Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Dog Gone Cute: Nero’s {Puppy Portraits}

88 Comments

Vof vof dear Friends! Nero here and it’s finally show time!!! After a  loooong waiting, my puppy project is finally finished! We just finished the binding and photo shooting.

Nero and puppy quilt

So today is my turn in the ‘Dog Gone Cute’ blog hop. This has been the best ever project and I want to thank Lorna for giving me this opportunity to make my very own puppy quilt! When I saw those puppies in Lorna’s blog ‘Sew Fresh Quilts‘, I said to Teje that if we don’t join this blog hop, we can stop quilting!

We started {Dog Gone Cute}  project during the busiest summer days. I send Teje to work with fabrics and measurments and said, don’t come home without puppy. She did her best cutting with scissors and sewing by hand.

IMG_1956

IMG_2052

This has been a family project because we all have worked with this best ever quilt! I have picked the puppies and fabrics for them. Hanna chose background fabrics and made stories (she speaks and sings a lot so she was perfect for this job). Nelli helped very well with the quilting and hb found the wadding. Teje did the sewign and stitching stuff.

Hanna and Tim puppy

Now let me introduce my puppies in the order we made them…

1.WILLY is a biologist and photographer. Little flowers, green grass and sunshine make him happy. (hand pieced)

Willy Puppy

2. BRUNO is an ornithologist. He loves forest and could stay days in the woods watching birds. Woodpecker is his favourite. (hand pieced)

Bruno puppy

3. OLIVIA  is a gardener. She grows radishes, carrots and she loves little snails. Soon it’s time for her to collect olives. (hand pieced)

Olivia puppy

4. CECIL is a city girl. She loves shopping, chocolate and sitting in a cafeteria with her friends.  Note the chocolate stain on her picture. (machine pieced)

Cecil puppy

5. AUDREY is a florist and illustrator. She makes beautiful bouquets and pictures with flowers. (machine pieced)

Audrey puppy

6. TIM is a painter and a traveller. He drives around finding beautiful places to paint. (machine pieced)

Tim puppy

Today was the final day to finish my quilt. Binding was still missing. I knew how I want it to be: mixed with all the solids from the quilt. Teje was sewing kilometres to make it long enough … exactly 8 metres and 25 centimetres … a little bit more than we needed …

binding

binding

In the morning I made the bed nicely to be ready for the photo shooting. But it looked like it takes hours to finish the binding … and I fall asleep …

Nero sleeps

While I was sleeping Hanna had put beautiful lights (handmade by friend) … and she was thinking if the quilt will be ever ready …

Hanna

Hanna was tired and she was dreaming of sleeping under a quilt, soft like a cloud …

Hanna and quilt

And the dream came true… the quilt was there and it was finished!

Nero and quilt

I love my quilt but the weather is still warm so I just tried it but didn’t sleep under it yet.

Puppy Portraits by Teje

Before we went out to take more photos, I remembered some moments when making this quilt …

puppy quilt process

Nelli and quilt

And then we went to the balcony to get some fresh sea air …

Dog Gone Cute blog hop

After quilting so many days it’s time to be more outside. Perhaps we go tomorrow for a pic nic and take my quilt with us.

Nero

Our sewing room’s balcony is small so we are very close … anyway Hanna is always very close …

Hanna

I think it’s time to leave you and go to sleep with my new quilt! I love it and could show your ten (at least) more photos. Okey … only one more …

Puppy Portraits by Teje

Hey Nero, can I sleep next to you today?….

Hanna

Thank you Lorna for this fantastic blog hop and great, cute pattern! This has been really fun! We have met so many beautiful puppies (furry and fabric) and read so many wonderful stories! There are still many puppy projects coming so look the schedule for all the participators.

Thank you for reading my puppy story!

