Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Dala Horse Pillow

21 Comments

Hi friends! As I really like horses and Dala horses, I made the Paper pieced Dala Horse. Before Christmas Julianna from “jednoigleg” had a ‘last minute Christmas Sampler’ QAL. She shared beautiful Paper piecing patterns and I promised to myself that I shall make the horse for the First Project in my NEW sewing room.

dala horse pillow

I love little dala horses. I don’t know from wehre the white wooden horse on the right is. Blue and Red dala horses I have bought from the airport. Old days I had to take several flights to go to Finland and when I was waiting in transit, I often bought small, cute thing – souvenir for that trip. These horse I have bought from Kopenhagen even they are Swedish tradition.

dala horses

I should never think that some Paper piecing pattern is easy – then the troubles began and I make mistakes. But I managed to finish my scandinavian horse.

paper pieced horse

Few pics from the process …

paper piecing

paper piecing

paper pieced dala horse

hand quilting

This time I didn’t find inspiration for the quilting. Just couldn’t ‘see it’. So I just stitch some Lines following the horse and the borders. Then some stitching for few details and that’s it.

handmade pillow

If you like to make this horse or other great patterns from this QAL, you find them HERE. Thank you Julianna for sharing these patterns!

dala horse pillow by teje

I’m happy to join this week my favourite linky parties from the blogs: Quilt Story, Blossom Heart Quilts, Freemotion by the River, Sew Fresh Quilts, My Quilt Infatuation – all the buttons are on my sidelist.

Thank you for your visit and lovely comments! Sorry but have to run now to bracelet work …

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

21 thoughts on “Dala Horse Pillow

  1. ~applause~ Beautiful. 🙂

  2. I love the Dala horse design and the colours you’ve made it in really pop!

  3. Hello Teje,

    What a supercute horse – I love red&blue together! Perfectly done!

    I wish your days are not too busy or stressful with all things new – sending you happiness and many greetings from snowy koto-Suomi!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia for your sweet words and wishes! Busy busy, can’t change that, you know how it is. I enjoy little walks with Hanna in the sunshine. I hope you can enjoy the snow! x Teje

  4. That is awesome!!!!! I so love those Dala horses, too. This little corner of the state (of MN) was settled by Swedish and Norwegian immigrants years ago, so I have been greatly influenced by such traditions. Your border fabric is beyond awesome!!!! It picks up on the colors perfectly!!!!! Luv………..

  5. A beautiful cushion, Teje!!! Love the border fabric. It co-ordinates so well with the horse.

  6. It’s very sweet Teje. Great idea to make a pillow

  7. I love Dala horses. You pillow is beautiful and I love your wooden ones too🙂

    -Soma

  8. What a pretty pillow, Teje! The hand quilting adds such a beautiful detail. Looks fabulous!

  9. Nobody Does It Better, as Carly Simon used to sing and nobody puts it together better than you, my friend. Perfect fabrics choices and perfect layout with just the right amount of stitching in just the right places. You make it look easy and I know it’s not. Well done! Sonja

    • Thank you so much dear cousin! On the other hand it’s not easy and then again it’s easy: I felt that these Fabrics were only possibility at the moment. You have been in my mind often; we are so busy now with many things. Hugs! x Teje

  10. I have just started paper piecing this year. That horse is gorgeous. I have a few horse mad nieces and sister in laws. I just have to check it out

  11. Lovely cushion, and such fun fabrics.

  12. You did a fantastic job on the dala horse! I love your fabric choices. Julianna has allowed me to host a quilt along over this year for her patterns and this is one of the ones I’m really looking forward to. That and the nutcracker.🙂

  13. Nyt Ruotsiin markkinointimatkalle! Hieno lopputulos!

  14. Yes! I love your colors too! Always inspired by your use of hand quilting. I like you new header too! (Very springy) I was thinking of creating a blog header that I can change monthly…thought it would be fun to add seasonal pictures like you do.

  15. I love dala horses, they are so colourful and decorative! Your pillow design is beautiful, Teje!
    Wishing you a happy week ahead.
    Helen xox

  16. Oh how I wish I had your imagination and needle skills Teje! The little horse pillow is just beautiful!
    Ros

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

