Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Welcome to my sewing room!

52 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! I’m happy to welcome you to my NEW sewing room! Just wish I could offer you apple pie with coffee!

Teje's sewing room

When you come to my sewing room, this is the First sight you have from the door. Room is not big but everything is now in order and it’s quite practical to work. I did a lot of thinking in the beginning and ended up to put the table in the middle. I have always my sewing machine on the leftside and the cutting place on the right, so like this the electricity cable comes easily from the back wall.

Teje's sewing room

There is very narrow window and the door to the balcony. I thought that how ever I put my table, I can’t see much out, so I prefer to have the wardrope behind me and the open selves front of me. Also I can have drawers on the back wall as the wall on the right side doesn’t has space for them. If I’m here, Hanna is here!

Teje's sewing room

On the wall are now my two challenge quilts. My First quilting challenge was ‘Nero’s Garden’ (free pieced animals from our garden and neighbourhood) on the right. The latest challenging quilt project was ‘Fantasy Forest’ (paper pieced forest animals) on the left side. They don’t really match together but ‘Nero’s Garden’ was long time in the store so I like to see it for a while. Then I will put there ‘Happy Days’ quilt.

Sorry but you are still on the door … please step in!

Teje's sewing room

From the balcony door you see all this … I have fixed my table with an old table from our taverna, old drawers also from our taverna and the white board on them. I like to have white table to see well the colours. Material is slippery, so Fabrics move easily on it and it’s easy to clean. The drawer is filled with my painting stuff.

Teje's sewing room

Around my sewing machine I have most needed little things, on the opposite selves quilting Fabrics, quilting books, boxes for selvages, bindings, 3,5″ Project etc. Some yarns that are the latest projects (and didn’t fit in the big drawer in the other room). Behind the pillows on the right, there is my ‘GO Baby’ cutter machine. I wish I had more often time to make projects with that. The door is my inspiration board. There I have my Quilter’s Calendar and Moomins Calendar + inspiration pictures.

Teje's sewng room

On the table I have the most needed tools: rulers, bobbins, scissors, cutters, pins and wonder clips … and one BOX with mixed stuff (should clear up that BOX). Mostly I use these big spools of cotton thread. I keep my other threads in the white drawer on the left side from the sewing machine, near but safe from dust and light.

Teje's sewing room

There are also the ribbons, zippers, buttons, other small supplies, stamping things and some leathers. When we moved in, I was really happy to see these drawers in the wardrope; I knew they will be very practical and I like the white material. My Perle 8 threads for quilting are in chocolate tins. Perfect size for the little balls and easy to take with me if I stitch some where else.

threads

Scrap BOX which happens to fit over the BOX with ready cut men’s shirts. I fact I don’t have a lot of scraps because I use them all the time. Also I consider as a scrap only very small pieces. Some Special scraps are in an other BOX,  stripes and whites are also separate.

scraps

My quilting Fabrics are in plastic storage boxes by colour (mainly). I used to have them just folded, as big as possible to avoid much ironing. You have seen that many quilters fold them so that you can see all the Fabrics by one look. I just fixed my Fabrics like that and it’s absolutely the best way. I have lots of small pieces and so many sizes of Fabrics that I didn’t fold them for exact size, just so that they fit nicely in the BOX.

quilting fabrics

Now I have fixed the colours but need to fix still the other boxes: white/low volume, MIX, other (linen etc.), Special and solids.

quilting fabrics

Then finally we turn back to the door. This is perfect design wall as there is no space for any furniture and it’s easy to use and look from my chair. I have coverd the boards with fleece. Even I have the door open in summer, Fabrics don’t fly away because they will be behind the door.

Teje's sewing room

Next to the design wall I have a Board with Special cards and little things from friends. On the stool some quilts are waiting for a label to go to the shop. On the design wall there is my latest project: ‘Milky Hearts’ in aqua. And then there was the ‘Milky Hearts’ in pink …

design wall

And what about the wardrope? It’s filled with … you guessed right … with fabrics, other materials, waddings,  and finished things for the shop. Only small difficulty is the ironing Board. If I want something from the wardrope, I have to move it. but I didn’t find any solution for this (yet). After the busy summer I may think again and do some changes … but I think my room works well now concidering how much I have managed to fit in the small room. I’m very happy with my new sewing space and enjoy being there. It looks normally very much like this except the table which is often over loaded with Projects and Materials. Now just finishing the ‘Milky Hearts’, I collected those materials to be ready for the new ones.

