Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Nero’s Post: new puppy Cecil

38 Comments

Vof vof friends! Oh my boneness how hot it is! Do you have already great, cool autumn weather? I think these days we have the most hot weather in whole summer! What one dog can do then? Turn on the air condition and sew a puppy of course!

Dog Gone Cute QAL

If you read my blog, you know that I’m joining the ‘Dog Gone Cute’ blog hop! I’m so excited!

Sew Fresh Quilts
‘Dog Gone Cute’ quilt along has just began and Lorna has posted instructions for the first and second puppy. I know you can’t wait to start this so click HERE to jump to Lorna’s blog and start sewing puppies! (or click the icon above, which you find also on my sidelist).
IMG_2176
We made this new puppy together with Teje at home. So we cut the pieces easily with the rotary cutter on the cutting mat – so much easier than with scissors. And we sew with sewing machine – so much quicker than sewing by hand. But it was really fun and interesting for her to make some puppies doing everything by hand.
IMG_1957
Even she sew now with machine, she was too busy to concentrate well and the ripper appeared few times… and the seam allowances were what ever! Oh this became a little bit wonky puppy.
IMG_2178
Lorna’s patterns are very clear and easy to follow. You can see on the photo above how everything is made with squares and retangles. Like in any patchwork, quilting or sewing – just take care that your seam allowance is same and straight all the time.
Dog Gone Cute QAL
With little inprovising this one became a cute little lady. May I introduce ‘Cecil’! You know that for my puppies, we pick the fabrics with Hanna. I knew that Cecil lives in a city but I couldn’t decide what to put around.
eggs and salad
So I had a lunch brake. Oh I like eggs and what better pair than a salad (in fact I’m not a huge fan of salads). I cut some bread slides to dry – they are great for puppies! I know one puppy who hides them in the couch!
IMG_2146
I went to the garden …
Nero
What you think about my paprika tree? It’s fun how they look like flowers!
paprikas
Hanna was with me of course …
Hanna
Hey Nero, I see something …
IMG_2130
Yee, what you see? a nice flower or what …
IMG_2140
… lets get back to my puppies …
Dog Gone Cute QAL
Finally I decided to use the purple fabric from the ‘Paint’ collection, but now I’m not sure if I’m happy with this. I really like the first one with yellow and orange flower fabrics. I guess it’s better to make a new puppy to use those fabrics. Anyway I like Cecil and I hope you like her, too.
Thanks for following my {Dog Gone Cute} quilt project! I hope to have soon new puppy to show!

NERO

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

38 thoughts on “Nero’s Post: new puppy Cecil

  1. Lorna;s patterns are indeed great and fun! I love your dogs. The houses and your colors are so well chosen. I will come back to see more of your dogs. Have fun!!

  2. Oh my boneness – haha. Totally going to use that one!!! Love your block – of COURSE you’d be in this bloghop!

    • Thank you so much Laura! We are so busy here. I wish there was more time for this fun project. We miss you. Hugs to you and your puppies! Teje & Nero

  3. Cecil is sooooo stinking cute and adorable!! LOVE HIM and LOVE YOUR creativity!

  4. Great pictures and great block!

  5. Puppy in the city – love this scrappy version! Send Nero over to me for a holiday – its cool here with a hint of rain!

  6. Your puppy block is so sweet, Teje. Hope you are all staying cool while you sew!

  7. What a cute puppy block, A puppy in the city! These are so fun and the instructions make it easy to put together. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Teje, what a great idea to put the building fabric in the block, it really adds so much. Say hi to Nero and Hanna, looking beautiful as usual.

  9. I love your doggie block – the likeness of Nero is amazing heehee

  10. Nämä koirat on niin söpöt! Myös minun ” must to do ” listalla

  11. Cecil is tail wagging adorable, Teje! I love that you made her a city pup by adding in that building fabric next to her. Looking forward to seeing the next pup to join your kennel of cuteness. ;o)

    Stay cool and happy stitching!

  12. Cecil – you are so adorable. What an interesting place for you to live – the city! Bet you enjoy the parks there! Woof!

  13. What could be better, dogs and quilting! Love the doggie!

  14. These blocks are so cute, aren’t they? I love the fabrics you have used around your little dog – really interesting and unusual.

  15. I really like how you used that building fabric in yours! Your dog came out super cute. I agree that that angle on the nose was tricky! I had to use a bigger seam allowance to make it line up.🙂

  16. Fantastic fun project! You really made the most of the fabrics and the puppy is adorable🙂

  17. Nero, we just love the new puppy! She lives in a city just like us> We love your sweet paprika tree too! Ros and Oscarx

  18. A gorgeous post, Teje! I love your colourful flowers, food and of course puppies!
    Helen xox

  19. En voinut vastustaa Neron ja Hannan puuhia, vaan hyppäsin mukaan! Pieni peitto valmistui, ehkä tyyny tai pari isommista blokeista vielä tulee tehtyä. Suloinen tuo Cecil❤

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

