Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

SINGING IN THE RAIN

27 Comments

Hello dear friends! What would be the best way for you to begin a NEW week? Mine was to wake up for a rain (after 5 months) and to get a phone call from a postman.

paper pieced flower

I woke up for a strange sound … rain? is it really rain? Yes! Fresh air, smell of rain and thursty soil! Finally sense of autumn – my favourite season! I had perfect morning-coffee moment on the terace, with dogs and cat, of course.

clouds through ruler

I enjoyed watching the different sky scene! That beautiful bright blue sky can be boring after months and months. As you know I need to see some white, too. But this was not the scene yet … my phone rang … ‘Good Morning! This is your NEW postman. I have a packet for you and it doesn’t fit in the mailbox. Can you come to pick it?’ YES, right away!

He was still there and I had a chance to thank him for the help that I didn’t need to go till town to the post Office.

busy cat

I thought to show the parcels with Nelli because she was sitting near to me. She sniffed them quickly and then jumped away … if she just knew what there was inside …

new fabrics

… cats, yes little cutest cats!!! I love all these Fabrics but those cats are something else! This was a surprise delivery from my Finnish quilter friend. Wow, I’m so excited and also surprised how well she knows me – these are exactly ‘me’! Thank you so much dear ‘L’!!! Her beautiful blog is ‘Tilkkutie’, in Finnish but there are lots of beautiful quilting photos for your inspiration (if you don’t speak Finnish).

magnet for sewist

There was also this magnet … what can I say … it will be my treasure! It says ‘ I have a sewfluenza’! (my free translation). The Red fabric is from Marimekko! Iiik, I’m so thrilled to get some Marimekko – and a print that I can’t remember! How on earth I think I don’t like red – I love Red! it’s time to admit that! You know better than me when watching my photos.

magnet for sewists

Here is the magnet from behind! Thank you again so much!!!

But this was not all?! Yes, this was really amazing start for this week! My ‘winning’ Fabrics came already! Normally it takes two weeks to get here from US, but now they came in one week! So, ta-daa, here they are …

Fancy Free fabrics

They are fat quarter bundle ‘Fancy Free’ by Lori Whitlock for Riley Blake Designs. Thank you so much Jane from ‘Quilt Jane’ and ‘Fat Quarter Shop’, for these most beautiful Fabrics! I was the lucky one to win $ 50 gift certificate from Jane’s give away!

Fancy Free by Lori Whitlock

I had a hard time to choose, but I’m so so happy I picked these Fabrics! I love each piece and feel sorry to brake this sweet bundle, but now they need shower to be ready … I’m planning to have holidays next week and to devote myself to all these …

beautiful fabrics

You can see how perfectly all these fabrics go together! Those kittens and circles are so perfect! As it was cloudy morning, the colours are not so happy like they really are. That on the left side, which looks like ‘mustard’ is lovely, warm yellow. But don’t worry, you will certainly see these many times in future!

My NEW ruler is ‘Hex N More’ by Julie Herman. Julie created this ruler about two years ago and since then it has been in my mind. I am so excited to have it now and start something NEW with it! Ruler is available here in ‘Fat Quarter Shop’.

Nelli saw other cat

Nelli saw a stranger (cat) walking in our garden. This time I was quick enough to catch dogs’ attention with coocies and they didn’t run like grazy after the cat. Nero has again sock on his foot because his toe has ‘something’. Most likely he has scratched the nail some where when running after a cat. Why they don’t believe that this garden is taken now?! They pass many times a day like it’s their home and yesterday one came even inside from the kitchen door! So from now on doors closed if I’m not near.

garden

… some where there the cat was walking … fortunately fits through the wire squares to escape if Nero is close.

Oups, Ryan Air passed very low – didn’t have time to get my camera.

Hanna

We were drying pillows … Nero was relaxing in the ‘coolness’ …

Nero

At the weekend I took timeout for sewing and wanted to make a flower. I used Charise’s pattern for paper pieced tulip. Charise’s blog is ‘Charise Creates’ and the pattern is available (for Free) in her Craftsy store.

paper pieced tulip

I thought I could have finished Mini quilt with few tulips, but couldn’t concentrate and made all the time mistakes. Ripping and sewing again … and in the evening I ‘stucked’ to fix design wall. Yes – my First ever design wall – and the most easy! Anyone can make it; I’ll show it to you next time. Don’t expect anything fancy but something that you can make quickly and no need to bu anything (I suppose).

I think I shall go to fill my design wall…

Thank you so much for reading my blog and for writing so lovely comments! I hope your week and September has began as well as mine!  Enjoy the autumn and the change of the season!

