Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Fabric Basket and Drawstring Bag

48 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! I’m happy to show something sewn: a fabric basket (again), finished several days ago …

fabrik basket

I had cut all the pieces and prepared them for quilting … long time ago … somehow it just remained undone. But then one day it was time to catch it and I finished it quickly because to pick the materials, measure and cut them, takes time.

basket with ikea fabric

This fabric is from Ikea and I really like it. I hope to make a bag with this, too.

paper piecing hexagons

Unfortunately my hexie project is at the end of the list now. I don’t think that I can even take them to Finland because there are now many other more busy things to do. I may have to crochet during my ‘holidays’. I was thinking to ask if I could go to visit ‘Novita’s’ yarn factory near to my home – we’ll see. Perhaps to get some cotton yarn …

hexagons

They look fun and I’m happy to see them and to know that they are not going any where, till I have free moment for them!

drawstring bag

You remember my bags without strings? Often I don’t find what I’m looking for … and often I find something I’m not looking for …

IMG_6952

Satin ribbon didn’t look right with these fabrics and I was hoping to find something like cotton or linen. No way, only satin … except this which is like burlap! I think it’s great but is it great for this job? It’s not slippery so it may not be easy to draw … I guess I need to look more.

donkey

Donkey it is! I was so happy to see this fellow on my way! There was no place to stop even for a minute so I took photo from the car. I was even more happy and surprised to see it, because just few days before my blog friend Jane, showed donkey that she had met on her way!

I just wrote about my ‘Walk in Old Town of Chania’ in Trikimia’s blog. Welcome to join my walk and see how our Venetian Harbour and Old Town look in winter time. Meet also one very Special dog-mom!

spring

Have your heard about LILY PAD Quilting’s blog hop: ‘Rescue Me’? Write a post about your ‘Rescue-Me’ story, dog or cat you have rescued, join the linky party and you may win great presents! I have many stories: ‘Foxy’, ‘Hanna’, ‘Nelli’, ‘Hania’, ‘Obi’, ‘Stavros’,  ‘Susi’ …

drawstring bag

Thank you for visiting and for your lovely comments! Hope to see you soon!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

48 thoughts on “Fabric Basket and Drawstring Bag

  1. What a sweet basket Teje and how neat to see a Donkey by the road!! Thanks for sharing! Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  2. Love the basket Teje — oh so cute. And a donkey by the road ? Is he wild and roaming or does he belong to someone ? Interesting…

    • Thank you Karen! He belongs to someone and was tied there to eat grass. I think he belongs to a man WHO lives in an old House next to the road. x Teje

  3. Teje I love your fabric basket. What a great knitting basket! Did you use a pattern for this? I would love to make one.

  4. I’m so pleased you finished your project Teje…it’s so satisfying to do this isn’t it. How funny that you also met a donkey on the road….I wonder if he walked all the way from the New Forest to Crete…LOL. Happy Tuesday x

    • Thank you Jane! I was happy to see the donkey just after your donkey! This had beautiful long fur. It was there only few days. x Teje

  5. I think those draw strings are so perfect!!!! Just give an extra tug if they aren’t slippery enough. The yarn bucket is so neat and I love the Ikea fabric, also!!!! I sent you an e-mail link to a very clever/beautiful stitching…..thought of you…..hugs………………………

    • Thank you Doreen! I like the ‘burlap’ ribbon and I think I use for these ‘linen’ bags – even it may not move so well. The for some other ‘normal’ gabs I’ll put slippery satin ribbon. Thank you for the link, I shall absolutely try that idea (and show it here). x Teje

  6. Your baskets and bags are always so pretty T! And practical too! Enjoy the beautiful sunshine! Jxo

  7. Your basket is beautiful and love the pretty yarn inside…thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. Love your basket and your hexies!

  9. love the size of that fabric basket. And the hexies look gorgeous in the sunshine.

  10. I LOVE your basket! How cute and practical that is!! Thank you for sharing it… love your donkey too!

  11. Your basket looks great, and it shows that your hexies will get back to your hands someday as well. Obviously it’s not the right time now.
    The ‘burlap’ ribbon looks amazing; never seen anything like it, and it looks as if it works.
    groetjes, Dorien

  12. What gorgeous photos, Teje! Your projects are all very lovely. Those hexies are very sweet! And the drawstring bag. Love the hand quilting!

