Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘Paint It’ – paper piecing

44 Comments

Hi friends! Today it’s about paper piecing, painting and fabric. I love them so what would be more fun than connect them with patchwork!

paint

Here you see some things I like and enjoy very much: Fabrics, Paper piecing, painting, paint brushes and colours! I’m so happy to know Esther, very talented quilter and artist. When she made the pattern for colour tubes, I knew they will be my favourites! Esther writes blog: ‘i patch and quilt’ and she joined a blog hop with a theme: college. When I saw her colour wheele with paint tubes, I couldn’t believe my eyes. Her post about this Project is HERE.

paper piecing

My Project began from here. Trying to find scraps – as many colours as possible and many shades in one colour. That was difficult and this showed up to be a great Project to see what colours are missing from your stash.

paper piecing

When there began to be nice colour sets, it was difficult to stop finding NEW colour ‘pairs’. You get so hooked to this Project!

scraps

I had a ‘big’ idea for this Project and that’s why I used the white/grey fabric for the background. Now I don’t have any idea how this will continue because somehow I lost ‘the picture’ in my mind and have to make NEW plans. For sure I shall make paint tubes with white background, too – and many of them!

paper pieced paint tubes

Esther’s ‘Paint It’ quilt won the Mini Quilt category in Blogger’s Quilt Festival! It’s fantastic – look for yourself HERE!

Now I’m sure you want to make paint tubes with your colours choises, so visit her Craftsy store to get the pattern. There are also many other great patterns like ‘The Train’! Esther’s patterns are made so carefully and she includes there pages for your colouring plans, for ideas how to use the pattern etc. These paint tubes can be used in so many ways, make a whole quilt or just one for a pouch – and anything between those!

IMG_2454

Now I continue to make paint tubes and wait for a NEW inspiration how to connect them.

paper piecing pain tubes

Fabrics I want to use with these Paper pieced blocks, are from the collection ‘Paint’ by Carrie Bloomston. They are beautiful and fun! Some other colours and prints also available for example at ‘Hawthorne Threads’ and ‘Fluffy Sheep Quilting’.

Paint by Carrie Bloomston

Thank you for stopping by! I wish you a great week! What ever weather you have, try to enjoy it – it’s great to have four seasons! I hope you won’t turn green, but here in Crete we have sunshine, about + 22C and many people enjoy this amazing weather on the beach! I just had a lovely walk with my furry friend and found some sea glass! Fisherman was swimming to find … perhaps an octapus.

Hugs!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

44 thoughts on “‘Paint It’ – paper piecing

  1. What an exciting post, Teje! I love those bright and colourful paint tubes, what a great pattern! The fabrics are all gorgeous too. I am looking forward to seeing more of this project🙂 Your walk with your furry friend in the sunshine sounds wonderful……enjoy your sunny days.
    Helen xox

    • Thank you Helen! I was very excited about this Project but then perhaps didn’t have enough time and lost the idea. Hope to make it well later. Did you see I managed to crochet wrist warmers? (last post). x Teje

  2. I love the gray background!!!!! Yes, Esther is one talented lady (as you are, also, my dear!). The little paint tubes are so wonderful. Can’t wait to see your finish!!!!! Hugs from a very chilly/snowy Midwest USA!!!!!

  3. So fun Teje! Lots of little pieces in there. Looking forward to seeing the finish

  4. Looks like a fun and colorful project. I can’t wait to see what you’ll come up with!

    • Thank you Maryse! It’s really fun to make those paint tupes and try to choose colours for them. I’m happy to have those ‘Paint’ Fabrics for this Project. x Teje

  5. What a great way to play with colors! Love the idea.

  6. Hi Teje – This is just fantastic and so artistic! Your tube combinations are beautiful, the fabric you chose are so great and I can’t wait to see what your new idea will be! I’m going over to Craftsy to buy Esther’s pattern, as I purchased some really neat Spoonflower fabric with a paint sample theme that would look so great paired with some paint tubes: http://www.spoonflower.com/fabric/599310
    We have snow here, but as you say: it is nice to enjoy the four seasons. A walk along the beach with the dogs sounds divine!

    • Thank you so much Lara for your lovely comment and for the link! That fabric is beautiful and fun and so perfect for paint theme! I miss winter and snow, but then I’m also very happy with the gorgeus, warm weather we have here. Have a lovely week! x Teje

  7. Oh Teje, I love this new project of yours. It is so beautiful, as usual so lovely and colorful and the fabrics are amazing and love the pattern you shared too. Maybe one day I will try foundation paper piecing. Both you girls’ posts have been so inspiring. Saving it on my craftsy wish list! Thanks for sharing! Have a great warm week!

    • Thank you so much! You should try Paper piecing, you may be surprised how much fun it is. I thought it wouldn’t be ‘my thing’ but fortunately I tried and I love it. We have a warm , sunny week, I hope you, too! x Teje

  8. This looks like a fabulous new project. Your ideas are also so inspired. Enjoy that sunshine, it is dull and wet here…grrr. Have a lovely week xx

    • Thank you Jane! It’s fun Project! We have amazing weather! Today bright blue sky and really warm. Have to go to the beach with Hanna. Have a great week! x Teje

  9. The paint tubes look so pretty and colourful – a new idea will come or maybe your old idea will return.

  10. Oh the tubes are so gorgeous! Love all of your fabrics!!!
    Thank you for your kind words on the pattern!
    Lots of hugs,
    Esther

  11. Oh this looks like so much fun and will be a wonderful color wheel for your sewing room!!! Looking forward to seeing it when you are finished…but until then, continue to enjoy the fun you are having creating it!!

  12. I saw the paint quilt in the Quilt Festival and it’s amazing. So happy you’re making it, I’m sure it will turn out just as amazing!

    And oh my gosh! I am so in love with the paint chips fabric (second from right). Will you use this as the background?

    • Thank you Vicky! I’m just reading your post about the hearts! I shall MIX some how those Fabrics on this quilt. It’s not going to be colour Wheel but more like painter’s table. Unfortunately this fun Project has to wait now for a while – perhaps better to gather my ideas. x Teje

  13. Wow, what a cool project with the “paint” tubes. Love the fabrics you’re playing with to make the tubes and the backgrounds too. Looks fun to work on!

  14. Teje you look like you are having so much fun with Esther’s beautiful pattern! Now I want to get started on one too! Great colors and stay warm and collect that sea glass!

  15. Wish I was better at paper piecing, your projects are beautiful

  16. I love those paint fabrics and the paper pieced tubes of paint are such a clever idea – I’m not surprised you were drawn to this. It’s looking good.

  17. Love how these look – fun design

  18. I love that combination of the paint tubes with the paint fabric! Truly inspired.😀 And I second – Esther’s patterns are amazing.

  19. This was such a fun post! Thanks so much for sharing. LOVE those paint tubes and your fabric choices.

  20. I loved that Paint It mini quilt on the festival, and am looking forward to seeing your version of the pattern take shape. It looks really good so far. I like your comment about enjoying 4 seasons. I really do enjoy them, but right now where I live, it feels like two–snow and no snow. It’s really to early for that.

    • Thank you JanineMarie! I like this Project also even don’t know yet how it will end up. We have still fantastic weather here in Crete. I love this kind of autumn! x Teje

  21. Boy, you have the best scrap box in the world! Such beautiful colors and those new pieces are the most fun of all. I can’t wait to see you finished quilt–sprinkle in a bit of white and we will see another of your signature beauties. Hugs from your cousin.

  22. These are really lovely, they will make a great quilt!

  23. I love these paint tubes. You have some great scrap fabrics. Beautiful work!!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

