Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Greek Cross block – Tutorial

16 Comments

Hi! I miss so much sewing that yesterday i did my best to start something. Somehow just lately i started to pay attention to the Greek Cross block. It’s great and has lots of possibilities to make different patterns. And if one lives in Greece, shouldn’t she make them?! I shall absolutely make a whole quilt with these – some day …

Greek Cross block

I wanted to try some of the new fabrics that i bought from my trip to Finland. Have to find more low volumes!

Greek Cross block

The squares i used are 3.5″ x 3.5″ and the stripes 2″ x 15″ (better cut a little bit longer strip than we needed).

Greek Cross block

After sewing the stripes, cut from it 4 squares 3.5″ x 3.5″. Then just sew the squares together in any order you prefer.

Greek Cross block

My trimmed block ended up 9.5″ x 9.5″.

I prefer to cut with easy numbers like 3.5″ than something like [{ 3 1/37}] because numbers just aren’t my friends. But because of that my blocks’ finished sizes may be something ‘strange’. So if you like to end up with some exact size, then please do the math on your own.

Greek Cross block

For fun i made negative pair.

Greek Cross blocks

This was a testing and lesson for me, but then i got an idea what to make with these blocks. It’s now wip on my table …

Greek Cross blocks

When i have quilted these pieces, i’ll see if i continue my idea or make something else.

Jewelry making

We are busy with many many things  (small part of the materials that are taking over our home) one of them is making jewelries for our shop Trikimia.

Gem Stone bracelets

Could you guess what this old wooden piece is? I found it once on the side of the road and it’s piece of an old electricity pillar (is that right word?) … near to the sea to get that gorgeus turquoise colour on the iron parts. I have made lots of bracelets …

Bracelets by Trikimia

Lots of colours and mix of stones etc. Hb has made lots of worry beads. Unfortunately today was very cloudy day so the sun didn’t light these beautiful Agate stones. I love these pastels and how the colour change.

Worry Beads by Trikimia

Few more bracelets …

Bracelets by Trikimia

I think i go now to my sewing attic and stitch those Greek Cross blocks …

Bracelet by Trikimia

Thank you for visiting and reading my blog! And thank you for your wonderful comments – Miss Thelma Patch was happy to hear you like her! In fact at this moment she is sitting in the car to be ready to go some where early in the morning!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

16 thoughts on “Greek Cross block – Tutorial

  1. Those are beautiful pictures of your lovely jewellery.

  2. Sigh…..such lovely photos!!! And I really love your creative spot!!! It’s just “exploding” with inspiration!!!! Enjoying the warm weather here……we aren’t getting the storms, heat, humidity, etc that the southern states are being hit with. Flooding along the Mississippi River is a problem, though. The quilting continues even though my posts are few. Summer is so full of activities!!!!! Hugs………..

  3. great block, Teje! I really like the bold Greek Cross!
    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  4. Those positive negative blocks are so cool! Can’t wait to see what you do with those. And the bracelets? Very, very pretty! Each one a unique treasure!

  5. It always strikes me how a quite simple design like your Greek Cross can result in such beautiful blocks. Love your idea to make a ‘negative’ too.
    Your bracelets look beautiful too. I especially like the glass beads and the pastel colored ones; they have such a natural look.
    Groetjes, Dorien

  6. Les bijous et les deux version de blocks sont très beau bonne journée Marie-Claire

  7. Love your blocks! The positive and negative versions could make a great project.

  8. I so agree with Kelly…. great block! So easy and so interesting. Love the positive/negative effect.

  9. Another cool project coming out of your studio. I love the bracelets and so creatively photographed. Are they going to be in your Etsy shop? Is the one with the tassel a necklace–what beautiful stones. Sonja

    • Thank you Sonja! With the tassel is Worry Beads. I can make listings to etsy shop, even I have also something else in my mind. Have a wonderful day! x Teje

  10. So glad you had a wonderful day of sewing! I liked seeing you bead area.

  11. Lovely quilt block. I love the negatives. Very effective🙂 Your jewellery is also looking beautiful Teje.

  12. The Greek cross is a really great block and the quilt is guaranteed to come out great. Love your Finnish fabrics too🙂 fun to see your jewelry too. I have a friend just like you.shes so creative and always trying out new things.

    • Thank you Cille! Tachese two blocks became a bag! I hope to post it soon. Hb didn’t like the cross – perhaps he would except it for a quilt. I really like your designs and the new quilt will be fantastic. That pattern could work also with men’s shirts. x Teje

  13. Pingback: 2 Dogs Studio » Scrappy Summer #1

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

