Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Table Toppers

14 Comments

Hi Friends! I sit here and listen the strong rain hitting on the window next to me. Today was mixed with rain and sunshine. They say that it may rain many days and perhaps even snow … I hope not.

table topper

Finally I took the time to make table toppers for our ‘night tables’ as we call them in Finnish. I used the ‘Summer Wine’ octagon quilt for a long time on my side table. A while ago hb said that he wants also something on his side table, so I got an opportunity to make NEW for me, too.

ikea fabric

I really like this ikea’s fabric that Vicky from ‘Veni Vidi Vicky’ so kindly sent to me. Thank you again Vicky! I didn’t want to cut it to small pieces and waited to find good idea where to use it so that I could enjoy this fan design. For the table toppers I didn’t want to use too much colours or time to make patchwork, so this fabric was just perfect.

IMG_3510

I cut two pieces 40 cm x 60 cm and basted them with fleece and backing fabric. Then quilted them with waves by machine – no need to mark anything.

machine quilting

View behind the scene …

IMG_3533

For the binding I chose light green. Our bed cover has red, green and white and I don’t want to mix many other colours with that. I’m not very happy with those colours but the cover fabric is very good quality and also practical with dogs, so I won’t buy beautiful white cover and fill the bed with happy coloured patchwork pillows.

IMG_3536

The finished table toppers look fun and fortunately not too different style with the bed cover. And the binding looks more to yellow when it’s seen with the mustard yellow on the center fabric.

table topper by teje

There was a small piece left and it gave me an other idea. Until now the ‘bar’ between kitchen and dining was loaded with different things but now I have managed to empty it (almost). There is nice place for a small table topper to put a vase with flowers or big glass with candle as I have now. So late in the evening I started to play with some scraps and just can’t wait to finish this …

table topper in process

Looks fun, right! I think this evening will be devoted to some scrap sewing!

blue sky

This was the beautiful sky one time today. Twice I saw full rainbow. At the moment in the news they tell how in the mainland it’s very bad weather, cold and snowing. Snowing in Athens. I think I shall go tomorrow to buy few things and then we can stay at home and let it rain and snow. In 2004 we had lots of snow for several days here in Chania and it was quite an experience!

whole cloth mini quilt

If you thought that I sit in that chair and read, guess again. Where ever I put a quilt or something else se soft and comfortable, Nelli makes reservation. This is her daytime place – she enjoyes to sleep there. If sun shines it makes this corner the best. Also she likes to look outside, no matter that she can see only our empty balcony.

table topper

Before I leave you, I have happy news! My dear Finnish friend, Anneli who lives also in Greece, has started a blog! It’s called ‘Chromatobalomata‘! I’m so happy that we can now see her beautiful works, quilts and other crafts! She lives in a beautiful countryside, surrounded by olive trees and mountain view and dogs and cats will step in her posts. Welcome Anneli!

Thank you very much for you visit and lovely comments about the Dala Horse pillow. Have a wonderful week and hope to see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

14 thoughts on “Table Toppers

  1. Hi Teje. The link to your friends blog doesn’t work and I can’t find it when I google. Can you help?
    Your table toppers are so pretty. Lovely feature fabric

  2. That’s a great quick make for a table topper! Jxo

  3. Ihanan valoisat pöytäliinat. Olen aina jotenkin sivuuttanut Ikean kankaat, mutta täytyy ensikerralla katsoa niitä tarkemmin. Meillä paistaa aurinko!!!

    • Kiitos Marle! Tykkaan monista Ikean kankaista vaikken niita kovin usein kaytakaan. Tama on lempparini! Ihanaa kun teilla on aurinkoista! Meilla on todellinen talvimyrsky. x Teje

  4. Very nice work – as always. We have the same weather, snow was not far away from us. The log burner is on as well as the sewing machine. x Barbora

    • Thank you Barbora! Wow, it’s cold now! The wind is freezing and it has been raining almost all the day. Lets remember how in summer we miss the cool weather and rain – right?! x Teje

  5. Your table topper is very pretty, Teje! Nice to see you quilted it by machine. What a wonderful gift of fabric from your friend, Vicky.

  6. Your table toppers are fab. I love the Ikea print which has a lovely mid 20thC vibe. I might just pop down to our local branch in Cardiff.

  7. Hello Teje,

    Lovely new sewing at your yöpöytä (what a word written between all the English, looks pretty😉 Finnish there!)! It looks like your home is getting “ready” little by little, it takes a while after moving (I still have a few boxes…after all that time!). I wish your days are filled with sunshine and happiness!

    Yours,
    Mia

  8. Hi Teje, what a lovely table topper. This rooms looks so sweet, welcoming and soothing. Your beautiful quilt is the perfect spot for that chair.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

