Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Blogger’s Quilt Festival: ‘Pic Nic on The Beach’

29 Comments

Hello and welcome to Nero’s Post and Patch! You just landed to Chania in Greece – beautiful and famous holiday destination! I do my best to send you a lot of sunshine and inspiration picked from Cretan colours!

I’m so happy to join once again ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’, organized by Amy from ‘Amy’s Creative Side’. I want to send thousands of thanks to Amy for the huge work she does, when organizing this fantastic event! This is really important to all quilters and even more to us who live far away from our quilter friends.

Pin Nic on The Beach by Teje

I think many of us have this quilt festival on the ‘back of our mind’ through the whole year, wondering now and then what to share in the next festival. Sometimes I have had few quilts ready and had to decide which one to enter, but this time I was stitching until the last minute to finish my quilt in time.

Pic Nic on The Beach by Teje

I’m happy to share my latest quilt which was totally improvised. I enter my ‘Pic Nic on The Beach’ quilt to the ‘Original Design Quilts’ category.

When I started this quilt, I didn’t have any ‘picture’ in my mind (I usually plan in my thoughts, create a ‘picture’ in my mind and then start to play with fabrics). I just wanted to use my new Hex N More ruler and the beautiful ‘Fancy Free’ fat quarter bundle I had just won from the ‘Fat Quarter Shop’.

pic nic on the beach by teje

The beginning wasn’t easy because something didn’t work with the colours. Then fortunately I realized that white was missing. After that it was enjoyable puzzle game! First I cut all kind of shapes from all the prints, triangles in white and then started to gather them. First I made small areas and put them to the design wall. Then I started to fill the spaces between. Some where I just added white but some where I continued the blocks (for example the buntings). In many places I even ripped pieces because I wanted them  to connect in a certain way to the next area. Next photo gives you an idea how the process went on …

Hex N More quilt project by Teje

For the First time I was able to use some kind of design wall and I’m so excited about that. It really changed my quilting life! I’m looking for to start next ‘game’ – with Hex N More ruler but very different colours.

quilt top with triangles

Finding a way how to quilt, was really difficult. I quilt by hand, so for this size of quilt I don’t want stitch too difficult patterns. Also this quilt didn’t help by having some repeating lines to follow. I thought that if I plan too long time, I can never enter the quilt festival, so I started as I started this quilt – improvising when stitiching. I use Perle no 8 cotton for quilting by hand – this time in variable green.

Hex N More quilt by Teje

I stitched lots of paths around … without any schedule, just like people were wandering on the beach … someone goes around, someone here and there …

quilt on the beach by teje

For the binding I couldn’t choose anything else that the colourful stips! Summer season is now over and the beach is empty. There are still some things around that the beach bar hasn’t collected inside.

Pic Nic on The Beach by Teje

QUILT DETAILS:

Name: ‘Pic Nic On The Beach’

Design: Teje Karjalainen (me)

Size: 71″ x 51″ (180 cm x 130 cm)

Pieced: by machine

Quilted: by hand

Fabrics: ‘Fancy Free’ by Lori Whitlock for Riley Blake Design

Category: Original Design Quilts

perfect place for pic nic

Today I went to the beach with Hanna, hoping to find a place to take photos. I found a perfect place for a pic nic!

IMG_2350

Pic Nic on The Beach by Teje

This huge tree creates perfect ‘hidden’ place for a pic nic party! There was very friendly cat who wanted to model!

cat on the beach

quilt by Teje

When I arrived to the beach, it was almost raining, but then fortunately sun began to shine!

pic nic on the beach by teje

If you like to see more about this Project, read Nero’s stories ‘She’s in trouble’, ‘White was missing’ and ‘Quilt Top with Fancy Free’.

quilt on the beach by teje

Click here ‘BLOGGER’S QUILT FESTIVAL’ to visit the festival. Scroll down to see all the categories – each has separate post. Nominate your favourites HERE and check back on 1th of November to view and vote!

