Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

1st Advent

17 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! Almost December and time to light our 1st Advent candle!

1st Advent

This year I was in time and inspired to decorate candles for the advent. My first thought was to use small jars and decorate them with some rosmarin and jute cord. But when I was looking for the jars, I found Ikea vases I used in the shop. candle decoration

After all I didn’t want any green for the decor and tight only the jute cord and add the white, linen flower. I made some of those long time ago, brooch or hat decor in my mind.

Christmas tree by Teje

It’s already many days ago when I started to decorate our Christmas corner. I wanted to put the little lights but didn’t want the usual green tree. I placed the drift wood tree (made for our shop) and the Jazz table (made by hb with 3 different legs and painted shabby shic) in our living room.

Reindeer pillow

Lights with hearts … my dear Dala horses and one other old, wooden horse… reindeers of course…lamb furs…wintery scene in our Cretan home. Last days mornings has been beautiful and warm and then every afternoon it’s raining. Then it’s so cosy inside with the lights that I want only sit and stitch my North Star quilt.

winter corner

I have still some ideas in my mind what I want to make for our Christmas corner…except the quilt that will replace that ‘Happy Days’ quilt on the wall.

christmas gifts

Santa’s helper has been busy and hopes to finish the parcels later today. Then have to clean the sewing table for a new quilt project … with stars!

So I guess it’s better open the address book and start.

1st Advent

Thank you for your visit! I wish you wonderful time with your Christmas preparations and hope to see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

17 thoughts on “1st Advent

  1. Your little home looks divine and I can’t wait to see the new quilt on that wall!!!!

  2. Very pretty. I like the colour instead of green. Twinkly lights are perfect ; )

  3. Hello Teje,

    Looks wonderful – happy 1st Advent! Love that trift wood tree, it looks fantastic with those lights!

    Happy joulukuu soon!

    Yours,
    Mia

  4. Beautiful pictures of your Christmas corner! So pretty. Your tree with hearts reminds me of long ago in Kenya when I decorated a branch I found in the garden.

  5. Näyttää kauniilta ja ihanan jouluiselta!

  6. Ihanan jouluisen tunnelman olet loihtinut sinne aurinkoiseen maahan. Meillä on se hyvä puoli, että kynttilät loistavat kauniisti myös keskipäivän pimeydessä : )

    • Kiitos Marle! Hyva etta olet positiivinen! Kaikki vuodenajat ovat tarkeita ja jatkuvaan auringonpaisteeseen ja helteeseenkin kyllastyy. Ihana pitaa valilla villapaitaa ja istua sohvan nurkassa jouluvaloja ihastelemassa. Meillakin paivat ovat nyt lyhyita ja momena paivana on satanut. Tavallisesti sateisempi ja kylmempi jakso alkaa joulun jalkeen. x Teje

  7. Your post is so beautiful! You have created a lovely athmosphere and the photoes are full of Christmas spirit! I love those Pentik reindeers,they are sooo finnish , I have too…. Have a lovely day and Καλό μήνα!! x Anneli

  8. Beautiful! I love the bright scenes you have created in your home, so calm and simple. And the snow falling across my screen is fun ☺

  9. It’s definitely looking like Christmas in your neck of the woods! Looks great and I love the snow too!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

