Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

‘Hexy Cubes’ quilt top

36 Comments

Hello dear friends! I hope you are fine! Sometimes we end up with totally different project that the one we start. I’m sure that happens to you, too.

Hexagon Cubes quilt top

Saturday I started to plan something with Paper pieces …

IMG_2523

It didn’t lead yet where I had planned. If I manage to continue that idea, I let you know. Piecing those little half of half triangles was very unpleasant, so I thought to try First with triangles.

triangles

I was happy to be able to use again my NEW Hex N More ruler! This quilt had a name before I started even later I chose an other name. I want to keep the First name for the other Project where I ‘need’ it more. But that’s why I started to pick greens and blues.

hexagons with triangles

First I throw the triangles randomly to my design wall (sorry, no photo of that) but very soon I saw there secondary pattern which I really liked: cubes. Long time I have wanted to make a quilt with cubes but didn’t have any idea on Saturday morning that it was going to be The Day.

cubes

It’s all about colours and how you look! It’s not easy to explain how to look but try to see the cubes. Dark blue is the inside of the cube, green is left side and turquoise/blue is right side. Cubes are in Lines and the light turquoise is the shadow of the cube.

cubes

If you turn it and look from the other side, the green is inside, turquoise is front/left side and blue is right side. Now there is also white cube which has light turquoise ‘bottom’ or shadow. Fun or what?!

hexagon cube

I like the blue to be inside of the cube, so I turned my blocks like this. It’s fun how many shapes there can be found with triangles …

jewel

… diamond, jewel, hexagon, cube …

hexagon cubes

This Project went on again by sections as the ‘Pic Nic on The Beach’ but of course this was much more simple. First I just made some parts and then started to measure how big I want this quilt to be and then added more triangles and white.

This is a baby quilt and measures about 32″ x 42″ with the border.

hexagon cubes quilt top

There are lots of pattern like this with many shapes and secondary patterns on. This is my first make and I love it! In the beginning I wasn’t sure about the colour combination, but now I really like it.

blue green quilt top

We used to Live more close to the airport … but not under the ‘highway’! Now they often pass over our heads …

air plane

… I don’t mind if they don’t make too much noise … it’s nice to think WHO comes, WHO goes, where they go … what hopes they have for their holidays … what memories they Carry home from their holidays … do they come back to stay … as I did!

baby quilt top by Teje

Now have to decide how to quilt this one but First have to find space to baste it.

I’m joining my favourite linky parties – all the buttons are on my sidelist, just click on them to visit the blogs!

Thank you so much for stopping by and for your lovely comments! I wish you great week!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

36 thoughts on “‘Hexy Cubes’ quilt top

  1. I love the hexnmore ruler! I have made several projects using it. This quilt is gorgeous!

  2. I saw the cubes right away-nice discovery!

  3. Love the 3D effect!

  4. There you go with another wonderful quilt! Those cubes are really cool. I have planes to keep me company too. Mine are all landing so not too noisy. As a matter of fact, the first one of the day just arrived. I am taking a page from your book and using more white in my quilting and it is definately a good thing. Hugs Sonja

    • Thank you so much Sonja! White is always good – it makes clours more bright and ‘clean’ and it gives light. When I was painting I always ran out of white becase I add more and more light to my work. I hope you are still painting! Hugs to you my special cousin! x Teje

  5. Beautiful – I love the colours – so fresh!🙂

  6. Gorgeous, Teje! I love the fabrics and the colours…..and the clever optical effects!
    Happy week!
    Helen xox

  7. Your new quilt is almost an optical illusion–from so many angles. Great colors! Do the airplanes bother Nero and Hanna or can they sleep through everything?

    • Thank you Karen! It’s fun how there is many shapes to pick. Normal airplanes doesn’t bother us much – only the army planes make terrible noise and that bothers us and the dogs. x Teje

  8. Hi Teje, a perfect project – as always! Love the colors and the design. Must think about getting the “magic” ruler. x Barbora

  9. Wow Teje this quilt is really amazing the cubes are such a clever visual illusion. I hope those planes don’t go over at night…I’m not sure I could sleep! As you say though I wonder who else might return and make Crete their home as you did? I would love the hear that story one day ;0)Have a lovely rest of the week xx

    • Thank you Jane! It was fun to see how the cubes appeared. I usually mix the colours so this is new style for me. Perhaps one day I tell my story. Have a great day! x Teje

  10. I love the colours T! It reminds me of your sea glass! Good luck with the quilting! Jxo

  11. Hey Teje. Very pretty. I love blue and green together ; )

  12. Very nice it all worked out. I love the colour combination.

  13. That is a clever way to make the cubes out of triangles, Teje. Your baby quilt is so happy and pretty! Glad you are enjoying your new ruler!!!

  14. that turned our really great and not what you expected – must have a look at that ruler – you do a great job of showing how versatile it is!

    • Thank you Ruth! That’s why I really wanted this ruler – it has many shapes and you can MIX them. I hope to try soon something else again. x Teje

  15. Love it! It looks like so much fun! The quilt is amazing!

    • Thank you Jane! I have to say that I’m surprised how much I like it, because … somehow it didn’t feel ‘me’ in the beginning. x Teje

  16. Love the fresh color combination you used!

  17. I like how this quilt turned out. There are many patterns within patterns for the eyes to seek out.

  18. I’m always in awe of people who can make beautiful quilts like this one! xx

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

