Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Play mat and radish

34 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! Pick your colour and lets start …

stone game

Haa, did you pick the ‘white’? Looks like you are winning! … or not …

play mat

I think I got this idea when I was on the beach and picked some stones. I was thinking that when someone is on holidays, here or any where, perhaps there are moments they would like to have a little game to play.

play mat for stone game

For example on the beach or hotel room, children (and not only) can be restless when sitting and waiting in the restaurant, airport or car … then this little game can be fun and helpful.

drawstring bag

The play mat comes with a drawstring bag – easy to carry any where – kids can keep in the bag also other things.

stone game

There will be 3 + 3 stones in the bag. But you can play this also with your own finds. Perhaps you find shells from the beach … you see that I have in my mind holidays in Greece. I am making these for Trikimia’s shop which will be open soon. Early spring before the first ‘migratory birds’ arrive, we shall open a beautiful, little shop in Chania’s old town.

nine patch blocks

First few mats I made one by one, but then several in ‘line’. Of course I had to see how they would look as a quilt. Looks very busy like this, but fun. I hope to make a quilt soon to enjoy my new design wall!

radish sandwich

As I’m writing this, I’m having coffee with radish sandwich … so here you are! Yesterday our neighbour gave to us some radishes from their garden. I think radish is the most cute vegetable!

radish

I really like also the crisp taste of them … and the colours …

radish

Speaking about crisp … it has been really crisp and cool here …

hail

Last week we had several hail-showers! It was an unique experience to pick lemons while it was hailing! Hb made fish soup and needed lemons just that moment. Our lemon tree makes the best lemons, so juicy and without pips.

lemons

You see!  Fortunately today it was much warmer and sunny … perfect for a walk with dear furry friend!

But now I think it’s time to get back to work … there are play mats waiting on my table. I’m happy you liked the clutch bags and Fabrics I used for them. Marimekko’s Fabrics are always beautiful and often fun.

stone game by teje

Thank you for stopping by again, for reading my blog and for your wonderful comments! Welcome new followers, from near and far!

I wish you lovely, creative and warm week! Hope to see you soon again!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

34 thoughts on “Play mat and radish

  1. So pleased you will be opening a shop in Chania soon. I’ll be able to see all your lovely things and meet you too. Nora

  2. A really nuce idea as a little gift for children.
    Greetings, Rike

  3. Great little mat to play on. Love, love radishes, but no-one else in the family does.

  4. Hi Teje. Very cute little play mat. Great idea. I have never had a radish sandwich!

  5. Hi Teje, Very cute playmat, great idea!

  6. Brilliant idea for a patchwork noughts and crosses board. Good luck with your shop.

  7. What a great idea for a little fun bag. And I love the idea of collecting stones or shells on my travels to go with the mats. Too cute!

  8. I love the little bag full of goodness! If I were a child…I would want one!

  9. your play mats are genius!!! Just so fun. will have to make some.

  10. A great idea! Thanks for sharing

  11. Great idea and fun, bright pictures too!

  12. Hauska pelimatto! Tuollainen on tarpeellinen joka huvilalle. Ja nuo sitruunat, ihan tulee vesi kielelle!

  13. What a fun game! Those patchwork squares and bags with smooth stones are so pretty. The red radishes and gorgeous yellow lemons look so yummy, too!

  14. What a lovely project! I think they’ll sell well. Sweet fabrics and a classic game.🙂 http://www.quiltartbymegan.com

  15. An adorable little project, Teje! Love the little bag to store the play mat in. And I love radish too, both to eat and just to look at …such a nice colour!
    Happy weekend!
    Helen xox

    • Thank you dear Helen! Now it’s all about little projects and I miss making quilt blocks. Back to make some pouches. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  16. I always enjoy my visits to your blog Teje and I too, love your little tic-tac-toe game!! Congrats on getting your crafty projects into a shop!! How fun that will be!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

