Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Block design challenge and Brown

15 Comments

Hi friends! Again my post starts ‘when I was in Finland’ but what can I do – I was there when I picked inspiring page from the katalog of Hobby Hall. I really liked that illustration and still like.

mydiyblockdesign

Then I saw that Alyce from ‘Blossom Heart Quilts’ challenged us in Instagram: to post a photo with something that inspires us to make quilt blocks. I posted my photo and couldn’t believe my eyes some days later. I won charm pack in random draw! Thank you so much Alyce for the fabrics and for making me to start this project.

mydiyblockdesign

Hardly evere I start planning with pen and paper – I start with fabrics. But now I’m happy that I did this to learn more. This had to be planned first by sketching and colouring.

Now this week we can post photos of our sketching under #mydiyblockdesign. Welcome to visit nerospost in Instagram.

mydiyblockdesign

I made lots of little houses until I decided that I like mostly these two above. This was fun and encouraged me to do more block sketching. Now I can’t wait to find time to make these blocks with fabrics!

beautiful brown

An other challenge this week is Brown! Rachel from ‘Stitched in Color’ is challenging us with brown colour. Often forgotten when quilting (at least for me it is difficult colour). But Rachel showed brown as a sweet, warm, cosy, beautiful colour and made me want to pick my browns. ‘Farbric BUBB’ is sponsor for this contest and you can win your choise of fabrics. It was hard to choose only nine fabrics because there are so much beautiful and – suprise – in brown! Now I want to make a quilt with brown and earth colours! Hurry up, there is still few days time to enter your mosaic.

candies

We can find inspiration every where. Usually we just don’t think much what we see. When you look around, pay attention what you see and you will notice that there are so many beautiful, little things that normally we don’t see at all. Patterns, shapes and colours to inspire you in quilting can be any where!

Thank you for stopping by and for your sweet word for my ‘Greek Island’ mini quilt!

I wish you inspiring, challenging and sewfull weekend!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

15 thoughts on “Block design challenge and Brown

  1. I like that block you are designing Teje. Well done. I shall look forward to seeing it done in fabric ; )

  2. I love your sketches – congrats on the prize!

  3. Teje, your eyes notice so many beautiful designs hidden right in front of all of us!

  4. Your sketches look so pretty, I look forward to seeing them translated into patchwork. Happy weekend, Teje.
    Helen xox

  5. Luonnoksesi on todella kiva! Varmaan toteutuksestasi tulee ihana! Olen iloinen voittokankaista,on ihana saada kangaspostia! Blogiasi on todella kiva lukea, kiitos siitä ja edellinen postauksesi kreikkalaisesta saaresta oli myös mahtava, jotenkin livahti ohi ja näin sen luettuani tämän postauksesi. hyvää viikonloppua! x Anneli

    • Kiitos Anneli! Luulen etta naista talo blokeista voi tulla paljon erilaisia kivoja juttuja. En malttais olla aloittamatta mutta pakko viela ensin siivota ja tikata koiria. Hyvaa viikonloppua! x Teje

  6. Loving your design and as a self-confessed ‘brown lover’ I love your fabrics too! Jxo

  7. Great design, looking forward to see it in “real”!! xBarbora

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