    • Thank you Lorna! I’m happy to be able to take photos in the garden with sunshine. Just wish I could sit there with my hexies. Have a lovely Sunday! x Teje

  13. Lovely work, as usual. Love seeing the pictures–imagine, a donkey hoofing it down the road. I’m sure you are looking forward to your trip home to Finland, I know you will have a wonderful time and will send us beautiful pictures of places we have never been. Hugs from Sonja and Lady C

  14. Lovely basket – the side is great! You always have so many projects going on 🙂

  15. What lovely views you have, I love your design and the work you do. You make it look easy!

  16. What a cute basket Teje! Pretty fabric too. How nice to see a donkey on the side of the road. 🙂 Here where I live farmers have donkeys in their cow pastures because coyotes are afraid of coyotes. It’s a “specific breed” of some kind of donkey the coyotes fear, not all of them. We have a lot of coyotes around here. We hear them at night and I saw one a few months back while walking in the morning with my neighbor’s 2 dogs. It was very close to us but thankfully ran off.

    Love the link you included about rescuing pets who need loving homes. Rescues are the way to go for me and all of our future dogs will be rescues. Two of our dogs were rescues. One I found left tied up at the vet where I worked. She was a mixed breed (55ish lbs.) and a wonderful, sweet precious, loving, intelligent, & silly girl. Our other rescue love bug was was a 2 1/2 year old German Shepherd that a family no longer wanted. She had not been socialized properly (didn’t trust people or other dogs), had no training and had been mistreated/abused. It took time, dedication, work, and love to teach her the “rules of our home” but she learned very well. She was a loving, loyal, devoted, intelligent sweet heart.

    • Thank you Lea! Great to hear that donkeys can do that job! Margaret told in her comment that they guard also sheeps. It’s not nice if you have to worry about coyotes when walking with dogs. Could it have attacted to you or the dogs? Your work must be exciting, interesting but often also hard. There is so often ‘someone’ waiting to be rescued and I’m happy that I have been able to give home for some of them. Have a lovely Sunday! x Teje

      • I’ve heard that even bears will stay away from donkeys. I don’t expect that a coyote would attack us on our walks but I keep a watchful eye since that day. It is not common to see them in the daylight but it does happen. They are more likely to go after weak, vulnerable, sick, lone, older and younger animals. I kept the 2 dogs by my side that day (safety in numbers) and we moved QUICKLY away from the coyote.

        How wonderful that you have rescued some shelter babies. They are so grateful to live in a loving and good home. From experience they know a good thing when they’ve got it. I met a lady who rescues deaf boxers only. That’s her thing. The work she has done with these dogs is amazing! She has taught them sign language and they intently watch her sign. She said it is easier to teach a deaf dog because there are fewer distractions. Hugs to Nero, Hanna & Nelli. Have a wonderful Sunday Teje! x Lea

  17. Your fabric basket is beautiful! And what a great collection of hexies to have waiting for whenever you have time for them again.

  18. I have yet to try any of this fabulous ikea fabric I am always seeing! Your projects look great…all of them:) Loving your hexies and the tray you use is such a good idea. The drawstring bag is so adorable and I love the hand stitching you added…perfect and glad you waited for the perfect string too. Just the right one!

    • Thank you so much! I’m happy with the Ikea Fabrics I have used. They are good quality, have great modern designs and good price, too. Have a lovely Sunday! x Teje

  19. I love your bag, but maybe it’s because making bags is one of my favourite things! Donkeys are wonderful. There are two who live down our road and their job is to guard the flock of sheep. They take it very seriously!

  20. I love the basket too! I have a bunch of that same fabric my sister picked up for me from IKEA and I love it so much. Not sure what all I will make out of it but that sure is a cute idea!

  21. I love the knitting bag – I wish I knitted just so I could make one!!!!

  22. Ihana koppa langoille! Laitan to do-listalleni. Oli taas oikein mukava käydä täällä sinun luon piristymässä. Hyvää viikonloppua ja rapsutuksia karvaturkeille

  23. The little yarn basket is just great. I love the fabric. I also love the photo of all the little hexagons, in their colour order. Just lovely! Have a good week. Ros

  24. Hello Teje,

    Happy makes, and such lovely colors! Those hexies in that box look so so pretty, and one day they’ll be a beautiful… quilt? Pillow cover? Something stunning I know!

    And oh my, it’s soon time for you to pack for Finland – have you made aamukampa yet for the remaining mornings before you travel 🙂

    Have a lovely week, dear friend!

    Yours,
    Mia

  25. What beautiful images! Great projects and stunning photographs! Thanks for linking up!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

