Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

{Gardening and Sailing} ?!

19 Comments

Hello Dear Friends! After a long time our post doesn’t begin with vof vof! I hope you have had wonderful time, perhaps got fabric presents and hopefully relaxed!

quilt blocks

Yesterday I went for ‘gardening’ with Hanna. Hanna enjoyed the long grass … can you pick her …

quilting in the garden

You may remember some of these blocks. Once I wanted to make ‘granny square’ blocks because I never made any even there are so many beautiful quilts made with them. Only I didn’t pay enough attention for the colours and I didn’t want to cut away all the white corners, so I made small changes and ended up with ‘disappearing grannies’. If someone knows real name for that block, I would like to learn!

sweet dog Hanna

There she is – my sweet Hanna! She has surely hunting dog blood in her because she enjoyes so much snuggling and searching outside. She loves to roll around on the grass, which Nero hardly ever does.

quilt blocks with squares

Those blocks with flowers are an other story. My dear blog friend, Judith sent to me a beautiful charm pack and I have saved those flowers for something … I think for this quilt! That dark blue fabric looks a little bit too strong now but when you see what other blocks there will be, I think it’s good.

quilting with my dog

Usually I make quite small quilt blocks or at least with small pieces and now it feels strange to make so big and simple blocks. I haven’t made a real quilt for a long time and un-welcome thought started to stay in my mind: ‘I can’t make a quilt because I don’t need it’ – hei – help me now – that’s very wrong way to think – right! There is many other things we don’t need and still we make or buy them. And even we don’t need a quilt there may be many reasons why we need to make them! Correct?

quilting with my dog

So I shall make single size quilt and try the wadding hb brought to me a while ago from Athens. I think it’s going to make a lovely, puffy, snuggling quilt! I have already name for this quilt but that you will learn when I show you the rest of the blocks.

sailing boats

While we were ‘gardening’ with Hanna, hb and Nero went for ‘sailing’ …

sea pottery boats

Group of little boats left from the harbour …

Sea Pottery Painting

I don’t feel comfortable in a boat or even ship, but I love these little boats and the colours on this painting! Sea Pottery is so great and fun material for many creations.

sea pottery

Only few days left from this year … I want to collect photos and make some mosaics from this years quilts and other sewings – perhaps that is a nice way to start new year – looking back what have been done and what should/could be done in the future.

If I don’t see you before the New Year, I (we all here) like to wish you Happy New Year and all the best for the 2014!!!

Hanna and Nero

Thank you so much for the year 2013! You have been the best company and I enjoy always so much sharing our crafts and changing our thoughts and ideas!  I am looking for to start the new year with you and do my best to write interesting, beautiful and helpful posts!

Nelli

Take care and relax!

Hugs and kisses from all of us!

TEJE & NERO & HANNA & NELLI

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

19 thoughts on “{Gardening and Sailing} ?!

  1. Best wishes to you all for the New Year, also! I have so enjoyed getting to know you better this year and your projects are always so refreshingly happy ones. I haven’t gotten to the point of having no use for a quilt I’ve made (graduations, birthdays, Christmas gifts still take care of where they all go!!!!), but I know that there is always that plea for comfort quilts so maybe that’s what yours will be……..someday…..Love those granny blocks and the flower blocks are perfect with them!!!!! Hugs………

  2. Of course you need more quilts; how can you even think you have enough? I love your blocks and I understand the feeling you have making these large blocks. But I think it’s good to change every once in a while. Your blog has been a joy to visit this year, every single time. Thank you for all the beautiful items you’ve shown and for all the pictures of your wonderful island and of course your lovely dogs and cat. I wish all of you a wonderful new year!

  3. How lovely to see the charm pack flowers growing! And I love your sea pottery picture! So calming! Happy new year to you and yours T! Jxo

  4. We should never need a reason to be creative Teje..enjoy making your quilt. I look forward to seeing it being made. Hana obviously loves her garden…mine is far too wet at present. Happy New year to you too my friend and here’s to another year of blogging friendship xx

  5. Les block quilt sont tres beau bonne année bonne santée et des belles creations Marie-Claire

  6. I love those little boats! so cute. Your blocks are lovely

  7. oh the stone boats are fab! Happy new year x

  8. Have a Happy New Year, Teje! Keep enjoying life =)

  9. Onnea ja iloa uuteen vuoteen! Kiitokset menneestä vuodesta ja monista hyvistä ideoista. (Vastasin kommenttisi kysymykseen Jersey Girlistä vastauskommentilla , käy kurkkaamassa blogissani, kun ehdit.)

  10. Hello dear Teje,

    Happy New Year! Those quilt blogs look so pretty, and somehow they look like spring to me – is that in your mind already? I am thinking of it, definitely, as the rain (!!) drops are falling and there’s no snow anywhere…I wish winter doesn’t find us this year!

    Happy first days of 2014!

    Yours,
    Mia

  11. Cute quilt and I love your sea pottery, great idea! Happy New Year! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

