Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Boats and coffee in Loviisa

14 Comments

Hi dear friends! When visiting Loviisa, on the south coast of Finland, I had a coffee in this lovely place …

old houses

Weather was fantastic and nature looked so beautiful! Still lot of green but already some autumn colours.

Loviisa

These wooden houses, painted with traditional red, were on the harbour. Many of them already closed (it’s autumn even it didn’t look like) but one place was open …

Waitress was most cute but didn’t pay any attentio to me. I tried to get her to come closer but all her attention was focused to the kitchen. When the owner stepped from the counter and went to the kitchen, this girl followed running!

IMG_2351

Building was beautiful, old style, wooden …

IMG_2356

Coffee with apple pie and vanilla sauce was good and the table decor was beautiful …

IMG_2354

I can imagine fishermen chatting and having beers in the evenings …

IMG_2353

My grandfather’s brother’s summer house was like this; real log cabin, dark but cosy.

IMG_2355

Exciting old photo to show us how it looked like in old days!

IMG_2352

Boats here and there …

finland

old ship

boats

IMG_2347

Have to show you this, too. Nothing but old toilets! Had to read the instructions on the wall to know how to use it!

IMG_2349

Thank you for joining my trip and for your lovely comments! I’m now back at home and already sewing. There is so many things to post … hope to see you soon again!

TEJE

finland

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

14 thoughts on “Boats and coffee in Loviisa

  1. I have enjoyed your travel pictures! Thank you for sharing!! Beautiful.

  2. Beautiful pictures, I love the atmosphere you have captured in these photos Teje!
    Helen xox

  3. Loved seeing the interior shots.
    And you had gorgeous weather.
    Looks like you enjoyed your trip home.

  4. Thanks for a look at Finland! I would love to visit someday! 😊

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  5. Oh, what a gorgeous place, Teje! My Nordic heritage is definitely calling to me thanks to all your beautiful photos. If Nero had been there, I’m sure your waitress would have paid a lot more attention🙂

  6. So beautiful!!! It is so easy to understand why so many Fins have settled in Minnesota…..Northern half. Our lakes, pine trees and love of sail boats give us the same settings!!!!!!

  7. I enjoyed this post…thanks for sharing with us!

  8. Hi there! What a fun place to go hang out. So beautiful with all the wood and close to the water : )

  9. Kovin on autiot aitat! Aivan hurmaava tuo trjoilija, vaikkakin hieman laiska. Mukavaa viikkoa!

  10. So beautiful! Love seeing your photos of your vacation time, Teje.

  11. I would love to visit some day!

  12. You’re photos are always so inspiring. Thanks for sharing!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

