Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Beginning the year 2014

26 Comments

Hello Dear Friends! So it’s first post this year … and I don’t know how to start …

January 2014

I should make a review for the last year, but I think it may still wait for a while.

From my new header you can guess where my latest quilt is leading. It will be garden, but I’m not quite sure yet who’s. Perhaps it’s better to wait till I have made all the blocks because new ideas are still coming.

flower pot block

I shall make blocks with things I imagine there could be in this garden. First I thought to make applique flowers, but in this quilt I don’t like to mix many techniques so I used this flower fabric.

bird block

I have two birds on my self, so they will fly to this garden.

Moomin

This cute, little guy was in my garden … he travelled from far away Finland and carried with him …

Moomin pouch

This most adorable pouch made with many Moomin Fabrics! I loooove both of them! You may guess that they came from my Finnish friend Mia! Thank you so much Mia, these are my treasures! I’m sure most of you know Mia and her beautiful work but if you haven’t met Mia yet, visit her blog ‘Handmade by Mia’ and etsy shop to see how cute, sweet and beautiful things she makes – felted bags and pouches with cute creatures on them and Moomin pouches and bags!

sweet fabrics

Just before the Christmas, I ordered few fabrics from etsy shop of Alyce from ‘Blossom Heart Quilts’. They arrived in Christmas Eve – perfect Christmas present! When I saw this blue fabric with stamps, I fall in love with it! Then I saw the pigs which have adored for some time – I picked pink pigs on green.

 fabrics

These yellow fabrics have text and letters. I love letters and lately also yellow. I enjoy watching all these yellows in my ‘Yellow @ January’ collection! It’s so fun to make mosaics with colours!

Today it was great, sunny day to play outside and I played with sea pottery …

sea pottery letters

I made new header for our etsy shop TRIKIMIA. There are lots of new things if you like to have a look. I have been working also  with Trikimia’s blog . There are now photos from our studio and information about sea glass. Still have to make new header and add lots of photos. I shall write now also more often blog posts there, as I have finished most of the basic/beginning works. It takes lots of time to get Social!

greek village

This is our village. If there wasn’t the white clouds on the up left, we would see the ‘White Mountains’ full of shiny white snow!

greek view

To the other direction we see lots of olive trees and green fields In the middle there is a small gorge and it leads to the sea – this day it’s difficult to separate the sea from the sky.

Nero

Today I found many times Nero on the green grass – perhaps it was so fresh, soft and cool that he enjoyed it.

Thank you for visiting and starting the year 2014 with me! I think the first half of the year is always very exciting because there are lots of new events happening, everyone is starting with new energy after sewing so much Christmas things. Days are getting longer and more light is so welcome!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

26 thoughts on “Beginning the year 2014

  1. Lovely new header, Teje, well done. I wish you a wonderful 2014 and look forward to your inspirational blog posts and tutorials. Very hot and sweaty in Cape Town today.

    • Thank you so much Gail, I’m happy to hear that! I love winter here and don’t wait yet spring. I hope you get cooler weather. x Teje

  2. Hi Teje, A New Year, a new adventure. Your jewellery is beautiful! Avis x

    • Thank you so much Avis! I’m happy to hear you like them! We have been so busy trying to get every ready and I have all the time lots of jewelries waiting to take photos and to add to the shop. I’m looking foward new quilt adventures! x Teje

  3. Onpa hienoa, kun löysin blogisi. Olet tehnyt kauniita tilkkutöitä ja muita kivoja juttuja. Koirasi Nero on ihana samoin kuin kissasi. Hyvää uutta vuotta!

  4. Hello dear Teje,

    What a happy start for a new quilt you have, and more I see it, more it looks like spring(garden)to me! It’ll be most beautiful once finished. And I’m happy to see that little blue guy🙂 wandering around your beautiful garden – lovely you liked the little pouch, and THANKYOU! for linking to me.

    It’s an another gray and rainy night here (!!), but we’re definitely heading to spring… I keep coming here to see green&flowers&sunshine, thank you for sharing!

    Happy weekend!

    Yours,
    Mia

    • Thank you so much Mia! We have today bright sunny day and it’s like spring! I think this quilt is going to be fun and happy. Thank you again for the Moomins – I love them! Hugs! x Teje

  5. I really like the garden quilt beginnings. The little bird and the flowers are so creatively done!!!! The Moomin fabric is sweet and the text fabric will be interesting to work with (perhaps a soft basket?). So many possibilities!!! Mia’s blog is very neat!!! Love her little purses!!!! Off to a fantastic 2014!!!!!!

  6. Another wonderful quilt under way, and I like your new header too–I liked the one before too but change is good particularly when you change one good thing for another. You have such an eye for unique combinations that look like they would not compliment each other at all, but when you are through they look made for each other.

    • Thank you so much Sonja! I have so many ideas but less time as I know most of us. Hopefully I can organize my time better this year. We have today fantastic sunny day, so out with the dogs and photos! Hugs! x Teje

  7. Hyvää Uutta Vuotta!

  8. Pirteä uusi ilme blogillasi ja kauniita kankaita! Siellä näyttää taas niin ihanan kesäiselle, vaikka ei talvea näy täälläkään. Oikein hyvää ja idearikasta alkanutta vuotta sinulle!

    • Kiitos kovasti! Olikin haaste keksia uusi ‘kyltti’ Fantasy Forestin ja sitten jouluisen ilmeen jalkeen. Mina ja moni muukin kaipasi koirien kuvia joten he paasivat taas tervehtimaan. Taallakin on ollut normaalia lampimampi talvi. Eikohan teille tule lunta lainkaan? x Teje

  9. Your header is just beautiful Teje and offers much promise for another year of your beautiful quilting colourwork. Happy 2014 to you all! Ros and Oscarx

    • Thank you so much Ros! I enjoy making a quilt again! It has been a long time because of all the seasonal sewings. This will be different than I have made and I have fun. Hugs! x Teje

  10. Tout est magnifique merci de partager avec nous Marie-Claire

  11. Lovely blocks, your quilts have such imaginative blocks! Happy new year my friend xxx

    • Thank you Benta! I don’t know yet if this will be a happy or a messy garden – just picked some forgotten blocks to add here. x Teje

  12. Love your sunny pictures and your pretty quilt blocks, Teje! Your new fabrics are gorgeous I especially love the stamp print one! Wishing you a happy week!
    Helen x

  13. I love the start of the garden quilt – so many gorgeous colours! Nero is looking as handsome as ever…green seems to be his colour!

    • Thank you so much! I have tried to finish these blocks to start to arrange them for the Top. Have a lovely Sunday and give hugs to Archie! x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

