Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Double Hour Glass – Baby Quilt

20 Comments

Hello dear friends! After making the quilt top with Hex N More ruler, I thought to make easy and quick baby quilt.

Double Hour Glass Baby Quilt

This is beautiful, traditional block, which I haven’t used before. I made testing block with the striped fabric from my last project and I think fabric with stripes is perfect for this block.

Doouble Hour Glass

Yes! I have new Moomin calendar!!!

IMG_1757

Double Hour Glass can be made easily with stripes. I cut 2,5″ strips. Sew white with colour and then cut them with my square ruler.

How to make Double Hour Glass block

Using stripes 2,5″, my 6,5″ ruler was just perfect. It has diagonal Line in the middle and the half of the ruler was just the size of the triangle I needed to cut.

How to make double hour glass block

The better the longer strips you have. Mine were the width of the fat quarter so they didn’t make many triangles. First I made as many as I got easily with the stripes I had cut.

double hour glass blocks

It wasn’t easy to choose what other fabrics to use here. I think these will be in the next quilt.

double hour glass

I made 20 blocks to get size about 40″ x 32″. Last blocks I made one by one and cut separately white and colour pieces. Like that my striped fabrics (‘Fancy Free’) were just enough and also there was not too much left over scraps.

sailing boat

Someone was sailing when I went out to take photos.

double hour glass quilt top

After some cloudy days, sunshine is back and I’m having my coffee again outside.

double hour glass quilt top

I couldn’t avoid the shadows from the pipes that there is for the markis. It was closed because some days we had very strong wind. Today we opened it again to have some shadow because it’s still very much summer here!

IMG_1797

double hour glass quilt top

Hmmm … how many photos is enough/too much to show about one unfinished baby quilt …

Okey, this is the last one. Before that I want to thank you soooooooo much for your amazingly sweet comments on my last post!!! I’m Super happy that you like that quilt so much! Thank you also for names – I shall make a list with all the great names you thought and we’ll see how to pick finally the name for that quilt. It’s now waiting for me to decide about the backing and quilting. Till then I make baby quilts …

double hour glass quilt

I’m in love with Double Hour Glass! I wish you sunny autumn days and very good October!

Oh, and by the way, I’m already quilting this but those photos would be too much now, so hope to see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

20 thoughts on “Double Hour Glass – Baby Quilt

  1. Lovely!! I always like your color choices. 🙂

  2. A very cute quilt Terje 🙂 your right about the stripes. They work really well with this block .

    • Thank you Cille! They look great in this block and one reason is that the angle is the same. In my last Project with the 60o triangles they didn’t look so good. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  3. This is such a sweet quilt top. You’re right the stripey fabric is perfect. Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! I’m so happy with this block! It’s very common and so much used, but creates so wonderful pattern. I would love to see the double hour glass block smaller in a huge quilt! Have a great weekend! x Teje

  4. Teje, I love the fabrics you used for the blocks–those stripes are gorgeous! What a sweet baby quilt and it’ll be the baby’s favorite for many, many years, I’m sure. You get so much done–I’m glad you take some time for a quiet cup of coffee outside in that beautiful sunshine!

    • Thank you so much Karen! I felt that these stripy Fabrics were too busy for my last Project but now with this block I really like them. Some day I can quilt almost all the day and then again some days pass without having any moment in my sewing room. Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  5. It’s gorgeous! Great fabric choices. I can’t wait to see how you quilt it.

  6. That is fabulous.Love your instructional photo!

    • Thank you Laura! I’m so fond of this block now! I want to make few more quilts using some how this block. have a great weekend! x Teje

  7. Love the stripes and the quilt top looks gorgeous in the sunshine!

  8. I like!

  9. It’s perfect for a baby Teje. Delicate colours and lovely stripes. What is the other quilt you have shown? It has birds and a kitty?

  10. Oh T, that’s a gorgeous quilt top, i need to add that to my i-want-ta-make list

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