Teje's sewing room

As you can see two baby quilts are still waiting to be quilted. I find it hard now to share my time and to decide which works should be done first etc. I’m thinking that hand quilting can be done also later in the shop so perhaps you will find me there stitching those quilts.

Thank you for your visit! I’m so happy you came to see where I sew now! So I shall then drink the coffee on my own … without apple pie … hope you enjoyed your visit and come back soon!

I’m linking: ‘Tuesday Archives’ at Val’s Quilting Studio, ‘Fabric Tuesday’ at Quilt Story, ‘Sew Cute Tuesday’ at Blossom Heart Quilts, ‘Linky Tuesday’ at Freemotion by the River, ‘Let’s be Social’ at Sew Fresh Quilts, ‘Needle and Thread Thursday’ at My Quilt Infatuation

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

52 thoughts on “Welcome to my sewing room!

  1. Look at all that thread! What a beautiful sewing room. You have created a wonderful space to enjoy yourself in.

  2. Your sweet room is as I had imagined…….bright, sunny and happy! The pristine white is the perfect backdrop for all your lovely projects and colorful supplies (I use see-through totes for sorting my fabrics, also! Pure inspiration!!!!). A small cozy space—-just my style, too!!!

    Enjoy your coffee—-minus the apple pie—–and I’ll come back another time!!! Hugs………

  3. Light, bright and very practical – a perfect work space. A good idea to use the white board across the drawers and taverna table to make a work table. I may copy that idea.

  4. Thank you for letting us see your creative space. Everything looks so pretty.

  5. So bright and cheery and full of color! Visiting from Val’s Quilting Studio

  6. Beautiful, bright, inspiring and refreshing Teje! How fun to see your work displayed throughout the room!

  7. Oh, it’s big! Comparing to my tiny space is like a President apartment:) and you’ve got so many interesing things there!

  8. I’ve been waiting for this post! (SMILES!) I knew you were moving and just spent my morning cup of tea before work enjoying my tour of your new room! I too love all your natural light! And it’s complete with Hannah basking in the sun by the door!

  9. Cute and everything at your fingertips ready to be used, love it!

  10. Ihana, valoisa, eloisa ja ihan kaikkea! Ja kaikki niin paikallaan kuin vain voi. Upea studio sinulla on. Nyt on helppo ymmartaa, miksi sinun kaikki tyot ovat niin valoisia. Ei tuommoisessa tilassa voi valmistaa mitaan synkkaa. Minakin otan nyt kahvia suppilovahveropiiraan kanssa : )

  11. So bright and cheery! You are one lucky quilter ; )

  12. Wow! I love seeing others quilting/sewing spaces. You have really put a lot of thought into your space and made it work. Very well thought out!

  13. What a lovely space you created, everything looks so tidy and organized. It’s always interesting to see other’s working areas. Thanks for letting us in!

  14. Love your sewing room, especially the bright cheerful colors and the natural light. Nicely done!

  15. Oh, I just love your new space with those two beautiful quilts on the wall . Nero’s garden is my favorite because of the little story that he tells. Natural light and a door to open to a balcony, just perfect. I sure would love to have a look see at all the fabrics. Never get tired of admiring someone’s stash . Having Hanna nearby is the best. The only time my furies act like they have good sense is when they come into my sewing studio. They each have a place and they stay right there. Thank you for sharing your charming space. Hugs to you all Sonja

  16. Such a bright and inviting space you have created… great job! I also have my tables in the middle of the room and love it. After sewing in corners my whole life I love being out in open space. Sometimes it’s the small things that make such a difference.

  17. Hi Teje. Wow! What a great studio, and so tidy and organised. My studio is big and a chaotic mess with all my different quilty and other crafts. Of course I am not working here. Just playing really ,as I am lucky to be retired. We did have a quilt supply shop in this space for some years, but now it is my playroom where I can create to my hearts content.
    I love reading about your life and your lovely quilting projects. Blessings, Trills.

  18. What a lovely colourful workroom! Hope you will be very happy in it and make lots of lovely new things:-)

  19. It’s a brilliant, light and airy space T! We will be expecting wonderful things coming from this room! Enjoy! Jxo

  20. Hello! I found your link on Paulette’s blog. Thank you for sharing your sewing room. It is so fresh and pretty, and the arrangement looks so workable. I would guess that the natural light from behind as you sew would be better than facing the light which could glare in one’s eyes.
    Happy Sewing!
    I will visit again.
    Linda in California, USA

  21. Wow, I love all the white and the wonderful natural lighting. Your fabric is so pretty all organized.

  22. What a wonderful room!!!!

  23. Wow! Fantastic! It looks great – very inspiring to work in.

  24. What a beautiful sewing room–so bright and organized! I do not have a place for a design wall in my room–so jealous of yours.

