Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Reindeer Pillow – Tutorial

31 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! Today we are here with Nero and Hanna to show you our new Rudolf The Reindeer pillow!

Reindeer pillow - Tutorial

We love Rudolf and both Nero and Hanna are happy to sleep next to him …

Nero's Reindeer pillow

Hanna and Reindeer pillow

As some of you lovely readers liked to have a tutorial for the raindeer to make a pillow, I thought to make one myself, too. Tutorial for the Fair Isle Reindeer is HERE.

Fair Isle Reindeer pillow

I add 3″ borders around the reindeer block. I cut wadding and piece from a material which is like a disposable sheet. I use that often with the pillows to make the quilting easier and the inside of the pillow nice. You can use also piece of any fabric (old sheet etc.)

quilt sandwich

I use pins for basting and a spoon is a great help. Lift the pin with the spoon so it’s easy to close.

basting with pins and spoon

For the quilting I took my ‘six pack’, Perle no 8 cotton threads and went to sit outside.

hand quilting

Weather has been amazing – sunny and really warm. Nights are already chilly and there is so much humidity, but in day time it’s almost like a summer.

IMG_3272

I enjoy quilting by hand and what could be better than to do that outside. I realized that I didn’t sit and quilt outside at all in summer because were always so busy. So I’m really happy to do that now.

IMG_3287

When you have finished the quilting, trim the piece. Then cut 2 pieces from the backing fabric. They have to bigger than half of the pillow because they will cover part of each others. On the centre edges I sew stripes about 3″. This gives more steady edge than if you only turn the fabric.

IMG_3289

IMG_3290

I like to use binding for the pillows. It looks nice and also covers the seam allowance so there is no need to think how to finish them (sik sak etc). If you like to see how to make the binding, read my Mini Quilt Tutorial.

Put the backing pieces on the table right side down (towards the table) and then the quilted piece on them right side up. Then pin your double folded binding around. Sew with machine. Turn it on the backside and sew as you prefer. This time I sew it by hand so the stitches won’t show on the right side. Finished size of this pillow is 21″x 22″ (53.5 x 56 cm).

Nero and reindeer pillow

Now you have a nice add to your Christmas decoration and not only. I can imagine how great the reindeer would look in other colours, too. We enjoy to see Rudolf in our living room which has breath from Scandinavia.

Reindeer pillow Tutorial

The first Fair Isle Reindeer I made has a place in the ‘North Star’ quilt I’m making now.

I hope you like this Reindeer and the tutorial. If you have any questions, I’m happy to help.

Thank you very much for reading and following my blog! Thank you also for the wonderful comments you write!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

31 thoughts on “Reindeer Pillow – Tutorial

  1. Brilliant project for hand quilting – I love this and it looks great on the sofa – would make a really nice Christmas present!

  2. One word…..AWESOME!!!!! I’m so loving this project (and all things Scandinavian!!!!!). Chilly hugs coming from a sunny, blustery (40+ mph winds) soon-to-be-snowy (Friday night!!!!!!) MN!!!

  3. Lovely Christmas project, it’s such a cute pattern, I pinned it.🙂

  4. Such a handsome reindeer, Teje! Loving this block and appreciate you sharing a tutorial for making it. Thank you so much! Must add this to my sewing list!

  5. Rudolph is one of my favorites, and the pillow is wonderful. This is perfect timing for a Christmas gift project!!

  6. Reblogged this on daphnedawn and commented:
    A great tutorial for this “Rudolph” pillow from Nero’s Post.

  7. Kiitos paljon, Teje! (Hope that was the right translation🙂 The reindeer pillow is perfect–maybe I’ll try doing some hand quilting for the first time. You always inspire me!

  8. Love your reindeer pillow Teje!

  9. Such a sweet cushion T, and Nero and Hanna look right at home with it too! Jxo

  10. A beautiful Fair Isle pillow Teje! The reindeer has always been a favorite!

  11. Gorgeous! Love your reindeer and I am with Hanna and Nero – Rudolf would be wonderful to sleep next too.

  12. Cute pillow Teje! Thanks for the tute. I’m totally going to try the spoon trick! My thumbs are always tore up after basting.

  13. So many tiny squares! I think sewing this reindeer would be much easier than knitting him ; )

    • Thank you Carla! Both ways it’s easy and quick when you know how. Patterns make quilting more exciting than using only squares. The same goes with knitting. Reindeer on a baby hat would look very cute! x Teje

  14. Isot kiitokset ohjeesta! Yritän viikonlopun aikana tehdä porotyynyn. Siitä voisi alkaa joulun laittaminen kotiin.

    • Kiitos Marle! Minusta on kiva tapa etta Kreikassa laitetaan joulukoristeita jo aikaisin. Muutenhan ei tuntuisikaan talvelta ja joululta kun aurinko paistaa ja voi olla aika lammintakin. Mina laitoin valojohtoja jo aikaa sitten ja porotyyny on lampaan taljojen seurana. Nyt pitais viela saada joulu/talvi tilkkutyo tikattua ja seinalle ja joulu voi saapua. Nyt muuten sataa! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

