Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

New Scandinavian quilt project

21 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! I have a NEW quilt in process! After making some space to my sewing room, I’m feeling a little bit better while starting again from “a clean table”.

my sewing room

Before starting I had to shower my NEW Fabrics. But before braking these cute bundles, I took few last shoots …

new fabrics

Fabric details:

Solids: ‘Scandinavia’ from Oakshott Fabrics (give away win from Leanne ‘She can Quilt’)

Prints: ‘Notting Hill’ from ring a roses by Gunther (give away win from Annett at ‘Knetty Craft’)

Light demin: present from Judith at ‘Just Jude’

IMG_1002

And then off we go to the shower! And after that out for a sunbath …

fabrics

Oakshott Fabrics are woven with two different colours of threads and look how the colour change when are wet!

fabrics

I’m so happy that I got these two fabric bundles in same time – thank you again! Oakshott solids are gorgeus but I didn’t have any idea what Special I could make with them. I haven’t used much solids yet and also these beautiful light colours are different than my usual palet. When I looked these bundles together I realized that they match perfectly!

fabrics

Once again seems to be that everything happens for some meaning … in a mood I am now, I couldn’t work with energy, bright, happy fabrics, so this calm, lightful, almost low volume collection is just what I need now. When looking for something else to add to this quilt, my eye picked the Honeycomb bundle that I had purchased while ago. I chose colours to match and left out orange/red/pink.

I had in my mind to use some low volumes for the background and made last evening test blocks …

retangle triangles

Looking for ideas from my Pinterest Board: ‘Quilt Inspiration’, I started to lean to triangles (once again, it’s my favourite quilting shape). As I don’t want to make a repeating pattern but some how different kind/size blocks, I thought these retangle triangles would be great. And I do like them a lot, but I didn’t enjoy making them.

retangle triangles

Other question is if I like the low volume for background? When leaving it like this at night, I wasn’t excited at all. Then at night I was thinking, once again, white is missing! Could you make a Scandinavian quilt without snow?! So in the morning I felt better because I knew how to continue: follow my instinct! When ever I don’t do that, it’s a big mistake!

triangle blocks

So white is on the table! From the prints I cut as big squares as possible by the meaning to get the most of these Special Fabrics. I shall make different kind of triangle blocks in different sizes. Most likely I shall use also those low volumes.

triangle blocks

Some names in my mind: Scandic Scene, Scandinavian Days, Scandinavian Scale

And just for fun …

fishing boat

I’m linking at ‘Pet Project Show’ at Julie’s blog: ‘Pind Doxies’!

Thank you for your visit and wonderful comments!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

21 thoughts on “New Scandinavian quilt project

  1. This is an awesome harmony of soft tune. I love oakshott cottons! I am eager to see the progress of this quilt! Have a great sewing week-end!

  2. Oh, Teje, those Oakshott fabrics are wonderful and I know you will combine them in a unique and beautiful way. I like how your triangle doesn’t go edge to edge, more like a tree with sky above it. Your studio looks so tidy, mine is a mess and there’s a furry person under every table and chair! Can’t wait to see the progress. Hugs from your cousin

    • Thank you so much Sonja! It’s great to have friends in the sewing room. I have there usually Hanna and I need to step over hew as the room is small. You can’t imagine how the last weeks has been here, so much has happened but I haven’t had Energy to write to anyone. Enjoying to concentrate to quilting these days. Hugs! x Teje

  3. These are so pretty! The soft prints are different for you but whatever you make will be beautiful

  4. A clear table and oakshott fabric with perfect partners – lucky lady!!!! Xx

  5. Hi Teje! Nice meeting you and thank you for your support for my Steps III Quilt over on BQF.
    I love what you are doing here with pattern and color scheme and I’m sure this is going to look wonderful!

    • Thank you so much Pasqualina! I just posted photo from my almost full design wall. Can’t wait to start to join the blocks. I really like this. Have a great week! x Teje

  6. Ihania kankaita Teje! Etenkin Notting Hill -pakka on todella kaunis. Jään odottelemaan, mitä niistä syntyy. Mukavaa viikkoa sinulle!

    • Kiitos Leena! Tykkaan itsekin tosi paljon ja yks kaks yllattaen onkin jo design wall melkein taynna. Laitoin just kuvan blogiin. Hyvaa viikkoa sinullekin! x Teje

  7. Teje, I like the feel of your blocks so far. I completely agree with you when you have something in mind, and then deny it at first. Sometimes a project just has to brew until the whole thing surfaces, too. I think you’re spot on here. Enjoy your process, and also a clean studio.

    • Thank you Julie! You’re right, if it doesn’t look or feel right, don’t try to dontinue but find a NEW path…goes for other things, too, not only quilting. PS. you should see how the next room looks now. x Teje

  8. Those soft colours and prints look just lovely. Hope you’ve had a relaxing weekend in your sewing room. And what a great idea to wash the fabrics in the shower!

  9. I am so happy about those “wins” as this one is going to be stunning! I know I’m coming at this in reverse time (I have already seen your design wall progress=LOVE!!!!!) but love to go through the planning process with you. Those triangles (each one so different) make it so interesting! I am not liking triangles either but the various sizes are so very nice!!!!. Is this confusing??? I know I’m commenting on both posts here!!!!! LOL!!!! Hugs, dear “Mediterranean Friend”!!!!!!!

    • Thank you so much Doreen! This is so enjoyable Project – couldn’t have guessed in the beginning where it leads me. Now I have made few drunkard’s path blocks, too and started to se the blocks to bigger blocks. Fun! x Teje

  10. Thank you for making Scandinavia look so evocative!

  11. Pingback: Scandinavia in Greece | Shotthrough

  12. This is going to be a stunning quilt!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

