Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Wrist Warmers Tutorial and My View

13 Comments

Hi friends! This was my small knitting project in Finland. Christmas is getting closer but there is time to knit these easy wrist warmers.

wrist warmers

I remember someone saying ‘but who use wrist warmers?!’ I used to think that, too. Now wrist warmers really are in fashion! And if you wear a poncho or something with shorter sleeves, they are very good. I hope you don’t need them for painful wrists as I do.

Nalle yarn from Novita

When I saw this Novita’s Nalle yarn in delicious ‘Ice Cream’ colour, I knew it’s just perfect for wrist warmers. The yarn suggests no 3 needles and fortunately I found them from my mothers needle box.

ice cream wrist warmers

So lets start!

We need about 100 g yarn and 5 sock needles no 3

  • make 12 loops to each of the 4 needles
  • knit: 1 knit, 1 purl about 33 rows
  • start to increase loops: do this using only knit stitches (no purls), have one centre stitch and make the increase stitches on both sides of that, increase every second row 2 new stitches until you have done 14 new stitches
  • finish these stitches, knit around and when you reach the finished stitches, make new stitches so that you have 14 loops in one needle and 12 loops in other three needles
  • continue to knit 1 knit, 1 purl about 6 rows and finish the stitches
  • pass the yarn ends through the knitting with a big needle and your wrist warmers are ready!

IMG_3754

These colours are so sweet and Nalle yarn has also many other beautiful colours. I have also the multicolour and I shall use it for other pair of wrist warmers but with different pattern.

Speaking about colours, I was really happy to read yesterday Debbie’s post. Pantone has announced new colours for the 2016, this time 2 colours, and they are my favourites! In fact you can pick them in this yarn. They are Rose Quartz and Serenity, lovely pastel pink and blue. Blue in my view yesterday was much stronger!

sea view

It’s so breathtaking blue! Days are still gorgeus but at night it’s chilly and I need my wrist warmers.

zorba's mountain

In the morning I took photo of a little secret thing and sun had just reached the mountains. On those mountains, there is the cave, where Zorbas was living and the movie ‘Zorba the Greek’ with Anthony Queen, was filmed!

autumn

I hope you have time to have a walk, look around, shoot a photo, pick a flower or make a snowball… because there is always something beautiful to see!

If you are looking for more easy, knitting ideas, look my Cowl Cape tutorial.

wrist warmers

Thank you so much for visiting and reading my blog! Thank you also for your sweet comments on my “North Star’ quilt! I hope to bind it this weekend. Your company and support is very important to me!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

13 thoughts on “Wrist Warmers Tutorial and My View

  1. Hello Teje,

    Lovely wrist warmers, and they really are always in fashion! Thank you for the pattern. And those pictures, wow, that sea… I wish it was as colorful here… But grey it is, I am afraid. But Friday, yippee, and Itsenäisyyspäivä on Sunday, and Linnanjuhlat! I wish you could see it all, any www-places you could try?

    Happy weekend!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! Colours are so fantastic here; you undestand why my materials are also colourful. I try to see the celebration in the Castle of President. Happy Friday! x Teje

  2. Minulla on usein -ei ihan pitkähihainen- paita ja silloin käytän ranteenlämmittäjiä. Tuo Nalle on ihanan väristä, oikeaa karkkia. Oletko tehnyt reumalangasta Ranteenlämmittäjiä? Äitini pitää niitä ihan parhaina, tosin värit ei ole noin namuja.

  3. Good morning Teje! Lovely view you have. I hope to visit some day. Enjoy your knitting ; )

  4. Sievät lämmittimet🙂 Voi miten kadehdin tuota valoisaa merimaisemanäkymää… Meidän ikkunasta näkyy vain pimeyttä, katsoi ulos koska tahansa!

  5. Wrist warmers seem to be the love child of mittens and fingerless gloves! I like them for driving as the steering wheel is really cold to hold but I don’t need mittens yet xxx

  6. Thank you for the pattern! Wrist warmers are great – it’s amazing how warm you can get just by covering your wrists with some nice wool. We use them all the time🙂

  7. I love wrist warmers too and these are so pretty. Gorgeous yarn and colours and thank you for sharing the pattern. Have a wonderful weekend Teje.
    Helen xox

  8. Hei Teje! Kauniit ja herkullisen väriset ranteenlämmittäjät! Viime vuonna teimme mekin ja niitä on kyllä pidetty, aina tahtoo kädet olla kylminä ja lämmittää kivasti sormiakin! Kauniita maisemakuvia! x Anneli

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

