Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Nero’s Sunday Stash

5 Comments

Vof vof friends! Nero here and I’m so happy to see you! I feel really hot so I’m just playing inside with my fabrics. Today I took these special fabrics out from the self where I have hidden them from the strong sunlight.

nero's sunday stash

These are very special fabrics because they are a present from dear friends! Thank you again so much!

fabrics

So beautiful and good quality fabrics from the ‘Stoff & Stil.

fabrics

Colours are gorgeus and the prints so cute and also different than in any other fabrics I have. Often we look and buy same kind of fabrics, like we stuck to one kind of style and that’s why it’s fantastic to get fabrics picked by some one else.

fabrics

These could be easily mixed with many other fabrics but I like to keep bundles together. At least for the first project. Later the scraps may be used with other fabrics. I think these lovely grey prints would be beautiful with grey solids from Kona or Oakshott.

fabrics

They are all timeless as the label says! Today when playing with these, I was thinking what pattern would be nice for these. First that came to my mind was ‘Churn Dash’. It’s one of the traditional quilt blocks that is in my ‘want to make one day’ list and these fabrics would be great for that. HERE is a link for one of my favourite quilts made with that pattern by Lolly Quiltz. Very different colours but you can see the pattern and I’m sure you agree that these fabrics would show beautifully in that pattern.

stoffstil

Hard to pick any favourite but this one I really love!  But hey! there is more …

fabrics

Aren’t these just amazing! I love blue and my stash is always missing blue fabrics so these are so perfect and the flying birds are most beautiful! They came with that adorable paper!

Hmmm, would you like to see me, too, I’m here …

Nero

Sooooo, want to see more fabric stuff?  From the local shop I found some basics …

fabrics

And my table is full of piles to pick fabrics for a new project …. aaah, but I can’t show them yet. It is secret project!

The latest other secret project is finished and I can show it soon. Just need the time to prepare the post(s). It was a special, important and most fun project, so it deserves lots of photos and details. To give you a small hint, I used several patterns from Kristy. Kristy from ‘Quiet Play’ makes best paper piecing patterns and now she has a sale – 30 % until 16th of August!  Hop over to her SHOP and guess what geometric patterns I used. She has also super ‘alphabets’ and ‘numbers’ patterns!

fabrics

Last week I enjoyed (in fact she because I can’t go to the shop) the lunch in the shop with the new quilting magazine! Oh it’s always so nice to have a new magazine and especially with quilting, sewing and fabrics!

quilting

Because this is Sunday Stash post, I don’t mix here any projects. But I have to tell you that yesterday I made something relly cool, having a phrase: ‘celebrating life’ in my mind! Soon more about that!

new fabrics

I’m off to do some boring ironing and then perhaps short walk or/and brushing outside. I hope you have some fabulous fabrics to play with!

Lots of furry hugs and big kisses!

NERO

PS. Click the button below to read about our friends Sunday Stash. Great party for sunday!

Molli Sparkles

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

5 thoughts on “Nero’s Sunday Stash

  1. These fabrics are gorgeous!! My mind is going so fast thinking of all the things I could make with them if I had a stash that good.

    Happy. Healthy. Homely.

  2. Lovely additions to your stash, Teje! You’re right, it is fun to have someone else choose fabrics for us and your friend has selected some beauties that you will enjoy stitching with. I also like the basics you found locally. I always love polka dots and gingham fabrics for patchwork – yours are perfect!
    Happy stitching!
    xK

  3. So much lovely fabrics!!!! Oh Nero, it such a luck you share your fabric taste with Teje🙂

  4. Very pretty fabrics Teje. Enjoy your new magazine. It’s a great one!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

