Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Photos from Finland 1

19 Comments

Hi friends! I promised you post cards but I changed the name to ‘Photos from Finland’ because these will be snap shoots on my way around here. I try to give you a picture of ‘everyday’ life in Finland. At this time of the year the nature is waiting to change to spring and fields are empty. When I came on Sunday evening there were no snow in south Finland but today we got some.

IMG_7248

IMG_7240

… testing my new camera …

canon s 120

Next photos are from Lahti – just passing through on my way to Hameenlinna …

LahtiLahti

These walls are to keep the traffic noise away from the areas with homes.

IMG_7307

IMG_7308

I think these were swans but not exactly sure as they were so far. Lots of birds are coming from south in spring …

IMG_7309

Today I went to see dear friends and their new dog, this cute boy. He is so beautiful with huge eye lashes and big paws!

IMG_7311

And this was waiting us when we returned home …

IMG_7314

Snow white! Till the weekend it should be again warmer, about +9C so the snow will be gone soon. Old, empty hedgehog’s house …

IMG_7318

And I did manage to find already something delicious …

Novita's yarn

Thank you for joining my trip!

TEJE

PS. If you are on my blog’s main page you could click on the name of the post and like that the post and photos will be bigger.

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

19 thoughts on “Photos from Finland 1

  1. How was the trip to Hameenlinna (my birth town!…though can’t remember much, hah)? Lovely to see the photos, even if the weather makes it all look quite bleak. Do you remember, Grandpa used to often have those “fox” sweets (=kettukarkkeja) ! I love the wrapping on them (makes me remember our childhood…and makes me feel sooooo old now).

    • Hi Tiia! It was a lovely day – just too short! All the way, about two hours, the view was very much the same, empty fields, farm houses and forest. And then some snow! Those Fox marmelades are great and tomorrow I’ll go to buy Fazer’s chocolate with salmiakki! x Teje

  2. Heipsan Teje,

    Ihan parhautta kun olet jo tutuille kulmille päässyt! Ja voi vitsit kun hymyilytti: lankaa ja suomi-namuja oli jo löytynyt 🙂 Ihanaa!

    Mahtavia päiviä!

    Terkut hyytävän kylmästä Joensuusta!

    Mia

    • Kiitos Mia! Kouvolassa on mulle just sopivan raikasta – ei sada ja nayttaa tulevan aurinkoinen paiva. Loysin jo kankaitakin … Hauskaa paivaa sinulle! x Teje

  3. Beautiful pictures from what I can see as a beautiful country. But I never would have thought you were going to write about noice barriers!

  4. Hi Teje! Enjoy your trip. I love seeing the photos

  5. Looking great Teje, enjoy your stay x

  6. Beautiful… And in a month everything will be green too 🙂

  7. Lovely to see the differences in scenery between Finland and South Africa. In my mind Finland is always covered in snow and its good to discover that its not the case! Hope you have a wonderful holiday. We easing into autumn now after an extremely hot summer.

    • Thank you Gail! Snowy white winter is beautiful but summer is unbelievable beautiful, too! Everywhere so much green, forests and fields and then those thousands and thousands of blue lakes! Enjoy your autumn – my favourite season! x Teje

  8. Lovely to see your pictures of Finland, and to learn more about it from your posts too. Your new yarn is a lovely sunny colour and matches those sweets perfectly! Thank you for your lovely comment, Teje, so delighted to hear you found my book in a library there 🙂 Wishing you a really happy trip, and I look forward to the next installment.
    Helen xox

    • Thank you Helen! I’m always looking for to visit the library and this time I found again some great books I hadn’t seen before – like yours! Have a lovely day! x Teje

  9. I enjoyed seeing your photos. I hope you are having a lovely time 🙂

  10. Hello Teje, You know I love Finland. Thanks so much for sharing a bit of your homeland.
    A big hug,
    Kiitoksia Paljon—–
    Anne
    PlumCreek22

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