NERO

 {Dog Gone Cute} Blog Hop Schedule

Tuesday, October 6

Karen – Run Sew Fun

Kris – Kris Loves Fabric

Anja – Anja Quilts

Kelly – Quilting It Out

Tish – Tish’s Adventures in Wonderland

Thursday, October 8

Carol – Just Let Me Quilt

Nina – Inchworming

Doris – The Quilting Queen Online

Brandy – Pampared Pettit

Leena – Creative Instincts

Tuesday, October 13

Ruth – Charly and Ben’s Crafty Corner

Tanya – Tanya Quilts in Colorado

Laurel – Quilts by Laurel

Kathy – Kathy’s Quilting Blog

Deb – New Creative State

Thursday, October 15

Anita – Daydreams of Quilts

Gina – Quilts and Cakes

Beth – Words and Stitches

Rachel – Quiltineering

Julie – Mack and Maple

Tuesday, October 20

Cathy – A Quilting Chick

Selina – Selina Quilts

Shauna – Shauna’s World

Gayle – Pedal Sew Linghtly

Kathy – Kayak Quilting

Thursday, October 22

Sandy – Upstairs Hobby Room

Heide – Heide’s Quilty Hugs

Britt-Inger – Hill Valley Quilter

Judy – How ART You?

Louisa – Sewmotion

Tuesday, October 27

Teje – Nero’s Post and Patch <———– Nero and me!

Stephanie – Jak and Will

Valerie – Val’s Quilting Studio

Ellen – Georgia Florida Studio

Cristina – Pretty Little Quilts

Thursday, October 29

Abigail – Cut & Alter

Magdalena – i love neutrals

Jenn – (A)Quarter Inch from the Edge

Anne – Batiks by the Bay

Susie – Susie’s Sunroom

Tracy – Tracy’s Bits N Pieces

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

88 thoughts on “Dog Gone Cute: Nero’s {Puppy Portraits}

  1. Oh I’ve been waiting for your dog gone cute finish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And oh how much fun I had reading your post!!! Just tooooo much fun. Seriously, Teje, were would we be without our faithful compainions!! I absolutely love your finish. Mine is still on the long arm and I post tomorrow…yikes! LOL!!

  2. Oh, Nero, this is just too much fun!! You did such a great introduction for each of the puppies. I’ve watched as you, Hanna, Nelli and Teje worked on all of them–but the finished quilt is even more amazing than I would have ever expected. I really love how each puppy is so beautifully framed, and those colorful tiny blocks are just right. You 4 are the best! Sleep well🙂

  3. Love love love the blocks and the stories xxxx

  4. This quilt is a work of art, Teje….so beautiful and such interesting stories for each pup! The tiny coloured squares in the centre are such a creative and inspired touch. I love all your photos too, you got some lovely shots and taking pictures of quilts is not easy! And I can see how much your furry family love it too🙂
    Helen xox

    • Thank you dear Helen, I appreciate your sweet words! I haven’t found out yet how to take photos of quilts in our new home. In our old, huge garden it was easy but now I need to find new ideas. Fortunately light is here very good. Hugs! x Teje

  5. Your are so great team! What a wonderful quilt and lovely introduction,I had so fun in reading this post! You are super! x Anneli

  6. What a beautiful job you all did on this lovely finish! The framing of each block was such a great way to tie them all together and those little bits in the sashing really pop! I enjoyed reading about each of the puppies and what they like to do. The photos are amazing!

    • Thank you dear Lorna for your sweet words and for this super pattern! I have had so much fun with all the other puppies joining this blog hop! x Nero

  7. Nero, tell Teje she did an amazing job, I love all of the different settings for each puppy and of course the stories for each.

  8. Oh Nero, thank you for this story! I love to read stories like this. You, Hanna and Nelli have done an enormous job and now it´s time to rest undet this amazing quilt.

  9. Congratulations on a gorgeous finish, your Dog Gone Cute quilt is absolutely fantastic! Thanks also for the great story!

  10. Adorable quilt and story, congrats.

  11. Love the puppy quilt! The little squares in the center are a nice touch — I like little things like that, they make a quilt interesting and unique.

    • Thank you so much Lisa Marie! I love also little things, fabric squares or little puppies. I was the best nurse for the rescue puppies we have taken care. x Nero

  12. Gorgeous quilt! Framing each block and adding those sweet stories was a fabulous way of showing off those pups…love them all. Cute real pup pictures, too!

  13. I was impatiently waiting to read your post Nero and It’s a great one! I love all the hard work the whole family put into this and it is beautiful! I love the framing and the different backgrounds and the stories to go with them all – congrats! Lovely work as always!

