Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

{Greek Island} mini quilt

31 Comments

Hi dear friends! I hope this brings you lovely memories from your summer holidays!

Greek island

When you are going to meet your special quilter friend, you want to make her something. But what? My thoughts went through pouches, potholders, pincushions, mug rugs … and ended up to mini quilt.

IMG_2208[1]

It’s difficult to make something for someone else; especially when there is no time for second of third one if the first idea doesn’t work. I was thinking something in blue colours, simple design with a sailing boat and light house …

half square triangles

I made sails in nice, calm, blue colours … could be also fish if you need fish block …

IMG_2211[1]

And then I didn’t know how to continue ‘calm’ … I looked my scraps and saw sun …

sun with scraps

I knew that I want red boat … and it could land to a green, greek island …

improvising with scraps

Greece has strong colours and contrasts … there is blue sea and yellow, hot, sandy beaches …

patchwork

Then there are the mountains and near to Crete is Santorini with volcano …

greek island patchwork

On the sea your eyes pick sailing boats … seagulls over the fishing boats …

greek island

Because my time was limited, I made the binding before quilting. I thought if I don’t have enough time before my travel, I can quilt it in Finland but binding I couldn’t sew there. I chose to sew the binding first on the back side and then I was able to sew it with orange thread over the front side. I add corners for hanging …

hanging corners

greek island

I knew Leena has a place for this ‘Greek Island’ and she can use it there as a place mat or to hang it with wooden stick in the hanging corners.

elegant

As you see, this didn’t turn out elegant design in calm blues … but then, I think it’s better it looks ‘me’ because it’s a souvenir from Greece.

This improvising patchwork reminded me once again that we shouldn’t try to be/make something else than what we are. I do my best to think with every project {i make this for me} … then I use colours I feel good, I’m careful without thinking about the time it takes, if something doesn’t look good I change it … I make by instinct and create with materials I have. I have never bought fabrics for a certain project. This works for me and if I try to do/be something else, usually it doesn’t end up well.

sunshine

Be you and be proud of that! Make what you like and enjoy that you can make what you love! Be satisfied if you have found your style! Isn’t it fun to realize from the first photo seen in bloglovin, who has made it!

I do hope you have the most beautiful autumn weather! If not, I hope this scrappy sun warms you a little bit and perhaps brings to your mind lovely summer memories!

Thank you so much for your trip to the “Greek Island”!

I shall join my favourite linky parties … buttons are on my sidelist.

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

31 thoughts on “{Greek Island} mini quilt

  1. A perfect Greek island, so bright and bold. I like that you told how you work, all in your head and right to the fabric. I do the same. Thanks for showing us your summer day.

  2. Beautiful! I am sure your friend loves it! Thank you for sharing your process, its so fun to see how others work! And…I love that you work with what you have! I rarely buy fabric for a specific project and think that half the fun is using what’s available. Solids make it a little easier than prints for me!

  3. Thank you for sharing your creative process. I love how it all came together! You have some wise words about being yourself. Have a great week!

  4. Thank you Teje for your blog! I love seeing what you make! ( & pics of Greece & Finland)

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  5. I adore this, the sweetest little quilt ever!

  6. It is so stinkin’ cute! I can’t imagine anyone not loving that!

  7. This is a wonderful gift for your friend🙂

  8. I love your quilt and your process of making it! Thank you for your explication. I can imagine your pleasure. A very nice gift! Have a nice day!

  9. It is a very beautiful gift for your friend, Teje!

    -Soma

  10. I love that it is free and easy and not elegant – really fun and a lovely thoughtful gift!

  11. Good motto to craft by! It certainly work here. Thanks for linking up to #Scraptastictuesday!

  12. i really love this colorful mini!

  13. So beautiful and colourful Teje! You have certainly captured the sunshine of a Greek island in your lovely mini quilt!
    Helen xox

  14. It’s so fun to make something that is perfectly suited to your friend – special memories🙂

  15. Being creative is such a gift. Sharing it with others makes it even more enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your lovely creative talents with us.

    • Thank you for reading my blog and for your sweet words! As you said, sharing makes it much more enjoyable. And sharing the process is part of that. x Teje

  16. The “mini” is great, thanks for sharing your projects with all of us. xBarbora

    • Thank you Barbora for reading about my projects and for your lovely comments! Does it feel autumn there? We had rain yesterday but it’s still enough warm for flip flops. x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

