Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Nero’s Tutorial: Paper Piecing Hexagons

48 Comments

Vof vof friends! Welcome to my hexy post! I show you how I make little paper pieced hexagons – they are easy piecy! Even I can make them – could, if someone just threads my needle!

Nero is paper piecing

Look what I have put in my project box – all I need to paper piece hexagons. First you need paper templates. I have copied my templates from the ‘Incompetech’, printed them and then cut them. You can also buy ready paper templates from ‘Paperpieces’.

paper piecing hexies

With the papers I use paper clips. You can use also glue, but I have found paper clips quick and easy to use and prefer them. If you are just beginning paper piecing, you can use pins in the beginning until your fingers get used to hold and turn the fabric.

english paper piecing

Then I need thread for basting (blue) – it’s good to use colour that you can see easily to take off later.

For sewing I like to use white during all the work even it may be a little visible somewhere. You can use any colour you like to match with your Fabrics.

Needles I use two: longer for basting and shorter for sewing – both are quite thin.

Little scissors to cut threads and easy to fit in the project box.

Big glass jar is for my goodies?! – unfortunately not – it is for the basted hexies.

IMG_6612

And then the most exciting: the fabrics! This time I use 2.5″ x 2.5″ squares. You can use also hexagons – cut them on your own or even buy ready hexagon-fabric-bundles).

Just in no time I had prepared about 100 squares! And I’m ready to start paper piecing.

Put the fabric in the middle of the paper template and use two paper clips …

IMG_6615

Start to baste it. Fold the edges as you go futher …

paper piecing hexagons

I make knot at the end of the thread and when I have basted around the hexagon I made one extra stitch.

IMG_6618

Here you go! Couldn’t be easier!

IMG_6619

Then make an other one …

paper piecing

Make quickly seven hexagons …

paper pieced hexagons

… and now there is no return! You can already start to play with them and you will see that you just have to make one more … and one more … and one more … and one more …

IMG_6627

The more you make the more you have choises to play. My only ‘problem’ is that I had a plan to make something else than flowers. But if you make flowers, after 7 hexagons you could already start to sew them together!

IMG_6629

There are lots of ways to arranges them and also so many places to use them. I shall tell you an other time where you can use hexagons – except to make a quilt.

paper pieced hexagons

I hope I managed to inspire you to try English paper piecing! Before I tried, ‘I knew that this is not for me’! So much time for fuzzling with papers and basting and hand sewing – no way … but never say never …

IMG_9191

IMG_9190

… you see that last spring I started paper piecing project with octagons and tiny squares … on this table … and it was supposed to be something to sew during the hot summer … but somehow it happend that it was finished before the summer! I just got hooked with those little pieces and couldn’t wait to see how they grow! ‘Summer Wine’ is now on the side table next to my bed.

paper pieced hexagons

Find more Information and links on my page ‘Paper Piecing’.

Thank you for visiting and for your sweet comments! I send you big furry hugs and hope to see you soon again!

NERO

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

48 thoughts on “Nero’s Tutorial: Paper Piecing Hexagons

  1. I just love basting hexies! Sitting outside doing this by the hour is so soothing : )

  2. Nero, you are the best tutor. I may just give it a go even though my first thought is no way, too much fuss in’ about–just like your mom thought and look at the beauties she has made. T think there should be another jar out there as well, one with extra special goodies for a job well done.

    • Thanks Sonja for thinking of my goodies! Have a fix other jar for them and let her keep this for hexies. Anyway she took my coocie-tupper to carry this project! Hugs to all you there! x Nero

  3. Thanks Nero! Grin…..I’ll have to try the paperclips. Woof Woof!

  4. Nero you are one handsome crafty fellow. I’ve never tried paper piecing, but if or rather when I do, your tutorial has already helped me alot ,especially they paper clipping the fabric to the paper that’s a great idea. Thanks so much for sharing. 🙂

  5. Les hexagon sont très beau maintenant j’ai vu comment faire est ce que les carton reste de dans et pour laver comment faut il faire

  6. Beautiful and your helper is adorable.Have a great week!

  7. Melody is very good at REMOVING the paper pieces if you need help. 😉 nice bright colours!

  8. Kiitos linkistä tulostettaviin pohjiin ja ohjeesta! Hexagoneihin tutustuminen on ollut suunnitelmissa pitkään, kun olen monessa blogissa ihaillut niistä tehtyjä töitä. Tästä sain taas lisäintoa asiaan. Mukavaa viikkoa sinulle!

