Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Greek Cross Shoulder Bag

31 Comments

Hi dear friends! Great to see you – i hope you are fine! Surprise – i have finished bag – with those two Greek Cross blocks. When i made them few days ago i didn’t have any plan ready for them but then connecting some ideas from here and there they looked suitable for a small shoulder bag.

Greek Cross shoulder bag by Teje

This bag is prototype = prototipo = προτοτυπο, first try for the idea in my mind. I make plans always in my mind and not on the paper. I may do some notes to remember ideas but usually i have or create a ‘picture’ in my mind and then when i start to work i plan more. That’s why each project takes time but is also enjoyable. From this bag i’m expecting a lot, means that i like to make this same bag with many different fabrics and colours and bigger, too. My other ‘speciality’ is that i don’t use or make patterns = not good always. I make only rough notes for the measurements to easy a little bit the next project.

shoulder bag by Teje

This bag has lots of details to work with and there are few little things i shall trim with the next bag. But mostly i’m happy with this design. For the strap i had many possibilities and it was difficult to choose, ending up with this adjustable ‘knot’ strap.

shoulder bag by Teje

I have already started the next bag and it’s going to be a little bit lower, means that the linen part on the top is lower because here it looks wider than the quilted pocket-piece. When making bigger bag i shall make on the sides box-pleats.

shoulder bag

On the other side the strap is hidden under blue piece and the on the other side it’s knotted with the blue piece. Big side pockets have double folded quilt bindings. Also the binding on the top of the bag is double folded. That connects also the zipper. Inside there is one simple pocket.

shoulder bag

shoulder bag

Strap is made with linen and the quilting cotton. I really like this method to make strap. First i folded the edges with iron and then just sew them together. I folded the edges till the center so both fabrics are double.

selvages

These are the fabrics i used. Size of the bag is 9″ x 12″ x 2″.

Next bag is already going further very well and it’s going to have a modern-romantic look …

bag process

All the details are ready and i could have finished the bag but then jewelry work was calling.

IMG_7886

I have sewn the strap, zipper, pocket on the linen, quilted the front pieces, now just need to finish the ‘puzzle’. This is the flower fabric, bought from Eurokangas in Finland.

IMG_7890

I really like pink even i don’t have it much around me. This gorgeus flower was on our neighbour’s cactus …

cactus flower

When looking for photos i saw that i have still many photos waiting from my trip to Finland. One somehow cute thing i found from home there were two books. Very special, some of the most favourite books i have had … i can still sense the feeling, see the places, even hear the sounds … which i created in my mind when reading them … i believe many of you love these, too …

books

If they just weren’t so heavy, i had taken them with me and read them again! Is it possible to remember how it smells in the wooden house on the preria even you have just read about it?!

Painting by Riitta Karjalainen

Blue Greek Pots by Riitta Karjalainen

At home in Finland there are also lots of paintings from my mother and grandfather. They both visited Greece many times and were strongly inspired about the nature and colours here. I took lots of photos from the paintings and hope to feature them somehow.

Greek Cross Bag by Teje

This drift wood you will see again later. Hb made fantastic stand for the jewelries. At the moment it was still ‘available’ for my photo shooting.

I shall join all my favourite linky parties – please click the buttons on the side list. There are parties almost for every day full of fun and inspiration! Thank you for everyone who is hosting a party and makes it possible for us to share our sewings!

Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for your wonderful comments!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

31 thoughts on “Greek Cross Shoulder Bag

  1. That is a wonderful design!!!!! And it doesn’t feel that the linen above the pocket is too much (my opinion!). The colors are so nice and your construction ideas are “first class”. The floral fabrics for the second one will be so summery and sweet and a totally different feel to the finish. Equally lovely. You are one talented creative lady!!!! Hugs to you…………………………………

    • Thank you so much Doreen! You are so kind and supportive friend! I can’t wait to MIX other Fabrics and colours for NEW bags. Hugs! x Teje

  2. Your bag is fabulous Teje – I love the colours!!

  3. Your bag is just fantastic.Well done!!

  4. Hello dear Teje,

    What a lovely bag! Many wonderful details, and the colors are just perfect, to my eye both Creek and Finnish! And I am eyeing the pink parts already, that will be fantastic too!

    Have a lovely week, and what: only two weeks until Juhannus!!! Can’t believe it!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! I feel also it has Finnish and Greek feeling. I can’t believe that Juhannus is so soon, I feel it’s still spring. We just somehow passed the spring this year. And the weather here is still like in spring – strange. I have heard that you have really warm there. I hope it continues loooong time! Hugs! x Teje

  5. What a beautiful bag – I’m really looking to seeing the next more “romantic” one as I just love the fabric you’re about to use…..
    Alison x

  6. The Greek cross is just perfect for you : ) it’s lovely

  7. Tosi kiva kassi! “Rusetti”kiinnitys on hauska, tykkään kassin korkeasta mallista. Ihanan nostalgisia kirjoja, taitaa löytyä omastakin hyllystä, ja joissakin on vielä alkuperäiset paperikannetkin jäljellä. Taidan mennä katsastasmaan Eurokankaasta tuota kukkakangasta…
    Mukavaa viikkoa!

  8. Such a beautiful bag T! Love it! Jxo

  9. I love this bag! The way you made the strap adjustable is very clever too. Well done, I hope you will make more.

  10. That’s a fantastic design – lots of lovely original ideas – and beautifully made! well done

  11. A beautiful design, Teje!!! Love the adjustable knot feature and your choice of colours and fabrics, as always, is stunning.

  12. I just loooooved the strap idea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I will do it definitelly in my next bag!!!!!

  13. Tykkään, tykkään, tykkään!!

  14. Love your new bag! Great way to use your quilt blocks, which make a great pocket on the front. I love the adjustable strap you made too. Lots of fun details on this project!

  15. Teje, your Greek Cross bag is so pretty. Love the fabrics you used. The painting is lovely too, beautiful blues.

  16. I like the design of your bag, especially the knots or ties and strap. That is all so nice and welcoming to see.

  17. Lovely the bag, Teje! What a fantastic use of your Greek Cross blocks. Looking forward to seeing your progress with those pink floral fabrics!

  18. Le sac est magnifique j’aime bien les couleurs bonne journée Marie-Claire

  19. This is beautiful bag! Plus it probably holds ton which any good shoulder bag must do!! Love it!

  20. Beautiful bag Teje and love the florals for the next one! Thanks for sharing at Linky Tuesday! Freemotion by the River

  21. Your new bag is really nice, I love this tune of blue! The floral fabric is as well beautiful!

  22. Fantastic finish Teje ! Love all the details of the bag and the new one you’re whipping up is darlng too! Love that fabric. Thanks for the flower and landscape images. You are lucky to have paintings from your family… No womder why you are so talented – it runs in the family! Good for you…

  23. This is a really beautiful bag, Teje! It has so many little special details!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!
    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