I’m linking at: ‘Fabric Tuesday’, ‘Linky Tuesday’, ‘Sew Cute Tuesday’, ‘Let’s Bee Social’, Needle and Thread Thursday’, ‘Thursdays Pretty Bobbins’

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

27 thoughts on “SINGING IN THE RAIN

  1. Congratulations on your new home, Teje. Looks like you are settling in nicely. All of your new fabrics are so pretty. Can’t wait to see what you make with them. Especially the cat fabric!

  2. Oh happy mail! Do I love to get packages…
    Your tulip block is lovely, it almost looks like stained glass. Can’t wait to see your design wall and what you are going to do with all the beautiful new fabrics…
    And thanks for leaving such a sweet comment on my blog!🙂

    • Thank you Maryse! This little tulip makes me happy when I see it in my sewing room. I shall make more of them even First thought to make a Mini quilt with just one flower. x Teje

  3. Oh what wonderful happy mail!! And that your postman was so kind! Your block is block is so beautiful….I haven’t dared to show my seams yet! LOL!!!

  4. It sounds like you and your dogs are settling in.
    I can’t quite believe you have a postman who calls you …isn’t it fun to get something in the mail?

  5. Vof! Vof! Nero–rest your paw (hope it gets better soon) while your mom plays with all that gorgeous new fabric! Teje–isn’t getting a package of fabric in the mail the best surprise ever? Let me know how you like your new ruler–I’ve been thinking about getting one for a long time, too! Your tulip looks like a gorgeous piece of stained glass-love it!

  6. oooh, hello my dear sister. I’m writing a comment here in English for change, still let’s have a “breakfast together” with our morning coffees through internet/emails soon again, maybe tomorrow?
    I love that “ompelunssa”!! Lovely cheerful blog!! big big hugs to you!!!!

  7. Your new home looks lovely! Enjoy that view . Happy stitching!

  8. Wonderful fabric you got there, gorgeous tulip and lucky you with the rain – no rain here since a year, but a lot of sun! Hope you have settled well in your new home. Looking forward to read your next posts (as always) ! Barbora

    • Thank you Barbora! I can’t believe that you haven’t had rain for so long time! There are no flowers now in our garden so it was time to make at least one tulip! I like is so much that I’m sure there will be more. Have a lovely autumn! x Teje

  9. Wow what a busy and happy day you had Teje! Your friend sent you a very sweet package – I laughed that Nelli left because there were cat fabrics inside.

    • Thank you Lara! I was really happy to get these Fabrics as I don’t ‘go’ for shopping very often. They are just perfect for me! And it will be exciting to try the NEW ruler. x Teje

  10. I enjoyed the first thunderstorms and rains in Sparti, the garden looks so much brighter and fresh. And me too, I love to see some clouds, at the moment there are such beautiful skies! But…., you got a lot of other beautiful things. Wonderful fabrics! As I am a cat lover, you can imagine which one I prefer! In the 70th, while living in Amsterdam, I had a Marimekko dress. I loved it! They make such nice patterns, quite different, a style of their own.

    • Thank you Ada! I’m happy you had a good rain and it helped also the garden. Even it was raining one morning here, garden looks still so dry. Marimekko has relly great style. I love them more and more and even more now when I’m not in Finland. x Teje

  11. Congrats with your new home. I hope for happy times for you. I love the block! Wonderfull!!

    • Thank you so much! It’s always interesting to move and settle to a NEW place. Still some fixing in my sewing room and then I can start to sew ‘seriously’! x Teje

  12. Your tulip block is a gorgeous design, Teje! What a lovely collection of fabrics to add to your stash…..they will be very inspiring to work with! Glad you are settling in to your new home.
    Wishing you a happy weekend.
    Helen xox

  13. Good Morning, dear far-away Friend!!!!! These have been such busy days! Aren’t they for all?? What a blessing to win those beautiful–and happy– fabrics! And the ‘red’!!! It so fits with your designs! Much creative wonderful-ness ahead and I look forward to all! Autumn seems to be almost here (in S.E. MN). The temperatures are so much cooler and the nights threaten the flowers. Such is the “time clock” of life. I hope to switch back to my quilting/sewing mode AND blogging mode!!! Big hugs and much love coming your way……………………Doreen

    • Thank you Doreen! It has been busy summer and still I feel that we are all the time busy – how that happens? Now the weather has changed a little bit (still wearing shorts and sleevless t-s) and nice cool wind comes often from the sea. I’m looking for the enjoy the autumn with you through our sewings! Hugs! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