    • Hei ja kiitos viestistasi! Jos et ole viela kokeillut niin suosittelen! Ei niista tarttee tehda tilkkupeittoa – voi tehda muutaman, silittaa ne, ja tikata koristeeksi vaikka pussukan paalle. Silittaminen auttaa saumanvaroja pysymaan paikoillaan ja sitten voi ottaa paperin pois ja ommella kasin tai koneella ‘jonnekin’. Terveisin Teje

  9. I do love paper piecing hexies, Teje, and you have described how to do it so well in this lovely post! You are lucky to have such a cute helper too! Love the hexies you have made, and I look forward to seeing what they become.
    Wishing you a wonderful week!
    Helen xox

    • Thank you Helen! Your Paper piece projects are always so beautiful! I hope that I can engourage many to start or continue epp. My plan is a wall quilt, but for the leyout I have still too many choise in my mind… Happy week to you! x Teje

  10. I like the paper clip idea. Thanks! Nero is a good teacher.

  11. Nice tutorial! I love EPP and plan on doing a lot more of it this year. Your Summer Wine mini is absolutely gorgeous!

  12. What a great tutorial Teje and your photos are wonderful!! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  13. Nice tutorial. I am also in the “hexies are not for me” camp but I do think I will give them a try to know for sure! 🙂

  14. You have quite an onlooker helping you with those beautiful hexies! Love the fussy cut. Enjoyed all the photos of Nero who just makes me smile! Thanks for stopping by to comment on the baseball t-shirt quilt! 🙂

  15. Great tutorial! And I must agree, making hexagons is quite addictive. But what really caught my eye in this post, is the wooden box you are keeping your hexagon-materials in. It really is beautiful!

    • Thanks Dorien! I thought the wooden BOX is a little bit dark, but the size is perfect for these squares and helps to show colours. I have two of them, so I think the other one will be useful for the basted as Nero have put his goodies in the jar. x Teje

  16. I really think I could handle that. You make it look so easy. If only I could leave my antique sewing machine a while!
    Sew on!

  17. I do mine slightly differently – I start on the front , and i start in the middle of a side, and tuck the last bit under the first if that makes sense, so all the folds go in the same direction. All works out the same I’m sure – habit I guess

    • Thanks Benta! I’m happy to hear how you do this and I shall absolutely try. When I started I saw this way but yours can be easier. Have a great weekend! x Teje

  18. You are definitely the Hexie Queen. I am starting to work with my first. Hope I can manage it OK. genie

  19. Very clever idea to use paper clips!

  20. Each little hexagon so perfectly made and that cute little face watching over them …….. you’re so beautiful Nero. Ros and Oscar

  21. cute little hexies, Teje! I can see how they would become addictive!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  22. Hello Teje,

    Thank you for this easy-to-follow tutorial, it looks like even I could get these done (not that I really could), but your way of showing and explaining makes it most doable-looking! And oh how pretty those hexies of yours are!

    Happy day!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! This would be piece of cake for you! But I guess you have too many other exciting projects going on all the time. x Teje

  23. Okay, you have definitely convinced me to give it a try! I have never seen the paperclip idea before! 🙂 Thanks for the tutorial, it is really great!

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

  24. Hi Teje,

    My aunt (my mother’s sister) is a quilter. I shared this post with her. Happy creating and quilting.
    Happy March…….
    Anne xxx
    PlumCreek Studio

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

