Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

{Solid Sampler} HRT Harlequin Block

36 Comments

Hi friends! Today I start my new quilt block series with solids: {Solid Sampler}. This will be blocks made with solids, new and old, traditional and modern, what ever comes to my mind. If I know the name for the block I use that other wise I give it ‘my’ name. I show you how I make the blocks or I link to the tutorials that inspired me.

hrt harlekin block by tejesarita

My first block is HRT (half retangle triangle) Harlequin block. For me this shape reminds me always Harlequin so I call it that.

I cut half retangle triangles so that the short side is 3.5 ” and the long side is 6.5 “. You can use the [30 degrees] line on your ruler. For me works well to cut one triangle like that and then the rest of the triangles I cut using the first one as a template. I don’t like to turn around my big ruler and try to find the right angle. Also my table is usually too full to have good space, as you can see …

solid blocks

So I put the ready triangle on my next fabric and then cut the second using the ruler.

half retangle triangle

I always iron my fabrics before cutting! Except this time… after these three I ironed them and all my solids!

IMG_1883

Cut your half retangle triangles and then arrange them as you like. Sew them as shown below …

sewing half retangle triangles

And then it’s time to play!

solid blocks by tejesarita

solid blocks by tejesarita

solid blocks by tejesarita

And then play some more …

triangle blocks

Then trim your pieces and sew them together. I shall use white around the blocks, but not just yet, because with the white I shall bring the different kind of blocks to the same size.

hrt blocks

{solid sampler} hrt harlekin

Sometimes we just need to do something else than the current project to clear our thoughts for a moment. At least me, when I’m working with a new quilt, my mind is there day and night. That’s why Saturday evening I decided to make one great block I had in my mind. I didn’t make that block because when playing with the pieces I saw this ‘harlekin’ and thought to stay with this. I don’t call this ‘project’ because I shall make these blocks now and then between my projects without any target but I think I shall make this small wall quilt for my sewing studio. You can imagine how difficult it is now to stop making solid blocks!

I hope you enjoyed your visit and this colourful block! Take care and see you soon …

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

36 thoughts on “{Solid Sampler} HRT Harlequin Block

  1. Näyttääpä upealle! Tykkään kolmioista, minusta niillä saa mielenkiintoisia pintoja! See you soon?

  2. Really nice…and your tutorial was excellent!

  3. I very much love these harlequin blocks! Thank you for showing how to do them!
    Beth

  4. Your blogs are so colorful!!! I like the harlequin looks and colors!!

    • Thank you! Looks like I wrote harlekin in Finnish, perhaps has to change that correct. It’s fun to make blocks with solids. x Teje

  5. Look at all that color! Love it! HRT’s are so much fun to play with! I’ve used your method several times and it’s always effective! Can’t wait to see what else you come up with!

  6. Oh I like this alot!!

  7. Gorgeous colors! Will be fun to see the finished quilt.

  8. They look gorgeous! Great way to use up solid scraps. Thank you for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

  9. They look great – the solids sparkle!

  10. I’m always looking for little “diversion” projects where you can make a block here and there. Thanks Teje for this great tutorial. I will save this post to try later!

  11. I love HRT projects and a colourful solid one like this is really fun. the last time i made them as a roof for a house. a wonky version would be fun in these colours too!

  12. Thanks for sharing all the wonderful progress photos! I do love solids and your blocks are going to be beautiful all trimmed in white!

    • Thank you Lorna! These are so much fun. I would like to make now only solid blocks, but of course my other current projects are also really fun! x Teje

  13. Love the solids look. I was playing with half square rectangles just this morning but in patterns …… think I will revisit in solids.

  14. This is going to be a fabulous series of blocks!

  15. The colours you’ve chosen for your solid blocks are wonderful – love the inclusion of tints and shades of the same hues. What a lovely ‘diversion’ to be working on!

    • Thank you so much Helen! I have “found” solids and love them! I didn’t have time for this project for a long time but now I continue and have few new blocks. Kisses to Archie! x Teje

  16. Dear Teje, just wanted to ask whether you ever made anything out of these blocks. I have been saving them to my computer because I love them so much but now I can’t find anything you might have made out of them. Did I miss this? Or have they not been incorporated into a quilt?

    • Thank you for visiting and your comment! I love these blocks but they haven’t become anything yet. I was thinking to make different kind of blocks with solids. I also want to make a whole quilt with these blocks because they are really great! I’m sorry you used time for finding the project. Thank you for reminding me about these blocks! Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

      • Thank you Teje for letting me know. Yes, you really must do something with them because they are just too pretty to not be used! I’ll wait and see what happens! Wish you a Happy Easter time!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

