Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Crochet Lace & Paints

25 Comments

Hello friends – so great to see you! Lots of lots of lots of things are going on here again. Sewing is not thrown on the side but at the moment it’s storm of ideas in my mind. Instead of sewing I have made little crocheting in short spare moments …

Crochet Grandmother's Lace

This book has been on my self some years and now and then I find inspiration from it. This spring I want to try some new crochet ideas …

cotton crochet lace

… I like to crochet neck-lace … there you see it’s ment to be lace! Yarn is lovely cotton for summer in red, white, turquoise and blue … for now – I’m sure you guess that I shall look for more colours.

red crochet lace

Can you explain why I feel and say always that I don’t like red and I’m not ‘red person’ and still I really enjoy workind with red?!

crochet lace

This book doesn’t have explinations but only illustrated patterns, which works well for me. Many of the patterns look first really complicated, but after studying them for a while, most of them are quite simple.

crochet stone

Not to become monotony,  I crocheted one new stone. This is totally improvised from my mind at the moment I made it. I started with a circle,  made five petals and then net around them. I would like to learn to crochet more complicated patterns on the stones.

crochet lace

This is my latest try. I hadn’t paid any attention on this pattern until one day having my coffee and just leafing this book ‘to pass the time’. I realized that it’s very simple, looks fun and is easy to make different variations.

crochet lace

Lots of ideas for this … adding something else … if I ever have time to try all my ideas.

colours

This week has been very much about colours and paints. I just love to look colour-maps and make plans for different ideas! I would be grazy happy to paint with these colours …

happy paints

Could you ever be on blue mood if you had an orange kitchen?! Unfortunately even me I wouldn’t dare to paint kitchen orange … too bad. We are not painting our kitchen … and not with orange … and not with the colours below, but there will be turquoise!

painting

And there will be even brighter turquoise … just a little bit …

painting

I’m sorry that the colours doesn’t show here as bright as they are. If you can’t wait to see our paintings finished, guess if I can! and I don’t have time to paint – or to wash my car …

mystery

I almost deleted this photo and just then thought to ask you what you think I saw through my dusty window on my way home. I’m anxious to hear what you see here!

crochet stone and lace

I hope you have a lovely weekend with wonderful weather, so you can enjoy and perhaps make even some springly things outside! I shall go to play with Nero and Hanna – a little bit in the garden and then for a walk with ‘London’, my golden friend. I like to call her ‘kultainen’ (golden in Finnish) because it means ‘darling and sweet’.

Thank you for stopping by and for your wonderful comments!

Take care and be creative!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

25 thoughts on “Crochet Lace & Paints

  1. Your crochet looks gorgeous Teje and not simple at all! Such fine delicate thread. I love colour too and spring brings on a whole new palette. Happy Saturday x

  2. Kauniita pitsejä! Vaalea turkoosi on hauska pompuloineen! Terveisiä Kouvolasta, kävin tänään teatterissa siellä. Takatalvi (tai siis tähän aikaan normaali sää) koettelee vain maakuntaa, lunta on tullut koko päivän, Kouvolassa sitä oli vielä enemmän kuin täällä. Mutta kesää kohti mennään tuiskusta huolimatta!

    • Kiitos kovasti! Kiva kun piipahdit Kouvolassa. Nain etta siella on maa valkeana. Toivottavasti sulaa pian pois! Meillakin saa vaihtelee ja on ollut viela yllattavan kylmia paivia. Aurinkoiset terveiset! Teje

  3. Magnifique j’aime bien Marie-Claire

  4. Hello Teje,

    Beautiful lace, and that red looks so pretty! And oh all those paint colors – too many to choose from🙂 I think its spring&light&bright that makes you wish for new paint and all, happens to me very year!

    Have a lovely weekend!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! Yes, in spring it’s great to fix and paint. You couldn’t guess what we paint … Happy Sunday my friend! x Teje

  5. Lovely lace! and I love the rock as well….:)

  6. It appears you may have a donkey(?) nearby????? I love the little necklace. That book is a treasure for sure and you will make good use of it!!!! Hugs………..

  7. Haw…Haw… a beautiful donkey happy munching….

  8. My parents had their orange kitchen installed in the early 70’s, and they still have it. Every time I see it, it makes me smile; it is such a happy kitchen!
    The crochet you are showing today is beautiful and delicate. I especially like the turquoise border pattern.
    And for your picture-question; is it a donkey? Looking at the colours and shape I think it must be.

    • Thank you Dorien! That kitchen sound fantastic! My parents had red kitchen but it has been changed to white long time ago. Colours make me happy and I know you, too! I wish you colourful Sunday! x Teje

  9. Looks like its a wonderful, playful weekend at your place. The animal… Not sure. If you were in Finland i would say probably an elk but definitely not on Crete🙂

    • Thank you Cille! I saw yesterday in tv so beautiful reindeers! In south Finland, where I am, we have elks – sometimes quite close to houses. They are beautiful! x Teje

  10. I like to work from illustrations and pictures. It goes faster. It has been some time since I crocheted anything. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Your lacy crochet is so delicate and beautiful, Teje! I do admire the effect! Love your pretty paint colours…..I think turquoise shades are gorgeous, and would look lovely in a sunny country🙂
    Wishing you a happy week ahead.
    Helen xox

  12. Just read through the comments, REINDEERS! I thought it was a donkey and a reindeer is much better🙂 Your lace work is absolutely beautiful!

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