  14. You did a great job introducing us to all of the puppies on your quilt. It sounds like your entire pack (canine, feline and human) played very important rolls in constructing this quilt. Nero, please tell Teje that I think she did an amazing job helping you put this quilt together!

    • Thank you so much Tish! I still can’t believe I have made my very own dog quilt! I have put it now next to my bed, so I can see it all the time. x Nero

  15. Hauska tarina ja kerrassaan ihana työ🙂

  16. Love the quilt!

  17. Wonderful quilt, such beautiful fabrics and sweet story for each pup so lovingly made. Thanks for sharing. Hugs, Heide

  18. Love your pups! They’re so cute!🙂

  19. I love the creativity you showed in choosing fabrics for your puppies and backgrounds. Great description of the puppies as well.

  20. Well this is just fantastic! I love the backgrounds and stories for each puppy. I also love the tiny, colorful squares in middle of it all. What a sweet post!

  21. Great finish! I love how you framed each block.

  22. The fabrics you have chosen for each block make this such an interesting quilt. I could look at it for hours – a gorgeous result Teje!

  23. Loved your story, and Love, Love your quilt. It is sooooo Beautiful!!

  24. Hanna is s lucky puppy!! I love your quilt and the adorable stories to go with them!!! Wonderful!

  25. Love the quilt – Hanna lucky puppy!!! I especially love the puppy stories! Thanks for sharing ! Wonderful !

  26. Just love this finish and the story that goes with it. The idea of having each dog in its own frame is great. Such a different project from the others.

    • Thank you so much Abigail! I got the idea when I looked the small paintings of us on our wall. I thought they could be like portraits of family members even they are just imagination. x Nero

  27. Nero I just LOVE your quilt! I’m so glad Teje made it for you, and I do hope that you’ll share it with Hanna. How I’d love to visit you on that beautiful balcony–pet you, rub your ears, and admire all Teje’s gorgeous work.🙂 Such a great quilt, and all that hand-piecing, wow! My dogs are jealous and want one too.

  28. Love how unique your blocks are and your storytelling throughout this post made me smile!

  29. I loved this post. Your pups, quilted and real, are adorable

  30. I love, love this! Great story and thought behind each pup! Pictures are adorable! What a wonderful project!!

  31. I love the backgrounds and how they each have personalities, awesome!

    • Thank you! It was fun to think what each puppy likes to do. I like to play with balls and Hanna likes to play with the knot-rope. We both love coocies! x Nero

  32. Wonderful story! Nero, definitely the best dog gone quilt EVER!

  33. I adore how you created your quilt with the puppy portraits! They are so beautiful and fun and colorful! You have created them with such personality! This was so fun and sweet to read!
    Susie

  34. What a wonderful interpretation of the quilt. So much personality. Great job and terrific photos. Love your dogs.

  35. I absolutely love your quilt. The setting is fabulous!

  36. OH Nero! This is the best quilt ever. Wonderful combinations of fabric. What an awesome job you did in selecting each little piece so it would go just perfectly with with each puppy. I can’t even pick out a favorite because they are all so lovable. Family projects are really special and your famiy worked as a team in creating the funest, most beautimous quilt ever. Bravo my cousin! Well done! Lady Caroline

    • Thank you so much dear Lady Caroline! This was the most fun project we have made! We really enjoy making quilts with little stories! Hugs to all of you! x Nero

  37. Your blocks are amazing, such great imagination from you all. Thank you for sharing your quilt, and the wonderful stories.

  38. so fun, I love the stories you told about each of them

  39. These are great! I like that idea with frame! Very cool!

  40. Delightfully fun post. Loved the storytelling twist! Fabulous quilt!

  41. Love this fun quilt – the borders around the pups look wonderful!

  42. What a fun quilt – love the setting and color. And the hand quilting – good for you.

  43. Adorable! Your puppies are so cute, but I especially like how you paired them with the different backgrounds. The stories are delightful.

    • Thank you so much Janine! Looks like I enjoy making little stories and to give a life to my creatures. This was really fun project! x Teje

  44. I absolutely love the way your blogged about your quilt making the Dog Gone Cute Quilts! Giving each one a name and occupation was brilliant! You had a perfect way of framing each little puppy and your overall layout gave each one a perfect resting place! Great job!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

