Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

{Hobby House} block Tutorial

13 Comments

Hi dear friends! Alyce from ‘Blossom Heart Quilts’ has wrote a book ‘Diy Block Design”. Introdusing us her book she has a blog hop going on with talented quilters using her e-book to design blocks.

Hobby House

Alyce made also very interesting challenge for us – anyone who likes to join. First week we were supposed to show in Instagram a photo that inspires us to quilt. For me this was exactly the right moment because I had just picked this page

inspiring page

‘Hobby Hall’ is an online shop and ‘KOTI Paras paikka olla’ means HOME Best place to be. I really like this house pattern.

diy block design

Last week we were drawing and colouring quilt blocks from our inspiring photo. I draw houses; not exactly like on the page that gave me the first idea. I made simple house block with half square triangles. I shall make also block with retangle triangles which will be more close to my inspiring idea.

Now this week we should make the blocks with fabric. I knew that I want to try this with solids. So I picked fabrics and tried to decide what colour combos I like. First one was easy with pink, orange and purple.

mydiyblockdesign

Second one was more difficult because my solid stash miss many colours.

WITH THE FOLLOWING PIECES YOU CAN MAKE THE RED HOUSE:

Hobby House block

Those bigger squares on the right are to make half square triangles. Sew 2 squares (colour with white) together all around and then cut from [corner to corner and from corner to corner] and your get 4 hst squares.

As you see my green/blue house looks different. When I was watching the red house, I thought that I may like it better if it’s lower. So I changed the block a little bit. For the smaller house, we need less half square triangles.

Hobby House block

Here are the measurements for my pieces…

Hobby House block

To make 2 half square triangles, cut 4″ x 4″ and draw a line from corner to corner. Then sew with 1/4″ seam allowance from both sides of the line. Cut in half.

IMG_2677

Trim your half square triangles from all sides using the diagonal line on your ruler …

IMG_2678

Alyce has wrote very good post about half square triangles – tutorial and maths to help you to know what size to cut to get the finished size you want. I used Alyce’s formula to get the sizes for my pieces. Look HERE to see more tutorials by Alyce!

Hobby House by Teje

Finished block sizes are:

  • green/blue block 12 1/2″ x 12 1/4″
  • red/pink block 15 1/4″ x 12 1/4″

Hobby Houses by Teje

This has been wonderful challenge! I’m sure that now I shall pick my pencils more easily to draw quilt blocks and there will be absolutely lots of houses! Thank you Alyce for pushing us to do this!  Thank you also for the great book and for sharing so much inspiration and info in your blog!

Hobby House blocks by Teje

I hope to have soon time to continue these houses! Super fun project! I have already many ideas for house quilts.

Next week is our blog hop day with Nero to show you what we have done with those {Dog gone Cute} puppies. And you know that just in few days there will be again ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’! 

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

13 thoughts on “{Hobby House} block Tutorial

  1. You are very talented person Teje! I am sure your quilt with houses will be beautiful. Looking forward in seeing more houses and what did you make youur puppies. Have a great day! x Anneli

  2. It’s beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing this!

    • Thank you so much Alyce, for all this fun challenge! Without you, my page may have been buried in the box and never became a block design. Have a great weekend! x Teje

  3. So simple and so beautiful I like both variations… perhaps sometimes the smaller one is easier to use because it is a square. In any case – lovely!

  4. Hauska blokki! Sinulla on “blokkisilmää”! Kun tulin tikkauskurssilta, niin kaikki aitaverkot ja tienviivatkin näyttivät tikkauksilta. Mukavaa viikonloppua!

    • Kiitos kovasti! Osaan kuvitella kuinka kaikki mahdollinen saa miettimaan tikkaus kuvioita. Ehka onni etten tikkaa koneella niin on yksi paanvaiva vahemman. Oikein hyvaa viikonloppua! Osallistuthan Blogger’s Quilt Festivaaliin? x Teje

  5. I love your house blocks they are very cute and the solids really pop on that background white🙂

  6. Teje, thanks so much for sharing how you go from an inspiration to a block design, and I really appreciate how detailed your tutorial is! This is such a cute block–even your notebook is cute🙂

  7. Really like this and the simplicity of it on the white is gorgeous! Going on my to make list when I have time off over Christmas! Feels so summery to me – perfect fun when the days are getting darker!

    • Thank you Ruth! I’m happy to hear you like this. I love house blocks and this became a simple, nice blocks which would make a great quilt. I have to put this on side for a while because I ‘just had to’ start a christmas quilt! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

