Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Nero’s Christmas Calendar – day 10

16 Comments

Vof vof vof … oh hoh, I was running because I’m so late. Sorry it’s already evening and I haven’t shown yet my calendar …

day 10

I have been so busy today trying to find a friend for my friend.

Moomin's Advent Calendar

Some of you may have met ‘Violetta’. If not, you’ll meet her tomorrow and you’ll see if I found a friend for her.

IMG_3285

Do I sew wrong?! I was wondering today how you sew by hand if you sew for example the binding for a quilt? From right to left or from left to right? Till now I have sewn from right to left but today I was thinking perhaps I do it upside down and then I tried from left to right … can’t say which is easier. How about you?

Vintage Measure

I don’t know why I like so much this old measure … could it be Christmas Decoration …

Wooden Measure Star

Perhaps I’ll fix it a little bit …

Furry hugs to you! Thanks for stopping by and come to meet Violetta and her friend tomorrow!

NERO

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

16 thoughts on “Nero’s Christmas Calendar – day 10

  1. Cute ornaments again. I sew from right to left when I hand stitch a binding or hand quilt. Maybe left handed quilters stitch the other direction? I never thought about that before. Good question.

  2. great pictures and I like your tutorial page too. The doggies, oh my, how wonderful!! I’m about to go out in the snow to walk my poodle, so I know dog love. I sew from right to left usually. I think… wow, who knows? It gets done!
    LeeAnna Paylor
    lapaylor.blogspot.com

    • Thank you so much LeeAnna! Here it’s raining now so much and terrible strong wind. I would love to see what Nero would think about snow! One winter we had very much snow but then we had only little ‘Foxy’. She couldn’t walk because the snow was so high. x Teje

  3. I would say lefties go left to right and right handers go right to left! That’s what I’ve noticed at least!

  4. I never gave it much thought but do agree with those who suggest right-handers do right to left. Your little ornament/stitchery with the pretty red bell is so lovely!! Seeing the carpenter measure reminds me of one my father had (all yellow, though) that folded. Very nice warm memories….thank you for that, Teje. Hugs……….

  5. I’ve just been looking at your wonderful ornaments! They are fabulous – so fun and colorful! I can’t wait to see more!

  6. C’est bien beau bonne soiree Marie-Claire

  7. Great work and that star is so neat Teje!! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  8. I don’t think it matters – whatever’s most comfortable for you! I sew right to left when handstitching binding down.

    • Thanks Alyce! I think so, too. But sometimes it happens that after a long time we realize that some other way would be much easier, so I was happy to hear your opinion,. x Teje

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

