luvassa?! Hohtaisiko hanki silloin taalla? Hauskaa Joulua! x Teje

  8. These mugs are great! I really like the ribbon handle option, neat! And your candle holder is awesome!

  9. Hello Teje,

    Mukit on parhautta, oikeassa elämässä (kaapeissa liikaa ihania, muumeja ja muita…) ja kankaissa ja projekteissa! Tästä tulee ihana ja värikäs kokonaisuus, ja parasta on, ettei ole tarkkaa aikataulua, näitä voi tehdä aina kun siltä tuntuu!

    Ihanaa joulunaikaa sinne ❤

    Mia

    P.S. Enkku ei irtoa tälle aamulle🙂

  10. Niin ihanaia mukeja ja nuo korvat ovat fiksumpi vaihtoehto paperiompelulle. Kiitos linkistä. Innostuin ihan valtavasti tuosta 365 ideasta, mutta teenkö ympyröitä, taloja, kuusia vai kaikkia? Aloitan 1.1.2016, siihen asti voin miettiä. Porokello on hupaisa ja nuo pienet peltirasiat! Siin niin kauniita. Olen ihan hulluna peltirasioihin. Kyllä, myös niihin. Tuommoinen projektilaatikko on huomattavasti fiksumpi kuin minun Ikean suljettavat muovipussit. Niissä on hyvänä puolena se, että näkyy läpi. Niitä projekteja kun tahtoo olla useita kesken.

    • Kiitos Marle! Isekin ajattelin aloittaa 1.1 mutten sitten malttanut odottaa noitten mukien kanssa. Eiko tassakin projekstissa ole just se hyva etta voi tehda ihan mita itse haluaa – vaikka kaikkia. Talot ja kuuset kuullostaa tosi hauskalta…kavisivatko mukien kanssa?! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

