Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Nero: White was missing!

22 Comments

Vof vof! White makes the magic, at least here. She forgot to put white on her palet! All that drama last time … perhaps I have lost it … if I can’t create nice quilt anymore … and all that just because the white was missing!

Hex N More quilt project by Teje

This was on the wall yesterday evening, when we decided it was bed time. It may change still, like it often happens, but she’s quite happy and perhaps she just continues and doesn’t change much.

making diamonds

She’s not using the easy way … no, she wants to plan with fabrics and patches and make the whole design piece by piece. It’s fun but takes time. We had lunch brake and cooked …

onions

 

After eating, I’m always so happy and full of energy to play …

Nero

 

And then with full speed to hexagons … piece by piece to make pairs …

hexagons

Then figuring out what shape they should be to fill the place on the wall …

hexagons

 

Cutting some pieces more to get big triangle …

hexagons

… idea for a christmas table runner …

big triangle with hexagons

 

Now we shall make more jewel-triangles … but hey, guess what I saw …

Nero

 

Can you believe that there she/he is sitting next to my ball in no hurry to go any where …

cat

I’m getting tired to chase them … just kidding! At this moment for some strange reason I just looked and didn’t say anything … perhaps I tried to find out how we can continue because the design wall is full. I have to make it bigger.

paprikas

 

And then I think we shall make more little triangles … if your favourite fabric is coming to an end, it may be worth of using a moment to plan how to get most of it …

IMG_1673

 

So here we are now … running well and enjoying each step …  this looks like a party to me!

quilt with Hex N More ruler

 

Have a great weekend! I hope you have sun and fun!

Hugs from NERO!

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

22 thoughts on “Nero: White was missing!

  1. It just looks so fun! I can’t wait to see it come together.

  2. Looks great on the wall! That cat is a real tease!

  3. Thanks for sharing all the photos with the progress. The design is coming out really nice, the fabric colors are so soft and warm. Looking forward to see more and maybe a pattern??!! Barbora

    • Thank you Barbora! This is fun and now when I started to connect the areas, it comes together quite quickly. I may try to gather a tutorial later but to make pattern for this is too difficult for me … I think… x Teje

  4. looks beautiful! I love the way you design as you go. very clever

    • Thank you Rachael! If I try to design first on a paper, i shall anyway change my plans when working so this Works better for me. Ideas come from the patches, colours and the blocks I have already done. x Teje

  5. The hexies and triangles stand out really well against the white background! It’s looking lovely. Jxo

    • Thank you Judith! I was able to sew well yesterday and the Top is ready soon. I made also some changes like the strong Red in the middle had to go. This time I ripped more and changed even some already sewn blocks. I love this ruler! x Teje

  6. Always love your posts Nero! Love the idea of a christmas table runner – it does look like a tree an decorations at the same time – an’t believe the cheek of that cat! Maybe he wants to play ball too?

    • Thank you Ruth! It looked like a tree to me, Christmas tree. Could be done with some more festive fabrics and perhaps even some applique on it. That cat was there again in the morning – seems to be she doesn’t give up. x Nero

  7. It’s lovely… I love the colours against the white.. It really pops🙂

    • Thank you Jane! White is so great! It shows and ‘clears’ the colours so nicely! I have tried other solids for the background and without white, but often it doesn’t work for me. x Teje

  8. Love those shapes against the white. They look great! Always good when I pop in a and see you too Nero!🙂 Ros

  9. Terve Teje, I love the colors and white together. Please forgive me, if I cannot write many comments on your blog. My husband and I are moving to a new home!!
    Happy creative Autumn….
    Anne

  10. I always love visiting your blog but especially had to comment that your triangles with large hexagons TOTALLY inspired me on what to do with a bunch of large Hexagons I made from scraps…..THANKS!!!!!!!!!!

    • Thanks Valerie! I’m so happy to hear that and looking for to see what you’ll make. I think I finish this Top today or very soon any way. x Teje

  11. Hello dear Nero,

    Please pat Teje on the back: she made perfect choice on adding white! The quilt will be ever so perfect once finished! And great that you keep an eye on your yard, I am sure Teje appreciates that a lot!

    Happy last days of September to you all!

    Yours,
    Mia

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

