Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Flower Bag and Pink Sea Glass

29 Comments

Hello Dear Friends! I hope you are fine and enjoy the summer! We have hot weather and me and my new flower bag tried to stay in the shadow  …

Bag and Sea Glass Pendant

This bag has a great summer feeling. I almost said also country feeling but why not also city feeling … in cities there are also lots of lovely places filled with sweet flowers. Last days we have been working mostly with the bracelets and sea glass pendants. Sea Glass is very Special and exciting material. Every piece is unique and sometimes if you are very lucky you can find ‘once in a lifetime’ piece …

Pink Sea Glass

 

Pink sea glass is really rare colour. If you think what kind of glass items there is made from glass in pink colour, you understand that it’s almost a miracle to find a piece like this … smoothened by salty sea water, sand and stones and then washed to the beach.

Pink Sea Glass

Only sea can create those c shapes on the glass and it may take over 30 years to be nicely smoothened all around. This pink colour is very difficult to photograph and with our strong sunlight it looks almost white. That’s also the magic with Sea Glass that it looks very different depending how and where you look …

 

Blue Sea Glass Pendant

Here is for an example one, also very special piece of blue Sea Glass. This has very rare surface and it looks beautiful. But look the colour with the sunlight …

blue sea glass

And if you give her few drops water, the magic shows even more …

blue sea glass

The shape under the glass is water drop. If you love colours, you would get ‘grazy’ with the surprises of the sea glass colours! If you like to read more about sea glass, visit my other blog ‘TRIKIMIA’. More about pendants here.

Shoulder Bag by Teje

And then back to bag … and the back of the bag …

Shoulder Bag by Teje

I made this bag with same idea like the ‘Greek Cross Bag’. Only the linen part on the top of the bag is a little bit lower. That strap is with knot on one side and on the other side it’s sewn under the small strap.

shoulder bag

shoulder bag

Inside there is again one pocket and the closing is with zipper. Bindings on the outside big pockets and the up edge are double folded.

Shoulder Bag by Teje

I do hope that there will be one bag for me, too! Linen looks great with the flower fabric and it is very practical with two large ourside pockets and one pocket inside. Size is about 10″ x 12″. Strap is adjustable with the knot.

making bracelets

Now I think I return to my work with bracelets. Most of the stones we use are semi precious stones, gem stones, coral, lava etc. For example on the front line those ovals are Tiger’s Eyes, light stones are Rose Quarts and the dark stones Green Jaspers.

I shall post about our jewelry projects also in our other blog ‘TRIKIMIA’ which is mainly for our sea glass, jewelry and decoration makings. Both of our etsy shops: ‘TRIKIMIA’ and ‘TEJESARITA’  are quite empty now because we are working for a new project. Most of the things we make, are for sale, so if you see something you would like to purchase, I’m very happy to make a special listing for you. Please send me email: nerospost(at)gmail(dot)com and I’ll get back to you.

Gemstone Bracelets by Trikimia

Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for leaving so wonderful comments! I wish you Fantastic Midsummer and to all my Finnish readers Hyvaa Juhannusta!

TEJE

Shoulder Bag by Tejesarita

 

 

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

29 thoughts on “Flower Bag and Pink Sea Glass

  1. That is such a pretty bag – I am so envious of your skills:-)

  2. Lovely bag Teje, and I love the sea glass jewellery. Particularly love the blue glass and I’m looking longingly at your aqua colour bracelets on your stand…….beautiful!
    Alison x

  3. Hi dear Teje you have been so busy. I am glad to see your jewellery skills taking off…such pretty sea glass. Your bags is so pretty and very useful. Keep cool xx

    • Thank you so much Jane! First I felt like fish out of water with the jewelry materials but now I really enjoy making something different and it’s of course again with colours! x Teje

  4. Beautiful bag and sea glass.Hard to choose one favorite!

  5. That bag is beautiful–I just love it. You are with out doubt the busiest creature I know! One creative project after another and all well done. The pink sea glass looks so lovely lying on that rosy floral. Do you gather the sea glass on your walks?

    • Thank you so much! I’m busy and my days are long but I love my work. I gather sea glass when I have a chance to go for a search – sometimes I find some and other times nothing – you never know when the special piece is there waiting for someone to pick. x Teje

  6. Such a lovely summery bag and what gorgeous jewellery! The sea glass is beautiful! Jxo

  7. Looks amazing! how did you get the hole in the sea glass? it is great that people are more environmentally conscious these days but I haven’t seen sea glass for years! Or maybe just more plastic is used… unfortunately here any sea glass tends to be beer-bottle brown…

    • Thank you Laura! Also here the glass is mostly white or green from bottles but sometimes you can find some treasures. It’s very difficult to make the holes because the glass is so hard and brakes easily. Also it’s difficult to find strong, small drills. Sea Glass is going to be more and more rare because of the re-cycling. x Teje

  8. Such a gorgeous bag, and how pretty is the pink sea glass! It is so rare, as you say. Your jewellery is looking beautiful, Teje. You are such a talented lady!
    Happy week!
    Helen xox

  9. Visiting from Let’s Bee Social, lovely sea glass! I like your bag as well. Nice to find another blog that is a variety of subjects!

  10. lovely bag, Teje! and I agree- sea glass is so beautiful!

    Thank you so much for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!
    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    • Thank you Kelly! It’s always great to join your party and also to visit you and see your beautiful Works like the latest quilt! x Teje

  11. Such a lovely bag. I, too, love the look of the floral with the linen. And your jewelry is gorgeous. Those pieces with the sea glass are fascinating. And so beautiful!

  12. That bag is pure delightfulness!! The florals are perfect for that “green space” that many city/urban places are creating for eye-appeal and relaxation! Your design is so well thought through, also. I so love the sea glass (especially the pale green) and rose quartz is also a love of mine. I am back to the sewing instead of the “camper life” right now. Maybe in a couple of weeks we will have opportunity to settle at the river but the water will be too high this week and then if/when it goes down the drying needs to get done. Such an unusual summer thus far. Your blog is ‘summer happiness’ personified!!! Hugs from the soggy Midwest of the USA!!

  13. Happy Midsummer, Teje. I love your bag and your bracelets are beautiful🙂

  14. How pretty! I love sea glass. When we vacation at the beach we are always looking for some to collect. Great bag too…The linen is perfect.

  15. I would never have put the linen and the flowers together but now you have opened my eyes to new ideas. Your bag looks beautiful and very practical too🙂

    • Thank you so much Avis! For me those Fabrics together looked ‘country style’ which I like and then I realized that it could be also ‘summer style’. I wish you great week my friend! x Teje

  16. Le sac et bijous sont magnifique Marie-Claire

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

