Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Beautiful houses from Loviisa

17 Comments

Hi friends! I’m visiting my home country Finland and one day I visited Loviisa, beautiful town in south coast.

blue house

In Loviisa you can see the most beautiful, old wooden houses. This sky blue house on the beach is my dream house! Can you imagine having your sewing studio upstairs?!

pink house

In the centre there were many, old, beautiful buildings and some of them were pink!

IMG_2338

There were many streets with old, wooden houses.

Loviisa Finland

Beautifully saved houses, painted with lovely colours…

Loviisa Finland

Loviisa Finland

This beautiful, blue house was in the port …

Loviisa Finland

As you can see, I have been very lucky with the weather! Almost every day has been sunny and warm. Nature has gorgeus colours! Today it’s cloudy but you can guess that I don’t mind at all.

Loviisa Finland

I hope you enjoy my ‘postcards’ from Finland and I hope to see you next time when I show you the place I had coffee in Loviisa. There was a cute dog. Now I go to prepare my packing so I know how much more fabrics I can buy!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

17 thoughts on “Beautiful houses from Loviisa

  1. Oooooooo…..that sky blue house!!!!! I think I would choose that gorgeous sun-room on the first floor…..those windows really caught my eye. The pastel/light colors that are used are totally dreamy (as you said). Hugs……………… And, yes, one must assess the luggage/packing situation for “space” shortages!!!!! LOL!!!!!

  2. Oh my, what a quaint and lovely town. Storybook time and so beautifully kept. The name seems to fit it. So glad you are having a wonderful time. Buy more fabric and if need be take out the non-essentials like hair brushes and tooth brushes and knickers! Just teasing, my friend! Hugs S

  3. I’m sure that being home for you is like soaking up the last rays of summer sunshine before fall hits… you want to take in as much as you possibly can! Usually I can make it about a year away from home before I start feeling the desperate urge to be around fimiliar people, places, and just soak in my own language. Enjoy your visit home!

    Greetings from an American in Germany!

  4. What a lovely town; I love the blue house. Hope you have lots of room for fabric in your suitcase!!

  5. I blew out my suitcase in Japan and had to ship fabric home. Luckily, it’s not as expensive as shipping in Europe is.
    What brought you to Loviisa?

  6. Beautiful! Looks like you are enjoying your visit. Such a lovely town!

  7. Gorgeous!!! Time for another house quilt!

  8. Thankyou Teje for the lovely postcard photos of Finland. I love your favorite blue house. Love Trills.

  9. Lovely photos! To my British eye those buildings look very American – maybe that shows the influence of settlers from Scandinavia on the development of the architecture of the USA?

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

