Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

CLOTH PEGS BASKET – TUTORIAL

49 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! I know that you call them cloth pegs but don’t you like the Finnish name: ‘Laundry Boys’! And if the ‘boys’ have a fun bag – laundry day is going to be pure enjoy!

cloth peg basket

This ‘LAUNDRY BOYS’ fabric basket is now in England with my SISTER and I think she is hoping even more than usually to have lots of sunny days to hang her laundry outside! She wished something to carry the ‘laundry boys’ on hew arm when hanging the cloths out, so I made this for her Christmas package.

cloth peg basket

First I had many patchwork ideas in my mind – using one funny fabric with cloths! My sister’s style is more modern than mine, so I tried to step out from my scrap box and I chose for the base this white-grey fabric which has modern buildings on it. It’s from Ikea and more firm than normal cotton. It was a good choise because now it looks like the laundry rope is hanging from the walls between the houses.

fabric basket

When I start to make any fabric basket I think just about what size I want (height and the bottom width) and then I start with the bottom piece. Now I made oval using a plate to make the edges round. Then I took the measurement around the bottom and started to make the main piece (making it a little bit longer and trimming it later).

I quilted the bottom and the main piece with wadding, following the Lines of the buildings on the fabric + straight Lines. My wadding was quite fat and it gave beautiful puffy look for the dresses – Like the wind is swinging them on the Air!

I cut the ‘dress’ pieces just squares and ironed them with fusible Web. After that it was easy to cut the dress shapes from the fabric. I wanted to add some colour and made one orange sun. Also here I used fusible web and then drew the shape of the sun (I could saw it through the fabric).

fabric basket tutorial 1

I stitched the sun with simple stitching few times around. For the dresses I used sik sak to make sure they stay nice even after washing. I made laundry rope with a thin, satin ribbon and cloths pegs with tiny pieces from the same ribbon. Bird is from one Ikea’s fabric and I stitched it simply few times around.

fabric basket tutorial 2

When the main piece was finished, I pinned it with the bottom to be able to trim the main piece as long it needs to be. Then I took the pins away, cut the main pieces for the right size and then sew it with the bottom. I made the lining with cotton fabric. Binding is double folded and I sew it frist on the outside (catching now the main basket with the lining). Then I turned it inside and sew so that the stitiching shows on the right side just next to the binding.

fabric basket tuto

The strap has piece of wadding inside and it’s quilted with straight Lines. In these photos the strap is still with pins because I was thinking few options how to catch it. Finally I simply sew it on the basket. You could also make button holes on the two edges of the strap and then two big buttons on both sides of the basket. Like that you can use the basket also for something else without strap.

If you like to see more details how to make any size fabric basket, click HERE to see the tutorial I made for the ‘Quilt Story’s’ Holiday Series! Those baskets are around and have little scrap trees on them.

fabric basket tutorial

If I may say, I was very happy how this ‘LAUNDY BOYS’ basket ended up! I do enjoy making things with pictures and little stories!

Greek garden

I hope you have lots of sunshine to hang your laundry outside! For me it is a little bit challenge this time of the year. I dry laundry only outside and often we have rainy days and even sun is shining, the humidity is high and the days are still short. But every day is longer and lighter … there it is coming … the Spring!

fabric basket

Today I had a big surprise in the post Office …. something that I had given up for waiting … {tools or toys} and you will see them soon! And I didn’t buy flowers but something else as cute as sweet peas!

Thank you so much for visiting me today! I shall join all my favourite link parties – how great after the brake during the holidays! All the buttons are on my sidelist and there is a new party for Wednesdays! Thank you also for your lovely messages!

Before I leave you I would like you to visit Cath. She wrote about very Special quilts and made also two most beautiful Special quilts. It is very touching story and something that I didn’t know before. Cath’s beautiful and colourful blog is ‘Wombat Quilts’!

Hugs!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

49 thoughts on “CLOTH PEGS BASKET – TUTORIAL

  1. This basket is totally precious! Your sister is a lucky woman.

  2. This is a great basket. It took me a minute to figure out who the laundry boys were — here in the US we usually call them “clothespins.” An older name was “clothes pegs.”

