Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

AWARD AND GIVE AWAY!

97 Comments

Hello Dear Friends! I hope you are fine! These last days I have been nominated by several blog friends for the ‘One Lovely Blog’ award. Thank you so much! I do appreciate and I’m happy to see that you enjoy your visit in my blog!

one-lovely-blog[1]

Thank you ‘Pink Doxies’, ‘Charly & Ben’s Crafty Corner’ and ‘Val’s Quilting Studio’, for nominating my blog! You would be in my ‘list’ if you hadn’t already received this award!

I think best way to celebrate this award and to thank you for being there, reading my blog and writing so lovely comments, is to have lovely fabric give away!

give away bundle

I picked these Fabrics from my stash. They are all my favourites, random size pieces + two little pieces with Moomins.

fabrics

Now I’m supposed to tell you 7 things about me, that you might not know:

1. I started my First sewing business when I was 11 years. With my girlfriend we started to make custom order hats. We couldn’t find a cap with long peak, so we decided to make them on our own. Then we got orders from family/relatives to make their favourite hats.

2. My First Paper piecing Project was ‘Fantasy Forest’ quilt. I had never tried Paper piecing because it just felt too difficult, complicated and I thought that huzzling with all the papers and details doesn’t feel very much fun and creative. How wrong I was! When I saw the First block: woodpecker for the Forest QAL, I knew that I have to make and finally I made most of the blocks and the whole quilt!

3. I’m perfectionist in many things but not in quilting. I love to quilt and make patchwork! That’s fun and creative process for me and I just want to enjoy it every minute, not thinking mistakes or if each seam is in point. I don’t use ripper very often.

4. I had to come to this age to learn to boil eggs! Until now, what ever trick I made, they just couldn’t be shelled well. One day this winter just happened that hb said: let them boil well! Hmmm, does that mean the water should boil strongly? But I thought then the eggs will brake? Okey, I’ll try. And now I boil them strong and they jump up and down and no problem with ‘cleaning’!

IMG_1698

5. When I was young my first summer job was in a dog kennel. Wonderful summer, hard work, amazing dogs and unfortunately even one very bad dog fight (can’t ever forget that). We were there with the same friend that we had the hat-business.

 6. When I was young I was riding, in ballet school, playing piano and violin, had even cuitar – now I prefer silence to concentrate to my quilting and sewing plans!

7. Often things change very quickly in our life. We may plan something but if that doesn’t work, next week we have already new plans. In august 2010 I was thinking that how the people WHO blog, have any time to sew? ‘I couldn’t find time for blogging’! 15th of same August I started my blog (one of the best decisions I have made). I made the decision while swimming because the name: ‘Nero’s Post and Patch’ came to my mind. I thought that if I don’t have enough sewing stories, Nero can help me and write his posts. If I start to do something I really like, I’m very stubborn. I stayed day and night, weeks,  learning to fix everything on my own.

stones

The list for the blogs I want to nominate would be very long. Some of them have been nominated with this award already. So here are some of the Lovely Blogs I enjoy reading (in random order):

Carla’s  “Grace and Favour”

Lucy’s “Charm about You”

Susan’s “Canadian Abroad”

Helen’s “Helen Philipps”

Sarah Elizabeth’s “{No} Hats in the House”

Terri’s “Terri’s Notebook”

Anneli’s “Chromatobalomata”

Vicky’s “Veni Vidi Vicky”

Louise’s “Gephart 836”

Christine’s “Quilting Stories”

Enjoy reading these lovely, delicious blogs!

IMG_1065

GIVE AWAY DETAILS:

Enter by leaving a comment on this post and aswering this question: if you should choose, would you give up quilting or make-up? If this is too hard, tell me your favourite colour couple.

Second chance for followers – leave second comment telling me how you follow.

Give away is open to everyone and until 14th of June 2015. Then I hope Nero and Hanna will help me to pick the winner.

IMG_1185

Once again, here they are waiting just for you!

 Good Luck! I’m looking for to read your answers! I leave you now to make the difficult decision (if you not a quilter, then it’s easy!). Have a wonderful day! Thank you for reading my blog and for the sweet comments you write!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

97 thoughts on “AWARD AND GIVE AWAY!

  1. The Moomins are totally fabulous and would be all that I would be thrilled to receive (if I don’t “win”, I may just have to make other arrangements with you!!!!! LOL!!!). I would do w/o make-up….definitely!!!!! Quilty creativity is the essence of who I am as an artist!!!!!! Congratulations on your award……..so well deserved (also, to Hannah and Nero!!!!)! Hugs………………

  2. Hello Teje ! I’m new in your blog and I like it already!…no, not because of give away, but because here interesting!
    I will choose quilting. ..make-up it’s just make-up, nothing more🙂 But quilting, sewing,… make me happy !
    I love different colors. If you would look at my hand made in my Blog or my Etsy’s store, you would see this!:)

  3. I follow you by email, Twitter and Blogloving

  4. It would be very hard to give up quilting ! Thank you for nominating me for the award! Have a nice week! Anneli

  5. I would have no problem giving up make up, I use so little of it and quite frankly I don’t know how to apply or sweep anything on my face. But quilting, now those are fighting words in my life. I have been hand stitching since I made pocket money as a teenager in high school, so its a long part of my life that I would be very very lost without it.

