Nero's Post II (2013-2015)

by Teje Karjalainen

Hexagon Pin Cushion & Fork Pom Poms

25 Comments

Hi Friends! Today I made the most quick tutorial! I just couldn’t show you these without showing how – one more mini maxilari and little pom pom tussels!

Pin Cushion and Pom Poms

I’m relly fond of the hexagon shape and it makes easy and fun pin cushion or ‘Mini Maxilari’. I used my new fabrics which I love … purple and orange is great together!

pin cushion

To make this is simple: cut 6 triangles like the photo below. These triangles has 3.5″ side.

hexagon with triangles

Sew these triangles together, press the seams. Quilt the piece with wadding. Trim the edges. Cut same size triangle from your backing fabric. Sew the quilted and backing pieces together (right sides inside) but remember to leave one side open. If you like to add the ribbon, do it before sewing the pieces. Pin the ribbon on one edge so that it is towards inside/right side. Turn your work inside out. Fill it and sew the last edge by hand.

Tiny Cushion

This can be a pin cushion, lavender pouch, ornament and decoration!

Hanna

It’s always nice to have a dear friend helping and keeping you company when doing girl’s stuff …

Fork Pom Poms

These are the tools for little pom poms. Use any size fork you like. Put yarn around the fork …

IMG_2116

Cut the yarn and take separate piece of yarn to tide the yarn bundle (in the middle of the fork) …

IMG_2119

Take it off and cut the loops …

Fork Pom Pom

These are so quick that you make a lot in now time …

Pom Pom Tussels

After few rains it’s getting greener here.

Little Cushion and Tussels

Thank you for visiting and for your sweet messages! Very soon I have a new tutorial to share – a real one, not so quick like today.

Happy sewings!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

25 thoughts on “Hexagon Pin Cushion & Fork Pom Poms

  1. Teje, you have such fun ideas! I love that pincushion – what a fantastic shape and yes, I think they would make wonderful sachets, too. Wow. Never thought of using a fork to make pom-poms. How clever!

  2. You are so creative, Teje!

  3. Such lovely little projects, Teje and nice clear tutorials too! Love the colours of your pincushion fabrics.
    Have a happy sunny week…..wish it was as warm here today as it is where you are!!
    Helen x

  4. Indeed fun and easy! I love the purple and orange together; reminds me of the 70’s, my room had exactly those colours.

  5. These are great quick projects Teje. What a clever little pom pom that is. Your trusty Hanna is a great helper to you in the sunshine. It’s freezing here today, rain and hail…ugh! Have a great evening x

  6. Those are great!!!! You are totally creative!!! The fork pom-poms ……….. how simple…I’ve never seen them done that way!!! And the perfect little size for cute gift packages!!!! Of course they look so sweet in that beautiful “green” that is growing after your rains. Have a lovely day and Hugs from me to you………..

  7. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for
    recipe

  8. Such a great way to do pompoms, I remember the cardboard circles and the problems getting the wool through the decreasing hole – thanks x

  9. Felicitation c’est tres beau Marie-Claire

  10. You have the most charming way of displaying your projects. Who would think of sprinkling Pom Pom in the grass? Well you did, and to great success. The quilt stitches accentuate the shape and add so much. The fork trick is great– I will certainly use that for all my baby hats.

  11. Lovely pincushion, I love the hand quilting!

  12. i have never seen pompoms made on a fork! how cool. =) your mini maxilari is very cute, too.

  13. How sweet…love the pin cushion and the pompoms! Great colors too.

  14. That is so sweet. I too love hexagons, so i can definitely see one of these pin cushions in my future

  15. I haven’t made pom poms in years – so fun! And I just love your pin cushion, especially the pretty hand stitching.

  16. your pin cushion is too cute, and those little pompoms look great in the grass!

    Thanks for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!
    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  17. Love the pin cushion and I used to love making pom poms! Must teach my kids! Thanks for linking up xx

I would love to hear from you! If you have a moment, please leave a message!