AmysCreativeSide.com
MY OTHER ENTRY THIS YEAR:
‘TURN THE TIME’ – autumn 2014
MY EARLIER ENTRIES:
‘NERO’S GARDEN’ (animals from Nero’s garden) – spring 2011
‘ORANGE STONES’ – autumn 2011
‘MY DREAM QUILT’ – spring 2012
‘BUTTERFLIES’ (applique) – autumn 2012
‘BABY STARS’ – spring 2013
‘HAPPY DAYS’ – spring 2013
‘FANTASY FOREST’ 1. prize in ‘Forest QAL’ (paper pieced) – autumn 2013
‘KIDS GAME’ 2013 – autumn 2013
Pic Nic on The Beach by Teje
It looks like a little quilt here on the beach volley net, but it’s big enough. I couldn’t reach to hang it on the up edge of the net. Lucky me that I had those huge cloth pegs with me (now I understand – those cloth pegs make the quilt look so small).
Pic Nic on The Beach by Teje

Thank you very much for visiting my blog! Nero’s Gift Away for his Birthday is open untill 6th of November HERE. One last photo with the morning shadows … I love quilt photos with interesting shadow patterns on them.

Pic Nic on The Beach by Teje

Sunny wishes from Greece!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

29 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival: ‘Pic Nic on The Beach’

  1. Wow, your quilt is stunning!!

  2. Well done, Teje, such a beautiful quilt.

  3. Teje, what an amazing quilt, I love your unique design and the bright colors and patterns and of course, being a hand quilter myself I LOVE the quilting!!

    • Thank you so much! I really enjoy this kind of projects – improvising at the time. It just needs time to concentrate only on that Project – not to run to other Works between. x Teje

      • Oh I soooo know the problems with Quilter’s ADD or Crafter’s ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder)!! But you are so inspiring. As long as we are having fun and not making ourselves completely nuts with jumping from project then it is ok, I think!

  4. This is a beautiful fresh quilt. Your stitching and binding are perfect for it, and I like your photos too!

  5. This is one of my favorite quilts on your blog. Sunny and colorful. 🙂

  6. Design walls are THE best!!!!! Your “puzzle” turned out so grand with all those buntings! The name says it all……..luv………………………..

  7. Your Pic Nic quilt turned out to be so inviting! The quilting looks fabulous and you picked just the right fabric for binding. It’s perfect! Love the photos. How nice that you found a furry friend on the beach to help you model it!

  8. Very cheery and fun. Love this quilt!

  9. I love the Hex NMore ruler too! it’s very versatile and fun to use. I like the way you joined the different shapes into one cohesive quilt. Very beautiful!

  10. Lovely colours and creative design. well done 🙂

  11. Terje, it’s beautiful. Love the creative process and also the hand quilting. I’m so glad you finished in time for the festival. Fingers crossed 🙂

  12. I love the way this design came as you went along. It reminds me of Summer fetes with bunting and flags. Such a happy quilt. Congratulations on this finish and good luck at Festival. Visiting via Needle and Thread Thursday

  13. Your quilt is beautiful, the binding is so perfect for this quilt! I like the pictures at the beach!

  14. Beautiful quilt! It makes me smile with its fun colors and layout. I loved reading about your progress in making it. Fun photo shoot at the beach!

  15. You are so inspirational, Teje–the quilt is absolutely beautiful! I love how you used the Hex N More ruler to it’s fullest potential.

  16. Lovely as always!!!!And what to say about your photos???Amazing!

  17. Gorgeous!! Love everything about it. I bought a FQB of this a while back–now I’m motivated to use it!

  18. Lovely to see this again- really gorgeous! x

  19. Visiting from Tues Archives (but I also have started to follow your blog). What an amazing array of shapes, and so well fit together! Lovely result.

  20. I love this! It looks right at home on the beach. I especially like how the hexagons and triangles play so nicely together. http://www.quiltartbymegan.com

  21. Looks like this one was a “win” (the fabric) “win” (the improv design and finish)! Ahhh, a gorgeous beach view and a quilt — heaven! Thanks for sharing it in the Archives!

  22. I so enjoyed your photos…I think my favorite is the quilt hanging on the volleyball net with the line umbrella’s in the background. Thanks for rejuvianting this under the Tue. Archives rulers theme.

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

