Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

FOX ON MY PILLOW

57 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! I hope you are fine. Things are happening slower here as my shoulder bothers me, but could I avoid the sewing and computer totally? no … so little bit here and there … and the Fox jumped on a pillow …

IMG_6746

This cute fox is paper pieced and I was really happy to put him on the kitchen plot with carrots and ret roots. Pattern for the foundation pieced fox is made by Kristy from ‘Quiet Play’ and it’s availabe in her Craftsy Store.

IMG_6719

Kristy’s paper piecing patterns are fantastic, well made and for beautiful, fun and great things. She has now also BOM (block of the month) going on for kitchen themed patterns. Button is on my sidelist.

IMG_6743

I had a pillow in my mind for the fox … but how … I ‘saw’ something stronger and darker around him and not my usual happy colours with white. So I picked this ikea fabric which can be imagined as shadow garden aroung the kitchen plot.

IMG_6734

Today has been cloudy with some rain. I was lucky to finish the pillow just in time to go out and catch a little bit sunshine. Nero was wandering around and so was Hanna …

IMG_6703

In the beginning of the spring there is lots of yellow around. Our side view on a sunny day few days ago …

IMG_6695

But today dark clouds came closer and closer and wind pushed the pillow …

IMG_6742

Quilting on this pillow is simple, just few green lines like hays. By hand I stitched one line around the block. Unfortunately quilting and staying at the computer bother now mostly my arm and shoulder – not to mention crocheting (out of the question). Gently I can baste some hexies – I think. It is unbelievable difficult not to do anything – at least to try not to use your right hand.

IMG_6675

Neighbour’s sheeps were watching us and what we are doing. These are not used to Nero and Hanna and if dogs go near they run away – not like the earliers who were running and playing with Nero (both on their sides).

IMG_6739

Today even it’s Monday, it feels Sunday because it’s a holiday here, called ‘Clean Monday’. From today begins the Easter Fast. Tradition is that people go for a drive/walk, have a pic nic with family and friends and fly kites.

IMG_6747

Rain came and we came inside … now after a while it’s again sunny with some clouds … till it rain’s again. I think Nero would be very happy if we go out to play before the next shower.

IMG_6689

He has had more pain on her bag legs these days as it has been colder and wet. I’m so sad to see that his movements are not at all comfortable and the beg legs make very short steps. It’s difficult to believe that in next autumn he will be 10 years. So I’ll go out to make my dear friend happy!

IMG_6732

Thank you for your sweet comments on Nero’s Hexagon Post! I have made several more and prepared more squares so you’ll see more of them. Thank you so much for reading my little blog! I wish you wonderful week – hopefully without any dark clouds!

PS. I want to tell you still that I just saw Esther’s NEW Paper piecing patterns! Wow they are fantastic! Full set of train, wagons etc. foundation piecing patterns! Have a look HERE! There is a chance to win them, too! Esther’s beautiful blog is ‘ipatch’!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

57 thoughts on “FOX ON MY PILLOW

  1. What a cute fox pillow!!! Oh my grandson would love it because he loves foxes.

  2. Hello Teje!!!
    Thank you so much for mentioning my newest train pattern! You are the BEST!
    Hugs
    Esther

    • You’re welcome Esther! I’m happy that I saw them just in time to add in this post. Your blocks are amazing and I can’t wait to see your quilt! x Teje

  3. Will that adorable fox have some other pillow friends? I love the Ikea fabric–it’s a perfect match for your veggies on the front.
    Just a suggestion for Nero–we give our German Shepherd a daily dose of glucosamine/chondroitin for his hips and joints. Since we live on the Maine coast we give him something called Sea Jerky that uses sea cucumber from a company called Coastside Bio Resources down the road in Stonington, Maine (they’re online). He loves it like a special treat and it has helped several of our dogs with aches and pains. We have friends who take their people supplement for the same reason with great results. I’m sure you can find something like it in Greece. Hope you both stop feeling achey soon!

    • Thank you Karen very much for your sweet and helpful comment! Nero takes sometimes medicin from his vet but I haven’t seen any difference with that. I shall look for that you said and try it.
      I would like to make friends for this fox! x Teje

  4. Sending you and Nero healing hugs Teje, I am sorry to hear that you are both suffering. The fox cushion is great. Take care xx

  5. Darling little fox, and I always love to see the beautiful scenery

  6. What a beautiful fox on your pillow – so sorry to hear your arm and shoulder hurt, andn Nero too

  7. That fox in the veg patch is just adorable, he looks like he’s been caught doing something he shouldn’t! I hope your shoulder gets better very soon.