  25. A beautiful sewing room, Teje with a spot for everything. And so much light coming in. It would be a joy to just sit in there.

  26. What a great space! I’m moving out of the living room into my own studio space soon and love seeing yours for inspiration. Your quilts are beautiful too.🙂 http://www.quiltartbymegan.com

  27. Hello dear Teje,

    What a lovely, happy room! I love white&color together, makes the space look so bright and sharp but all your wonderful pieces get shown. And wow, there really is a place for everything (I smiled so wide for that one BOX you would need to sort!), mine is such a mess compared to this.

    You will be so happy creating your lovely, colorful pieces at that happy room, and just as you said: I wish I could visit you!

    Happy last week of February!

    Yours,
    Mia

  28. What a wonderful sewing room you have created, Teje! It looks so beautifully organised and colourful, with everything you need! I am sure it is a lovely place to work and create your gorgeous makes.
    Happy week!
    Helen xox

  29. Wow! what a wonderful room. I’m very envious. It looks so light and sunny too🙂

  30. I always like to look at others sewing rooms so when i saw your link at Sew Fresh quilts I had to come and look – you have so much room and are lucky to have it. One question when sitting at your sewing machine do you find your machine too high and do you sit on a cushion so you are higher –

    • Thank you Karen! Table is too high for sewing machine and I should buy office chair. Or I could lower the table and just fix the other end of the borad to be as high as the drawer. x Teje

  31. Visiting from Lets Bee Social, great space!

  32. What a beautiful sewing room, Teje! You’ve so thoughtfully organized the space so that it’s cozy while being bright and inspiring. I’m so happy you have such a lovely space to be creative in and continue to make all sorts of lovely things.
    Thank you for the wonderful tour! Here’s to many happy hours in this pretty room doing the things that you love. :o)

  33. Your room is bright and beautiful. I love all the white. Thank you for the tour. My ironing board also moves around as needed. It is worth it to have everything else where it is.

  34. Loved your sewing room and enjoyed looking at your projects on the walls – happy quilting🙂

  35. What a fun and functional room! Congratulations!

  36. visiting from Lets Bee SOcial linky…love your room! Usually people have the shabby chic-y kind of room, which I love, but yours is so different and bright and airy and I’d really enjoy sewing in your room! Would make me feel like I am creating!
    Cheri
    http://www.fabricandmemories.blogspot.com

  37. Thank you for having me over for a visit in your pretty sewing room, Teje. Such pretty pictures and so many beautiful things to see. Wish I could share a coffee break with you. I’ll bring the pie!

  38. Amazing sewing space! Thanks for the tour.

  39. Your room looks like a delightful place to work — someday I’ll be that tidy?!?!

  40. What a wonderful new sewing studio you have!!!! Bright, colorful, inspiring… and ORGANIZED! I would love to spend time in there and never come out!

  41. What a lovely, bright space; you must be so pleased! It’s so nice to look at! Happy sewing@

  42. What a happy looking space! Not one wasted inch, and so colorful. It must be a joy to work in.

  43. You are wonderfully organized

  44. Voi miten kauniiksi ja toimivaksi olet työhuoneesi saanut! Ja tuo valo! Tuolla on hyvä tehdä töitä ja luoda uutta.

  45. Oh my word! Your room looks amazing! How lucky you are to have a space where you can have all your essentials set out and left! It looks wonderful. I just love the photo of the boxes of pretty fabric all neatly packed…. such beautiful colours! LOVE! Ros

  46. Pingback: Sew Cute Tuesday: Green - Blossom Heart Quilts

  47. What a beautiful and bright sewing room Teje! Everything is right where you need, thanks for sharing!

  48. Hi Teje, I’m writing to you from California! Your sewing room is wonderful and I really like how bright and cheerful you have made this space. I found your blog from Fabric Tuesday. Very nice to meet you🙂
    Pamela

  49. It looks like a magnificent sewing room – have fun in there!

  50. What a lovely bright space – you’d have to dig me out of there! I am drooling at your lovely collection on Anchor threads, the c odours are heavenly!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

