Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

{Bird House} and voting time

13 Comments

Hello friends! Just when I had finished the big project ‘Puppy Portraits‘ and didn’t know what to do (?), I find chaos on my table. Starting two new projects and thinking more about the ‘house block’ has kept me very busy and my table full. Plus all the cleaning and fixing the home (you believe this, right?).

bird house by Teje

When I was sketching the ‘Hobby House’ block, I turned out bird house, too.

mydiyblockdesign

In the morning, before continuing the sketches for my new project, I made one bird house. I used the same measurements as before (see them here). There are two options for the roof so take care what measurements you use.

bird house block

This time I chose different grey shades. And because this is not going to the solid project, I used grey with snow for the roof. Sew the block in sections.

house block

This is very easy block, if you concentrate. If you make this and plan other projects in your mind, you may need the ripper …

IMG_2819

At the end everything ok…

house block by Teje

Now we need still the entrance. Find something to draw the circle. Why I have hansaplast in my sewing room? With that I cover the metal button on my jeans (inside).

IMG_2822

Cut the circle and place it on the house. You can use applique or raw edge aplique. I sew it around with sik sak.

bird house

bird house block by teje

Alyce from ‘Blossom Heart Quilts’ has wrote great book to help you to design your own quilt blocks. There was a blog hop with talented quilters and an exciting challenge for us to create blocks by our inspiring image/photo. This week we can link our blocks and if we have made something with them. Join the fun!

house blocks by teje

I’m so excited about my new quilt project! There was very much thinking before it ended up to be a quilt project. I can’t wait to continue it and to show you soon what I’m doing. And why I’m making this quilt which may not look very much ‘me’). My brand new bird house will be in that new quilt and here is a small sneaky peaky …

quilt blocks

Other great news today are that the voting has started at ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’! You have three votes and voting is open until 5.11.2015. I know it’s difficult to choose three favourites because there are really too many fantastic quilts! I thought that I have now seen all the entries, but every time I visit there, my eyes pick new, beautiful quilts! Have a look and vote your favourites! {Bunny’s Friends} is in the ‘Viewer’s Choise’!

Thank you so much for your awesome, sweet comments on my quilts! You inspire and motivate me so much! So I’m off to sew so I can soon show you more …

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

13 thoughts on “{Bird House} and voting time

  1. Very cute! Love the little house turned bird house!

  2. Linnunpönttö on ihan huippu hieno! Tykkään rauhallisesta värityksestä. Tajusin just, että suomenkielen sana linnunpönttö on itse asiassa aika tyhmä, a bird house kuulostaa paljon herttaisemmalle. Mukavaa pyhäinpäivän viikonloppua!

    • Kiitos Leena! Mistahan se pontto edes tulee…voisi olla vaikka lintu-mokki. Kirjoitin juuri amerikan serkulle hauskasta paivastamme! Hyvaa viikonloppua! x Teje

  3. Odotan innolla peiton valmistumista! Lintukoto on hauska ja mitä muita blokkeja siihen tuleekaan!

  4. That’s cute block especially that bird version!

  5. Kiva projekti meneillään, tosi kiva!

  6. I really love this design – its going to be a great quilt!

  7. Hi Teje. Thanks for linking up w/WHOOMP! Cute birdhouses! Good providence in the festival. I voted for Bunny and Friends in viewers choice. The donkey is my favorite. =)

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