    Thanks for this give away.
    carli the quilter at gmail dot com

  6. I’m also a follower of your blog and would love to sit with a cold glass of wine to discuss how it is that this is your question. I make the assumption that make up is something that you use and must know how to apply it.

    So maybe a future post would be on how you apply make up, which kinds you choose etc.

    Thanks for this bundle, I hope I win it!

    carli the quilter at gmail dot com

  7. MOOMINS??!!! OMG I LOVED these books as a kid! When I was a young mother, there was a children’s play at The Fringe (live theatre festival) in our city and so I took both my young daughters to see it…think I loved it more! I’ve come across you here and there (through linkups like today :-)) and I think I may just have to follow you!
    As for your question, I’d give up makeup; I wear very little anyways…🙂 Quilting keeps me sane!

  8. And I am now following you on bloglovin’ (btw just love your Scandinavian quilt!)

  9. 🙂 I forgot – I follow via mail!

  10. I don’t have to think long on this question as I didn’t put make-up on for three months and no one seemed to notice.. Could be that I have very nice skin. I could not give up fabric! kthurn@ bektel.com

  11. I am a new follower with email. kthurn@ bektel.com

  12. Well, I don’t wear make up now, so it wouldn’t be hard to give up…quilting, I could never give that up. Since there, was really no contest to my answer, my favorite color couple is lemony yellow and bright orange.
    Thanks for the opportunity to win the bundle…I love the variety!

  13. I also follow you with Bloglovin’!

  14. What a great reward and your blog is super! A little make-up is ok for me..but if I have to choose between make-up and quilting, then it’s easy. QUILTING!!!

  15. What a great fabric bundle. Thanks for giving us a chance to win. Since I am really passionate about quilting, I would do without makeup without hesitation. I just wouldn’t go out very much!!

  16. I would definitely give up make-up rather than quilting. You live in a beautiful place. I love Chania. We holidayed in Kalives twice when our children were small. We’ll have to come back again so we can visit your shop.

  17. Never ever quilting!!! Make up is way over rated!

    How fun learning more about you Teje! From boiled eggs to dog kennels! Keep quilting, blogging and being you!

  18. Ai että luopuisin tilkkuilusta? Ei taida olla mahdollista!

  19. so easy to choose..I’d give up makeup in a heartbeat🙂 Love reading your blog and especially loved the picture in your last post of the African dusty sunset !

  20. I would gladly give up makeup any day over quilting, for me quilting is very relaxing even though I’ve just started quilting this year, never knew I could enjoy it so much. Since I became disabled it’s the one thing I can still do and enjoy.

  21. I forgot to let you know I’m new to your blog but I have enjoyed reading it , I came upon your blog when I joined the quilting community in order to learn more about quilting.

  22. Thank you so much for kindly nominating me, it’s so nice to know you enjoy reading my blog🙂 and congratulations on your nominations!
    I couldn’t possibly live without quilting or make up!! I find both relaxing and consider them ‘my time’. Make up is my way of caring for myself.
    So my colours would be pink or orange with navy or grey! I am completely in love with the Moomin fabric!

  23. Ooh, tough choice! I’d probably have to surrender my makeup though. I’ve been sewing longer. 🙂

  24. I follow you by e-mail. Love your blog and your originality.

  25. I’d gladly give up make-up! Sewing is so much fun! What great fabric in your giveaway!

  26. New bloglovin follower!

  27. I would give up makeup up, easily. I barely wear it anyways.

  28. Make-up but not knitting or sewing! Love the fabrics! Ros

  29. It is easier to give up makeup than quilting as I get older. Less is more on a mature skin!

  30. I have followed on Bloglovin for some time.

  31. No question makeup. I can’t live without my fabric, thread and machines. I always tell my family when I die to not get a casket but one large moving container and put all my fabric, thread and machines in with me so I’ll have a head start in heaven. Lol

  32. Congratulations…a lovely blog, indeed!

  33. Loved learning more about you, Teje. Thinking that #2 is even more amazing considering you won first place with your first go at paper piecing (I remember that quilt well – I loved & admired your fabric choices and beautiful blocks).

    How lucky we all are that you decided to take the leap into blogging back in 2010 – cannot imagine blogland without you and your lovely blog. :o)

    I could give up make-up, but not quilting! ;o)

  34. Sorry I missed the draw. Congratulations on your win! Giving up make-up would defiantly be easy, however giving up quilting would be devistating. We all need something to be passionate about and this is my passion. I’m kind of new to blogging, not sure how to “follow” someone in particular.

  35. I could give up make up so much easier than I could give up quilting.
    Love the Moomin fabric, we used to read the books to our children 25 years ago and we have started to read them to the grandbabies now!

  36. Pingback: 47 Candles | Terri's Notebook

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

