Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Hello from Finland!

16 Comments

Hello from Finland! It’s a beautiful autumn here and when landing I was surprised that it looks still so much summer. I expected more grey and cloudy autumn, but the weather has been gorgeus. Warm, sunny and nature is still very green with beautiful autumn colours.

finland

This is my first view in the mornings! More colourful; my camera ate the colours!. I shall send you more postcards from my trip.

finland

While having my breakfast first morning, 4 squirrels were playing and running up and down the trees in our garden! Oh, I hope to see them again! They live in the roof in winter. And woodpecker comes often and tries to make a winter home in the corner of the house!

IMG_2247

This old bird house has new purpose…squirrel goes there, opens the front wood, puts her ‘berries’ inside and then closes the door again and leaves! They are busy this time collecting food for the winter.

books

One of the first things on my list is always library! I miss very much Finnish books. There wasn’t many quilting books that i haven’t read already, but these few I took home.

books

‘Sinista Kotiin’ = blue for home, is new for me and looks very inspiring.

IMG_2291

Morning looked like this but now it seems to clear and perhaps it will be again sunny day here in south Finland.

I have to say that the end of the summer at home was really busy. Trying to be at several works in same time and then preparing things and places for the autumn took all our energy. Shop is now closed for winter and I began to fix our home. There are still un-done works from the moving last year and I am looking for to get everything done and have a ‘normal’ everyday life….with lot of time in my sewing room. That I want to re-arrange, too.

IMG_2221

During the summer I was also busy with sewing projects. Some of them secrets and still waiting to be showed. This photo is from the last scrappy sewing I did just before travelling.

IMG_2209

This has to be secret for a short time, but I will show this soon. Still need to hand stitch a little bit. I can say that this was very improvising and quick project.

IMG_2237

Just before I left home, I received these fun fabrics from my sister. Thank you dear sister! I would love to find more this one with animals!

fabrics

No visits to fabrics shops yet … oh, I have to be tired! I think it’s time for the first fabric shopping! I’m happy to say that I shall meet one of my Finnish quilting friends … but more of that later.

IMG_2278

About my flight… after many years I flew with Finnair and it was so great! Happy and polite service, very good seats, good time (no travelling in the middle of the night), allowed to have a handbag with the hand luggade, coffee in Marimekko’s paper mug, napkins were Marimekko’s… and … blueberry juice and coffee for Free!

selfie 4

I tried to take new selfie … that is so hard … serious look looks too serious… laughing looks … I don’t know … I’m just not for photos.

IMG_2288

Thank you so much for visiting my blog after a long brake! I hope to see you soon again, showing more what I see here in my home country…hopefully some gorgeus fabrics!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

16 thoughts on “Hello from Finland!

  1. Those landscapes are totally dreamy!!! South Finland appears to be very much like my little corner of the world (which is probably why our area has a huge Norwegian, Swedish and Finnish population!!!!). Do I spy a Moomin or two????? Looking forward to seeing the results of your “shopping therapy”!!!! Relax and enjoy……………….hugs………………………..

  2. I wish you soooo much fun at Finnland! I have been there for two weeks during school time in January/February and i still want to go there again. Sweden is so beautiful in autumn, so I think Finnland will be, too. how long will you stay?
    Greetings from Germany, Rike

    • Thank you so much Rike! You have been here during the coldest time. Now it’s quite warm still and the nature is rreally beautiful. I stay about 10 days. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  3. Hi Teje!!! Oh your selfie is adorable! I enjoyed your post today. My days have been filled with more fun than sewing too…but like ya said, with the change of seasons upon us…more sewing time will come. Enjoy your travels! :)V

  4. Always fun to see what you are doing Teje. Looking forward to seeing your quilts soon. Beautiful selfie!

    • Thank you so much Carla! I found some great fabrics and have lots of new ideas! I think at least one fun applique project is coming on my way soon! x Teje

  5. As Biily Crystal would say, “You look maaaavalous! “. New hairstyle is most becoming. So glad you are relaxing in Finland, you must be so tired after all the work that went into your charming shop. Next year will be so much less hectic as things are in place. Really cute fabric. Love those little animals. Hugs to you. S

    • Thank you so much Sonja! I have to leave my hair longer because it turns more curly and the short never turned where I wanted. I have done some great fabric shopping – lots of ideas! Hugs and wishes from sunny Finland! x Teje

  6. We visited Finland a few years ago and loved it . Maybe we will go back one day, although it’s a long way to drive from here! I think your selfie is brilliant – I cant do them at all – always looking in the wrong place and never natural!

  7. Lovely to see your pictures from Finland…..have a wonderful trip Teje! Hope you find some gorgeous fabrics. I think the photo of you shows that you are a very pretty lady!
    Happy holiday 🙂
    Helen xox

    • Thank you Helen! I have had a great time ! Bags are filled with fabrics and other goodies. Soon back home with Nero and I have already the ‘puppy project’ in my mind. x Teje

  8. Hi Teje, it is lovely to see pictures of your homeland and your selfie is great. Hope you have a lovely time in Finland. Would love to go there one day. Love Trills

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

