Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Plum Crazy! + Give Away!

19 Comments

Hello dear friends! I’m happy to see you because I have great news! My friend, Laura from ‘Quokka Quilts’ has just published this Super quilt pattern Plum Crazy!

Plum Crazy by Quokka Quilts

Isn’t it beautiful and so perfect to feature our favourite Fabrics!

I’m happy to join the blog hop to spread the Word about this fantastic pattern! Laura sent me a Copy and she has made great job. Pattern is clear and I love the cutting instructions! Not necessary to read only many pages and long long list for cutting – she has made very clear plan for cutting! This is really Fat Quarter Buster – there is now waste! That’s exactly what I want!

The smallest quilt size takes 6 fat quarters and the largest 9 fat quarters.

You can imagine how difficult it was for me to choose what Fabrics I would pick for this pattern. So I have few bundles I would love use to make this quilt. First bundle is from my favourite online fabric shop: ‘Fluffy Sheep Quilting’!

Folk Art Holiday from Fluffy Sheep Quilting

I love the ‘Folk Art Holiday’ line! These fabrics have scandinavian feeling, taste of winter and christmas but not too ‘christmasy’.

For the solid I would choose white … or I would challenge my self to use grey or blue! Binding would be super beautiful with dotties or gingham in white/red! If you like to make a Christmas quilt you could use red solid and white/blue gingham for the binding. (The last solid colour in this mosaic is dark blue.) All these also available in Cindy’s shop ‘Fluffy Sheep Quilting’!

Solids, Dotties, Gingham

Laura’s pattern is available HERE and for this week you get 20% off with the code Plum 20!

By leaving a comment in this post, you enter the give away to win a Free Copy of this pattern! Nero will draw the winner on Sunday, 12th of October (Greek time). If you are no reply, please add your email in your comment. It would be fun to hear what colours you would use to make this quilt!

I like to show you few other fabric bundles I made for this pattern. Having in my mind that this pattern shows the prints well, I picked something from my other favourite shop: ‘Hawthorne Threads’ and it’s ‘Mother Goose Tales – Humpty Dumpty’!

Humpty Dumpty

Oh, these would make so happy quilt … for any little or ‘bigger’ person! Here goes the same with solids – white would be my choise but also blue would look fantastic background for these joyful colours! Hmmm …. I would really love to make one quilt with dark blue background!

For Michael Miller

This bundle makes me happy! They are sunny and colourful but not too childish. All these Fabrics are for Michael Miller and picked from ‘Hawthorne Threads’. If I don’t have any designer or line in my mind, I go to see what Michael Miller has … I love most of their Fabrics and there is a lot!

The truth is that I was hoping to have already sewn a small quilt with this pattern but post office interfered and my special fabrics are now in an unknown destination … you will hear how this story continues …

Plum Crazy quilt by Quokka Quilts

This blog hop continues:

– on Thursday: Vera@ Negligent Style

– on Friday: Alyce@ Blossom Heart Quilts

– on Saturday: Katy@ The Littlest Thistle

Good Luck to everyone and happy quilting!

Give away and comments are now closed.

 TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

19 thoughts on “Plum Crazy! + Give Away!

  1. Such a great pattern – I like your first choice!

  2. Looks like a fabulous pattern! Love the first bundle, looks a bit nordic in colors and style! Fingers crossed that your fabric reappears!!!

  3. I would take a fresh green or also this plum. Very nice fabrics.
    Thanks for the chance!
    Greetings, Rike

  4. Love the color of Plum Crazy! I think the Mother Goose fabric would be perfect for the quilt pattern!

  5. I would like to see it in seaside scapes and colors – blues/yellows/reds. Love the pattern!

  6. Count me in. I sure love the fabrics used in the quilt!

  7. This is a very cute pattern. I also love the color choices you showed. I love planning quilts and trying out different fabrics! Give Nero a pat from me!

  8. So fun! I like all your choices! Pbstrand@MSN.com

  9. I have some fat quarters from Tula Pink. This is a perfect pattern to show off her lovely prints.

  10. I bought the nordic holiday fabric from Fluffy sheep too – love it to bits!

  11. Lovely pattern but maybe I’d use more toning colours, like the one in the picture, rather than lots of different patterns. But I’m sure whatever you do it will be lovely. Nora

  12. Great pattern! Love the pretty Folk Art line fabrics! Ros

  13. Lovely Pattern! I love red so I would make it with different tones of red. Anyway I think whatever color you use it is going to be fantastic!

  14. Plum Crazy is such a wonderful project. Perfect for completing in time for Christmas…think I could get 4 done….Thanks so much for the giveaway.
    Melissa

  15. What a fantastic pattern. Your fabric choices are great. Would love to win a copy of this pattern.

  16. Very beatiful pattern! I think I would use greens and turquioses… as You know!

  17. Wow so many choices Teje, I would not know where to start!! xx