Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Place mats with letters

24 Comments

Hi! If I don’t show projects when they are fresh, I easily forget them, like the place mats I made for Christmas present. I had so many ideas but that time I was too busy with the moving. I had to go with something that didn’t need too much planning and creating.

yellow patchwork

When I bought these text Fabrics long time ago, I had for some reason my sister in my mind. Fabrics came from Japan and my sister has lived there, so it was a nice connection. Also the texts on the Fabrics were just right for her.

paper pieced letters

To add something to the simple patchwork and to make them personal, I made Paper pieced letters. I really like Paper pieced letters and Kristy’s patterns for them.

paper piecing

Some letters have tiny tiny pieces.

cutting the fabric

Cutting was a challenge. To get the most of the texts and to get somehow nice shapes.

planning the place mat

I picked all my yellow Fabrics and then chose the shades I liked; more to lime and not to orange as I knew they have something in those colours in their kitchen.

place mat patchwork

My opinion is that usually the place mats are a little bit too small. I like to place my glass also comfortable on the mat, napkin and slice of bread. So I made these bigger, thinking that they can be used also as table runners on the side table etc.

place mat

Stitiching is made by hand as most of the times, First some Lines in white and then some in black, too.

hand quilting

IMG_2796

This was fun Project – should make more of these!

place mat

place mat

Tomorrow I’m planning to start in my sewing studio before, or perhaps with my breakfast! We’ll see if I get more done with the new programm and if I’m able to keep it. Lots of pieces for clutch bags have been cut and wait there. Also I started to cut squares, 3,5″ x 3,5″. They are good for many projects.

trimmings

Thank you for visiting and reading my blog! Thank you for your sweet comments! I’m happy you liked my ‘Happy Friday’ photos! If you like to see more photos, not only from sewing, please visit nerospost at Instagram and follow if you like!

I hope you have had a great weekend and wish you happy week!

TEJE

PS. I didn’t buy that cabbage, it was way too big for us. But I was thinking it would have been perfect for a cabbage pie using the leaves as ‘fillo’!

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

24 thoughts on “Place mats with letters

  1. You have such wonderful ideas. You give me inspiration. Love the placemats. Nora

  2. Very nice mats, it looks like putting a puzzle together!!

  3. YES, my sweet sister! Our gorgeous placemats are just so special and beautiful and original!!! Thank you so much for them! Obviously, we couldn’t possibly think of placing anything “smudgy” on them…so I prefer to place these mats far far away from dirty plates and curry dishes! Love you!

  4. oh I love these…and not just because you used sparkly Mirror ball fabric.

  5. Great placemats! Fab colours xx

  6. Brilliant placemats T! I love your choice of fabrics! Good luck with the new programme. Jxo

  7. Those are lovely, and your hand stitching is so nice and even! It is such a great idea to incorporate the letters.

  8. Loved so much your placemats!!!!!

  9. What a terrific gift for your sister! I’m glad you didn’t buy that cabbage–replace fillo with cabbage–I’d never give up layers of flaky dough and butter for a veggie! Sometimes healthy is just too far for me to go, I guess. LOL

  10. Wonderful place mats, Teje! You have such great ideas and make such stylish projects! Wishing you a happy week.
    Helen xox

  11. Great idea – love the letters and the text prints in yellow look gorgeous!

  12. Love the little letters! I’m with you, bigger placemats to prevent crowding!

  13. Beautiful place-mats and love the hand stitching on them!

  14. Lovely placemats…. I don’t know how that text fabric could have sat in your stash. I would have used it up immediately! Love it!

  15. Lovely place mats. I’ve been thinking about that for my next project. http://heathermantz.blogspot.com

  16. I am just starting out on my first patchwork project and I am so impressed by your placemats. I will definitely be following your blog now and I already follow you on instagram xxx

  17. You have a lovely blog here. Beautiful pictures of patchworks and pets.

  18. You are soooo clever! And what neat fabric–I need to shop were you do. I’ll bet your sister loved them. Sona

  19. Love the graphic fabric with the black text!

  20. LOVE these mats for your sister. Very thoughtful gift and cheery in the wintertime.
    with best wishes, Anne—-PlumCreek22

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

