Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Design wall on Thursday

27 Comments

Hi dear Friends! Thank you so much for all your lovely comments! I’m so happy you like and follow my scandinavian Project. This morning my design wall looks like this …

scandinavian quilt project

I like to see in the mornings the light-shapes that still closed shutters create. Do you think I could quilt snow on this quilt?

Here is a small trick now as the quilt will be bigger than my design wall. The upper part which is now ready, is half under the lower part. I started to think even myself, how this looks so strange in this photo?!

scandinavian quilt on design wall

I had made stright decision not to add any orange/yellow/Red to this quilt. Then finally the black cloud over my head turned to grey and I was ready to make sun to my quilt. But it was not ment to happen as I hadn’t washed those colours. So this will be pale, winter scene without sun and perhaps it will snow over this quilt.

new fabrics

Yesterday the cloud was finally white again … I received the ‘sky’ for my Hillside Houses quilt. Most likely that has to wait until autumn but I enjoy having it in my mind. Also those solids are for those houses.

blue sky white clouds

Today finally sky is blue again and clouds are white. Last days weather was strange here. We had thunder and even rain with African dust, so you can imagine how the Windows look now …

sunset

Sunset from my bed, through my african dusty window.

Thank you for stopping by! I have enjoyed catching up with you and hope to see you soon! As you may have wondered, I took ten days off to make a quilt … that’s what quilter does when there is nothing else she can do. Thanks to You, quilting and my fabric stash: I’m ready to start all over again.

I have been nominated by several friends with ‘One Lovely Blog’ award and I’m preparing ‘my list’s’ with something else.

Have a wonderful day!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

27 thoughts on “Design wall on Thursday

  1. Once again Teje your design wall looks fabulous. I like the light hitting it through the blinds ; )

  2. Hi Teje, the light shadows are fantastic! Your quilt creates the atmosphere which reminds me Lapland. The colors are great and it seems like your quilt is covered with this special blue called “sininen hämärä” as they say and you can see it on the afternoons in Lapland during the winter when the sky reflects on the snow and the sun is hiding! Now you understand I LOVE your work! You are so talented!

  3. Your quilt is beautiful, Teje! The light-shade has great potential for a hand quilting idea indeed! Can’t wait to see what you will come up with!

    • Thank you Maryse! This is First time I really can’t wait to finish this quickly to see how it will look quilted! x Teje

  4. The sun shining through the slate on to the quilt looks lovely. It is funny how the weather can affect us and our creativity. Happy for the blue skies and white clouds! Enjoy the change in the weather.

  5. What a beautiful project. The colors you have chosen are so perfect together.

  6. I love your quilt design. To me it reminded me of Swiss houses on a snowy mountain. It’s beautiful.

    • Thank you Louise! Something like that i had in my mind. In Finland and Denmark there are no High mountains so the lowers are for them and the higher for Norway and Sweden. Have a lovely day! x Teje

  7. Hi Teje, the quilt design you have on the wall looks great! I love those light coming through too.

  8. The light coming through the window does look like snow on your design wall! I love all the polka dots and different shapes, everything is interesting to look at on your wall.🙂

  9. Hei Teje! Työsi on todella kaunis, tykkään kovasti sen rauhallisesta tunnelmasta! Mukavaa viikonloppua!

  10. Oh my goodness this is going to be stunning! I love your work, always so fresh and original in design. Again I am inspired!

  11. that is looking spectacular Ms Teje!!!!

  12. Your design wall is like beautiful artwork!

  13. I am so in love with that quilt! The photo with the sun hitting it through the shade is gorgeous Teje! You have given me lots of inspiration today! Thank you!

    • Thank you so much Jayne! I do appreaciate your lovely comment! You are so talented and I find always inspiration from your Works! x Teje

  14. Oooh I hadn’t seen this quilt on your blog before and am now realizing what a beauty it is going to be! Looking forward to seeing more! Happy sewing!

    • Thank you so much! This quilt top is almost finished but now I had to take it down to work with very fun, secret project. Hope to continue this soon. x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