  8. Your little foxy is wonderful……I’m in love with your choice for the sky!!! The Ikea fabric is so “smart and chic”!!!! All the green and blue in your photos help with the long cold days here!!!!! Hugs……………..

  9. This is adorable! I love the fabrics you chose!!

  10. I too love the pillow and your pictures. Nice to see a beautiful spring day! Hey…FYI: Your comments are coming through as a no reply…didn’t know if ya knew. V:)

  11. Very nice, Teje! I love the fox on your pillow! I have a thing for foxes lately and he really caught my eye. It is nice to see the green of spring returning to your area! Our fasting starts on Wednesday – as it is Ash Wednesday. A season of Lent before Easter.

  12. A cute little fox! He looks right at home there in your garden. Take care of you shoulder T! Jxo

  13. How sad to hear about your shoulder giving you such a hard time! I really hope it will get better soon and you’ll be able to do everything you want to do again.
    The fox is too cute; I love the carrots and roots fabric; very well chosen.
    Where I come frome ( the south of our little country), we first celebrate Carnival, then on Wednesday we eat a (raw) hering, and then have the fast period until Easter. It is a pity they don’t celebrate it up here in the north, and I really miss it. It’s always nice to read about the peticular customs each country (or part of it) has.

    • Thank you Dorien! I’m happy I bought that carrot fabric. Last Saturday was the carnival evening here but already many days we have seen Children wearing their costumes. Carnaval time used to be more popular but still in many cities they make really great and big carnavals. x Teje

  14. I really enjoyed this post, Teje! Your fox pillow is just fabulous! I love the pattern and the colours, and the fabrics are just perfect! Hope your shoulder will soon be better. Enjoy your sunny days.
    Helen xox

  15. Hello Teje,

    That is one cute pillow – the fox-design looks perfect on this! I am sorry to hear your shoulder-problems, you should try to get some rest but I know how hard it is to do “nothing” – I wish you’ll feel better soon!

    Have a wonderful March-week!

    Yours,
    Mia

  16. You fox pillow is adorable and Nero is so beautiful. I hope both of you feel better very soon to enjoy the outdoor as weather gets better.

    -Soma

  17. Teje, you’re pillow is just darling. Like you I work with brighter fabrics but I love the fabric you used for this pillow. I hope you’re shoulder is better soon, take it easy. I know, easier said than done. I have a bum shoulder too and I understand how it interferes with sewing, typing, etc. Have you tried heat on it? Sometimes that helps me. I use hot towel (as hot as my skin can stand) or electric heating pad. Maybe Nero would like heat on his aching joints? Beautiful boy he is. Both of you take care and feel better soon.

    • Thank you Lea for caring! We try to put little bit light blanket on Nero’s back legs when he sleeps. Sometimes he leaves it for a long time and I’m sure it feels good until he feels too warm. For me the warm helps very much. I have almost all the time now shawl on my shoulder and also when sleeping. Thank you for sharing your expecience and tips! x Teje

  18. Sorry to hear about your shoulder and I hope it is better soon. Your pillow is just lovely!

  19. Your foxy pillow is gorgeous! Hope the shoulder improves! xCathy

  20. It is lovely! I like those pictures before the rain. The color of the sky looks great on pics, lol.

  21. what a great cushion! Kristy’s designs are always fab

  22. that is a wonderful pillow- I love your fabric choices. Hope your pups leg feels better ASAP!

  23. Thanks for sharing your charming pillow and doing it outside!! I’m looking out the window at snow, so your spring photos are wonderful to see!! Shoulder issues are frustrating — had one last year – ended up going to physical therapy to finally deal with it — it was slow going — hope your’s improves!

    • Thank you Mary! Forttunately my shoulder is better. I had some years ago Frozen shoulder on the left and went to physical therapy for three months. We should stretch more to avoid these.
      Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  24. Your pillow is just wonderful! I also enjoyed the photos of the beautiful scenery.

  25. I love the way you quilted this! Its as if he is peering out from behind long blades of grass. A great use for Kristy’s cute pattern.

    • Thank you Juliet! Perhaps the quilting idea came from my photos because often I like to put my sewings so that there are some greens or flowers front of them. x Teje

  26. Love how he turned out! Really sweet cushion! Hope tthat your shoulder feels better soon!

  27. The fox is so cute, I like how you placed him in the the garden!

    • Thank you Kim! I’m every day so often in the garden with the dogs, that usually my sewings come there, too! Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

  28. cute pillow, and I hope your shoulder feels better soon!

    Thanks so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

