Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

New business bag!

36 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! I was thinking to title this post ‘bag business’ but then realized that in fact it is a business bag…

big tote bag by tejesarita

… because I made it to use at work. I carry always many things with me + materials for projects to make at work, so I need big bag It’s better to have everything in one than to carry many bags

IMG_0694

This was the beginning of the Project. As you see I changed again my mind and didn’t use the burlap for outside pocket as I have thought. I prefered not to cover this very Special linen with angels.

IMG_0703

This was the next ‘material collection’. Finally all the Materials I used were from friends, so this is also Special ‘friend’ bag! Blue angel linen is a present from a dear friend and I have saved it for a Special Project. The same goes with the dark, thin, denim cotton, present from Judith. For the lining I used also fabric from a friend.

IMG_0704

I found this tool very useful to make the seam allowances flat. I have found the tool from my mother’s painting BOX and I guess it has belonged to my grandfather.

hexagons

Fortunately I had these Super cute hexagon templates from Annett, because my hexagon BOX was at work.

IMG_0706

Usually I make lots of pockets, zippers, details after details and need endless hours to finish the bag. This time I decided to keep it simple. No pockets, just zipper to close the bag and that’s also in easy way, sewn on with the binding.

IMG_0707

Long time ago this ‘stuff’ was supposed to become a ‘2 in 1’ make up bag. Now I shall make a clutch bag with them. That will be a handbag for the small things in the big tote.

hand quilting

Only small details in this bag are the hexagons and the loop for bag charms. Finally my Special bag charms are on my bag: Moomin from Mia and bag charm with sewing machine and scissors from Jane.

IMG_0751

Thank you so much dear friends – as Mia said, you are now everyday with me!

big tote by tejesarita

Now furry friends are waiting for me, so I have to go. Thank you for stopping by and for your sweet comments about our NEW shop! I hope to make few more bags like this and I have already some ideas for my beautiful, NEW Fabrics.

big linen tote by tejesarita

Have a wonderful weekend!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

36 thoughts on “New business bag!

  1. I am always so in love with you handwork. You have so much patience and such tiny stitches!

  2. What a gorgeous bag, Teje! It is so stylish, with lovely details and colours. You are very talented! I love that you have the moomin from Mia on it and the sewing charms from Jane! I am using the text print fabric basket you made me a long time ago on my sewing table….I still love it and so admire your sewing skills.
    Happy weekend.
    Helen xox

    • Thank you so much Helen! I’m so happy to hear you still like the basket. If I remember right, I found you from Mia – so great that we all know each others! I wish you lovely weekend! x Teje

  3. Aivan ihana kassi! Ja miten kätevää, että ystävät ovat aina mukana. Sisnien ja valkoinen ovat ihan paras pari.

    • Kiitos Marle! Sininen ja valkoinen ovat aina lempipari ja varsinkin tuollainen ‘haalistunut’ farkku sininen. Luulen etta tasta tulee kesan lempparikassi. Hyvaa viikonloppua! x Teje

  4. Blue and white always looks good together. What a lovely way to put all of your friends’ treasures together 🙂

  5. A really lovely bag!

  6. Teje , your bag is very beautiful! I like your fabric choice, it is very harmonic. And I love those stitches, you are very talented. Have a nice weekend! x Anneli

    • Thank you Anneli! Just came home carrying my bag (wasn’t big enough today to fit everything). Now I should find time to make the clutch bag to get this tote organized. Happy weekend! x Teje

  7. Hello dear Teje,

    This is a truly wonderful bag, all from fabrics to the design and decoration is so well though and chosen. This bag will make you smile when you use it, and that is one of the most important things when choosing a bag (well it is nice if all you need to carry fits in but you get my point 🙂 dear friend) – I am happy to be part of it!

    Lovely and sunny (hip hei, it shines here too even snow has been “promised” for tomorrow but let’s not thing about that quite yet) Saturday to you all!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you so much Mia and Special thanks for the blue Moomin which is the cherry on the cake! I have already plan for the second bag with my Myy! I do hope you don’t get more snow and the weather will be warmer and sunny! Happy weekend my friend! x Teje

  8. It’s very pretty Teje. The hexagons are the perfect touch ; )

  9. Niin kaunis väritys! Kassi varmasti kulkee mukanasi niin kauan kuin kestää.

    • Kiitos Leena! Luulen etta arvaat oikein. Tykkaan kankaasta tosi paljon kuin myos kaikista lisukkeista. Hauskaa viikkoa sinulle! x Teje

  10. What a lovely ‘friends’ business bag!

  11. Love the heagon handles – really soft looking fabrics!

  12. I’m loving that beautiful business bag! Such pretty fabric and a great style! Ros

  13. What a cool bag, Teje … and of course I loved to see that you used the hexies 🙂 … I like such old crafting tools like your grandfather’s… I suppose it is (was) a paint roller (a tool to put printing colour on a printing block), wonderful that you can use it for flatten the seams now.

    • Thank you so much Annett! Your hexy templates are Super cute! I don’t know exactly the story of the paint roller, but my mother may have done some Printing. x Teje

  14. What a sweet new bag you made from those beautiful fabrics. You work magic on that bag! My dad was a painter. The roller you found is for rolling the seams on wallpaper. When you hang two lengths side by side, you have them slightly overlap. The roller presses the edges to make them butt up against each other.

    • Thank you so much Lorna! Ah, yes, I remember seing that with the wall Paper. What a great tool for many Works! Wall papers are so wonderful but not very common here; I guess because of the climat and humidity. Have a lovely day! x Teje

  15. Neat bag! Well done!

  16. What a lovely bag. I’m sure you’ll get lots of use out of it. Thank you so much for linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday.

  17. Beautiful bag Teje!

    Love the Moomin too. 🙂

  18. Blue and white is always dreamy! Your details and fabric usage is what makes this so extra special! AND I can’t forget your handsome blue moomin!!!! Many hugs……..

    • Thank you so much Doreen! Little Moomin keeps me happy company every day and I like my NEW bag very much! Have a lovely day my friend! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