    • Thank you for your visit and lovely comment! I wrote it wrong, it should be cloth pegs – my memory is bad – thanks, I have to edit. x Teje

  3. Now how cute is that! Learn something everyday: laundry boys = clothespins. I’ll bet your sister loved it. Thanks for the tutorial.

  4. What a beautiful basket Teje and the little dresses on it are adorable! Your sister will love it! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  5. Those little dresses sparkle against that modern grey and white background! Sure the boys will be delighted to move into their new home! What a lucky sister you have! Great job!

    • Thank you so much! This became different than my earlier style and I’m so happy I tried to make some other style than usually. I love the dresses! Thank you for the party! x Teje

  6. You put an amazing mount of thought, detail and work in this gift for your sister. She must love it!

  7. Really cute peg bag T! And I love the idea of a ‘boy’ doing the laundry! Jxo

  8. So enjoyed your post!!! It’s so interesting to learn different phrases for those commonly used items. That peg bag is darling marvelously creative! I am always so excited to see what you have put together!!!!! Blessings………………

  9. Moi, onnea uuden koruyrityksen johdosta! Eija

  10. Very very cute clothes peg bag. I love it

  11. I am a sucker for baskets, so I adore your creation! What a lucky sister you have! Am visiting from the Sew Cute link up.

  12. What a great name for clothes pegs Teje. The holder you made for your sister is beautiful the dresses on the line are such a lovely design. There is no washing out here at the moment with all the rain! Hugs xx

  13. That looks amazing! You’re so clever!

  14. I just adore the dresses on the clothes line, Teje!!! A gorgeous bag that’s almost too good to use as a peg basket. Here in Australia we just call them pegs, or maybe clothes pegs.

    • Thank you Pam! I know you like to make also fabric baskets! This was fun Project and I’m sure it’s strong enough for laundry work. x Teje

  15. Perfect work – just as always. Congratulations Teje! B.

  16. I love this basket – what a great idea!

  17. I absolutely adore your clothespin basket. I’m in awe of your use of Ikea fabrics!. Making dresses hanging on the clothesline is genius!
    This would be cuter in my laundry room than the blue plastic bag my clothespins currently reside in.
    {{In my neck of the woods, I’ve heard clothespins, and pegs.}}

    • Thank you Kathy! I have an old basket for my ‘laundry boys’ and they poor boys stay outside day and night, winter and summer. I should make NEW with fabric also for myself. x Teje

  18. It’s lovely! Thank you for the great tutorial too🙂 Avis x

  19. Teje, those little applique dresses are super cute! I love that you come up with clever and beautiful solutions for life’s little tasks! Best to you today and in this new year! xoxo Kelly

  20. We call them clothes pegs, but pecks is great , and laundry boys too! Best of all is the lovely bag you made!

  21. cute little storage bag! The applique is adorable! Oh, and I call them clothes pins. Isn’t it funny how something can have so many names? ha!

    Thanks a bunch for linking up with Needle and Thread Thursday!
    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  22. Magnifique felicitation Marie-Claire

  23. Your clothes peg basket is adorable, Teje! Love the little applique dresses and the stylish colours! Wishing you a wonderful weekend!
    Helen x

  24. Hello Teje,

    What a lovely basket for those laundry boys, hih, that is the sweetest translation ever! And what caught my eye was the LIGHT in these pictures, oh my oh my oh my, we have NONE of that… Spring, come soon🙂

    Have a lovely weekend soon, dear friend!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia! We have had great winter – sometimes many rainy days but not too cold and now again sunshine! Today it was at least +16C. I wish I could send you some light! Happy weekend my friend! x Teje

  25. You are so creative, I love this little basket. Cold, freezing rain here. Too slippery to drive so I guess I should sew ALL day. If only my two monkey kids would let me!

  26. Laundry boys!! Too funny!!

  27. I love that they are called laundry boys! Lucky sister to receive such a creative bag.

  28. Absolutely adorable! I love hanging my laundry to dry outside and kinda miss doing that now that we live in my climatic weather.🙂

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

