Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Clutch purse and nine patch blocks

24 Comments

Hello, hello, hello! Instead of just fluffing around the Internet, I thought to show you two more clutch purses I have made.

clutch purse

This one is made with Marimekko’s fabric. Very nice, firm cotton fabric and great colours. It’s made with my own plan. Can be made with one piece or if the fabric is so that you don’t like to have it ‘upside down’ on the cover, then make it with 2 or three pieces.

marimekko fabric

And from behind. Closing will be with magnet. Thank you sis for sending them, didn’t have time yet to sew them (like it takes a lot of time).

clutch bag

The other one is with lovely flower fabric, canvas type. I really like this fabric; I bought it from ‘Eurokangas’ in Finland. Both bags are quilted with threads I got also from my sister.They have gorgeus colours.

leather and thread

I use these threads also for leather bracelets.

Both bags has natural white (unbleached) cotton for lining.

clutch bag

I have cut ten more clutch bags … don’t have any idea when can sew them.

There is now this project with nine patches on my table …

nine patch block

The plan is to fill this basket with drawstring bags filles with mini quilts (?) … more about that later.

IMG_3493

I plan these quite too much, but it’s fun to arrange the colours and to find nice scraps.

IMG_3494

I found some cute pieces to use in the center …

IMG_3495

The weather has be horrible here. Icy cold and terrible strong wind. Raining and almost snowing. Today it’s raining less and we had a great walk with Hanna. Nero went to run and play in Maherida. At home Nero likes to go often to the garden and then he’s digging the wet solid … guess what happens then … his toes and nails are full of dirt and need to be washed. Still he manages to fill the white marmor floor with foot prints … brown.

clutch bags by teje

Now I have to leave you to work with sea glass pendants. Thank you for stopping by and for your sweet comments! Hope to see you soon!

PS. by the way, the little table cloth is finished. Now I just have to find some flowers to fill the vase.

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

24 thoughts on “Clutch purse and nine patch blocks

  1. The clutch purses are beautiful ! And the threads have lovely sweet colors too. I am curious to see what are you going to create with your brightcolor nine patch mini quilts – I am sure it will be something nice! I hope the weather is getting better, stay warm and have a nice evening!

    • Thank you so much Anneli! They said in the news that today it will snow here! It’s freezing cold but no snow yet. 10 years ago exactly these days we got 1 m snow! Have a great day! x Teje

  2. Wonderful clutch bags, love the fabrics.

  3. Your nine patch looks great, I especially love that Moomins fabric … Bring back memories …
    Lovely clutches too.

  4. You have been one productive lady! I’m in love with the Marimekko fabric on your clutch. I hope that one is for you! ; )

  5. Your nine patch blocks are so sweet. and the clutches are fantastic!

    I came over from Kelly’s Needle and Thread Thursday through your link. Please come visit me too.

  6. Love the 9 patches they are so fun! Really like the colours on those leather bracelets

  7. Sweet little clutches! I love the first fabric…way cool!

  8. Tuo Marimekon kangas on ihanaa! Kaunista kädenjälkeä ja herkullisia värejä langoissa.

  9. Love the marimekko fabric, so pretty! That bag is almost as pretty as my grey and lace one! (Still much loved and much admired!) xx

  10. Fun, fun fabrics–as usual. You can’t help but smile when you see them. The clutch is really clever and so pretty. I can’t believe all the “stuffs” you think up and then turn out. I’m always finding dirty garden paw prints–but then I also see my own footprint cuz I didn’t both to change shoes as soon as came in from the garden.

    • Thank you so much Sonja! It’s still very wet here and cold. I have made one small clutch bag with scraps and really like it. Often it’s too small so I thought to make bigger bags. I find these practical. Hugs to you and your puppies! x Teje

  11. Hello dear Teje,

    Lovely clutches, and so special too with Finnish fabrics I would think? LOVE that Marimekko-one! I wish your days are getting back to warmer and more beautiful – sun shines here too and spring is in the air!

    Lovely February-days, dear friend!

    Yours,
    Mia

  12. Love, love, love those pretty clutch purses. The one made from the Marimekko’s fabric is fabulous. What a gorgeous print! Ros

  13. The Moomin troll fabric is beyond fabulous… but that Marimekko clutch is WOW!.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

