Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Selvages

25 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! I hope you are fine! I’m happy to say that I’m busy with sewing projects. Machine is running in the evenings at home and sometimes even early mornings and then at the shop I quilt by hand. But today we speak about selvages – those darling, precious selvages!

selvages by teje

Jessica from ‘Quilty Habit’ is hosting a selvage-along and I think this is fantastic idea! There will be ideas, tutorials and inspiration for selvage projects.

selvages

I have collected selvages for a long time and a while ago changed them to this big Tupperware box which I had bought in the first place for bread.

selvage box

I had fun moments and memories when spreading my selvages for the photos and then storing them again … until I find the perfect project.

selvage storage

I have made two little projects with selvages but more about them an other time. Today we share how/where we keep our selvages. Visit Jessica’s blog and link your post, if you collect selvages and show where you keep them.

watering garden

It’s getting more and more hot here. Our little garden needs watering very often. Neighbour’s sunflowers are gorgeus! And even summer is really busy time, we managed to squeeze time for a lovely dinner with friends …

dinner in crete

Best summer dinner: sea food, wild greens, white wine! Καλη ορεξη!

Let’s go to see all the links at Jessica’s ‘Selvage Along’! I’m linking also in my favourite linky parties: buttons on my sidelist.

teje's selvages

Thank you for stopping by! Wishing you wonderful summer days and fun with selvages! I’m just finishing the secret quilt project and hope to start soon quilting by hand the ‘Scandic Scene’ quilt.

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

25 thoughts on “Selvages

  1. You have already a huge number oselvages! I am collecting them for only a short time but because I don’t buy yardages very often I have only short pieces. Looking forward to your projects!

    • Thank you Annett! Don’t worry about small pieces. Most of mine are also short because I by often fat quarters. Even the smallest piece is precious when there is cute little pictures and text! x Teje

  2. Hi Teje, normally I don’t save the selvages, but there is point to do so. Starting from next time I shall get an extra box for the selvages (as if I didn’t have so many boxes with different scraps already). That meal looks delicious!! Greetings from very hot Spain, Barbora

    • Thank you Barbora! Selvages are fun and I love the bag Judith made! It’s very hot also here and today I closed one of the 3 doors in the shop to help the air condition to work well. I’m looking for autumn. x Teje

  3. You have the most beautiful collection of selvedges! So pretty

  4. Your selvages are so pretty! I can’t wait to see what you come up with for them.

    • Thank you Cathy! I really like the bag Judith made, but I’ll wait to see what other ideas there will be in the selvage along. x Teje

  5. Great inspiration for ironing and storing the selvages in a better way than I do. I’m in the selvage-along to, hope to make something cool.

  6. That is a great way to keep your selvages from collecting dust! Plus they look a lot prettier and are easier to dig through when they are folded like that. Thanks for linking up with the Selvage Along!

  7. Your selvedges are beautiful T! I keep mine in a large, old-fashioned sweetie jar! I’ve just finished and blogged about my denim & selvedges bag – great timing for Jessica’s linky party! Jxo

  8. You have a pretty collection of selvedges, Teje and that sew along sounds like fun! It’s been awhile since I’ve made anything with my selvedges and what could be more delightful than sewing along with friends. :o)

    Oh, your garden is a sweet oasis of green!

  9. Looks like a fun project!

  10. I am saving my selvedge edges for a project. Not quite sure what it will be yet. Your collection is REALLY impressive. I found you on Let’s Bee Social!

    • Thank you Anne! I haven’t used much mine, too because I like them so much and I want to save them for something special. x Teje

  11. So much selvage-y goodness! I like how you leave a generous amount of the print showing. It gives one lots to work with in their selvage projects!

    • Thank you so much Jenn! I cut about 2″ for the selvages because I don’t know how I shall use them and to see the fabric, too. x Teje

  12. I love sewing with selvedges, Teje…….you have gorgeous collection of them there to work with!
    Happy weekend!
    Helen xox

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

