Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

I met my quilter friend!

14 Comments

Hi! When I was in Finland I met one Finnish quilter!

metal frame purse

You may think, okey that’s great and sure you had fun. Yes we did, but it was much more than that because first time I was able to speak ‘nose to nose’ with a quilter and in my own language. Also for the first time I was looking fabrics with a quilter. You know how fun it is to show and say ‘oh look this’ ‘ah look this’ ‘did you see this’ ‘ what you take’ ‘shall I take this’ etc etc !!!

purse by tilkkutie

The quilter I met is Leena from ‘Tilkkutie’. We know each others some time through our blogs but had never met. During my earlier trip to Finland we didn’t manage to meet but this time we decided that some where we shall meet.

purse by tilkkutie

Finally we met in my town because she had sewing ‘business’ there. I’m sure she will tell about that soon. So we met in a sewing shop. What would be better place to get to know each others! We were speaking, laughing and …

quilting fabrics

I think it’s all here…hmmm not all but all I bought with my friend. Blue light in these photos is like winter in Finland but it’s in the shadow on the sunny balcony at home.

fabrics

You can imagine how I was like a child in a candy shop … hard to decide what to take. Fortunately I was well prepared for my shopping therapy …

IMG_2490

Then we went for a late lunch and continued talking and laughing. Leena makes beautiful quilts etc. and I enjoy reading her posts because she’s a great, fun writer. ‘Tilkkutie’ (=patch road) is in Finnish but even you don’t speak Finnish, it’s worth of seeing beautiful photos of her quilts and from Finland. Leena gave me this beautiful purse …

spools

She had picked so cute fabrics and colours. I love how this double, metal frame purse has two colours inside, green and turquoise like the spools outside. I can’t hide this yet in my bag so it will be decoration with some big spools in my sewing room … which I’m just turning all around and cleaning. Soon I shall give you a tour in my re-fixed sewing studio.

spools

Hanna picked these from our morning walk yesterday …

morning walk

Let’s see what we find today. And then I shall finish my sewing room to continue the ‘Dog Gone Cute’ project.

I’m linking at Molli Sparkles’ Sunday Stash, join the party!

Thank you Leena for that special day and beautiful purse! Thank you all for reading my blog and sharing our passion for fabrics!

Have a great day and enjoy small autumn things!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

14 thoughts on “I met my quilter friend!

  1. What fun to meet a blogging friend in real!!! The purse is wonderful… the colours! !!

  2. I am so glad you had a great time in Finland. I know the feeling of excitement when meeting with a fellow quilter, especially the ones that you follow for a while and then you get the chance to meet up close, like when I met you and when I met our friends from Athens also last year…. The fabrics you picked up, oh, love them all, can’t wait to see how you use them in your next project!!! Have a great day dear Teje!!

    • Thank you so much Eleni! I was so nice to meet you and I hope we meet again. I’m re-organizing my sewing room (to find place for all the new fabrics – ha ha). Have a lovely day! x Teje

  3. Ah sounds like a great trip, so lovely to meet friends in real life!

  4. Thank you for sharing your trip with us. Such a treat to meet & visit in person someone you’ve known via the Internet! I love seeing what fabric you found. It’s fun to see what patterns/fabrics are in the shops in other locations. Welcome Home!

  5. Oh what fun that must have been to meet your blogger friend in the “furs” and talk the whole time in your mother tongue. We fabric-lovers can talk to a wall when it comes to appreciating all the different aspects of fabric so meeting a kindred spirit had to be just the best. Loved the purse she gave you. How charming is that! I just know you are going to create some sweet, sweet stuff with all your new fabrics. Can’t wait to see what comes and the new sewing studio arrangement. Hanna, I really like what you found on your walk and your mom arranged it so prettily. Hugs from hot hot California.

  6. En epäile hetkeäkään, etteikö teillä olisi ollut hauskaa! Ihania kankaita olet valinnut ja tuo Leenan tekmän kukkaron lankarullakangas on ihan huippuhienoa.

  7. That’s so wonderful that you could meet your blogging friend in Finland. Thanks for sharing your story and the wonderful purse she gave to you.

  8. Oh that little purse is beautiful. So too are those gorgeous fabrics. It was a good job you had plenty of space for your purchases. What lovely ‘treasures’ Hanna! Ros and Oscar xx

  9. How wonderful to meet your friend in person and share such a good time fabric shopping. I also met a blog friend after many years, and we felt like sisters right then and the times we have met since then. A friend is a gift for life.

  10. Sinulla oli ihana Suomi-matka! Aika varmaan vierähti nopeasti mukavassa seurassa ja on ihana tavata ihmisiä joilla on sama intressi! Pidän suunnattomasti saamastasi lahjasta, kangas on super! Ja unohtamatta tietenkään että muut kankaat ovat aivan ihania! Sivumennen hiuksesi ovat todella kivat!! Kivaa alkanutta viikkoa! x Anneli

  11. What a great trip! You definitely found some great fabrics. I love the print of the spools of thread!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

